In South Carolina, you are allowed to put a frame around your license plate so long as the plate’s numbers and letters remain clearly visible. If you violate this law, you could face a fine of up to $137.
Many drivers like to put a frame around their vehicle’s license plate. It can be a way for a driver to express themselves, advertise a business, or even support a favorite sports team.
But whatever you wish to express via a license plate frame, be mindful—states carefully regulate whether you can place a frame or cover on your plate. Be sure to follow South Carolina law on this issue, or else you’re liable to face a steep fine.
Are license plate frames legal in South Carolina?
Yes, license plate frames are legal in South Carolina. However, there are rules you must follow if you’re planning on attaching a frame to your vehicle.
What about license plate covers?
License plate covers are not allowed in South Carolina. You risk facing a fine if you are caught with any kind of shield covering your license plate.
What are the fines for license plate frames in South Carolina?
If you’re caught in South Carolina with a frame obscuring any part of your license plate’s numbers, letters, or decals, or if you have a cover on your license plate, you could face a fine of up to $137.
How to find cheap car insurance in South Carolina
Staying on the ride side of the law is always a good idea—doing otherwise can land you with a stiff fine, or worse!
Sign-up takes just 45 seconds, and then this car super app gets to work comparing quotes from more than 50 of the country’s best insurers. Once you choose the policy that works best for you, Jerry will handle the rest, signing you up for your new policy and helping you cancel your old one. Best of all, Jerry will automatically search for better rates on your behalf before every renewal period.
And to top it off, Jerry customers save an average of $887 per year on car insurance!