In order to get a motorcycle license in Texas, you must present a completion card from the Motorcycle Safety Foundation’s (MSF) Basic RiderCourse, along with a current ID, at your local Texas Driver’s License office.
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) makes it relatively easy to operate a motorcycle in the Lone Star State. All you have to do is take an approved safety course, show your ID, and you’ll be able to hop on your bike and ride off into the Texas sunset! But, of course, the process is a little more complicated than that.
Jerry, the #1-rated
trustworthy insurance comparison appthat saves drivers money on
car insurance, is here to guide you through everything you need to know about the licensing process for Texas motorcycle riders. We’ll take a look at endorsement and licensing options, along with tips on how to save on
Texas car insurance costs.
Are you overpaying for your car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Do you need a license to operate a motorcycle in Texas?
Yes—you must apply for a Class M license in order to operate a motorcycle, including an enclosed three-wheeled passenger vehicle. Or you can add a motorcycle endorsement to your existing Texas driver’s license. Additionally, you must be at least 15 years old to receive a motorcycle license in the state of Texas.
How to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Texas driver’s license
If you are already in possession of a valid Class C driver’s license, then all you have to do is add an endorsement to your license before you can legally hop on a motorcycle in Texas.
Thankfully, the process is rather straightforward in the Lone Star State. You’ll be required to take a motorcycle safety course known as a Basic RiderCourse (BRC)—designed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) to provide prospective motorcycle drivers with vital safety training and proper motorcycle riding techniques. You can
access the BRC handbookonline, along with a
list of approved motorcycle safety coursesfor the state of Texas.
Once you have received your course completion card, you’re one step closer to getting your motorcycle endorsement! Just head over to your local Texas Driver's License office with the following:
- Proof of course completion
- Your current Texas driver’s license
- Credit card, cash, check, or money order for any endorsement and licensingfees
You’ll have to pay $16 to add a motorcycle endorsement to your existing license. A vision test may be required and there are no waivers for a motorcycle drive test if you’re under 18.
Texas car insurance laws
awesome rewardsevery week, just for driving safe!”
How to get a motorcycle-only license in Texas
But what if you never applied for a valid Texas driver’s license? No problem! You can still get a motorcycle-only license in the Lone Star State.
You must be at least 15 years of age to apply for a Class M license. If you’re under 18 years old, you must have one of the following before enrolling in a motorcycle safety course:
- A Class C learner’s license and completed a 32-hour classroom of an approved driver's education course
- A certificate of completion of an approved driver's education course
- A provisional driver’s license
Although you don’t need a Class C license to get your motorcycle license, you must pass the knowledge test as well as complete the BRC described above. You can take a
free practice testto prepare yourself for questions related to road rules, traffic laws, and safe driving practices.
From there, the process is similar to receiving an endorsement. You’ll need to gather your documents, including your BRC course completion card and ID, and go to your local Texas Driver’s License office and pay the appropriate licensing and endorsement fees.
The motorcycle drive test is required for all applicants under 18 years old. You don’t have to take the driving test if you’re over 18 years old as long as you have completed a motorcycle safety course and hold a valid, unrestricted Texas Class A, B, or C license.
How to save on car and motorcycle insurance in Texas
We keep it simple: just download the Jerry app and sign-up in less than one minute to unlock several customized quotes from over 55 of the nation’s top insurance companies. Once you find a premium that works for your budget, our team of expert agents will take care of all the paperwork and phone calls, and we’ll even help you cancel your old policy. On average, Jerry customers save over $800 a year on car insurance!
Is there a motorcycle license test in Texas?
You’ll need to pass an approved Basic RiderCourse (BRC) from the Motorcycle Safety Foundation to get a motorcycle license or license endorsement in Texas. But if you’re only applying for a Class M license, you’ll still need to pass the Class C license knowledge test.
What happens if you drive a motorcycle without a license in Texas?
If you get caught driving without a motorcycle license in Texas, you’re looking at paying a fine of up to $200 or possibly more, depending on how many times you’ve been caught for the offense.
Can you drive a motorcycle without insurance in Texas?
No—motorcycle insurance is mandatory under Texas state law.