You can obtain a copy of your Pennsylvania driving record online, in person, or by mail from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. The cost ranges from $12 to $36, depending on the type of record you need.
Your driving record isn’t something to take lightly. In addition to being a major factor in your
car insurance rates, your record can impact your employment opportunities and your ability to drive. For these reasons, it’s in your best interest to keep it as clean as possible and report any discrepancies immediately.
We're here to break down everything you need to know about your Pennsylvania driving record.
What is a driving record?
A driving record is a report card of your driving history. It includes information on the status of your driver’s license, traffic violation history, and any points accrued by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT).
How do I access my driving record in Pennsylvania?
The easiest way to access your Pennsylvania driving record is to
download and print the record from PennDOT. You can request your 3-year, 10-year, or full driver's history.
At the end of your online transaction, you will be able to print your record.
Costs to obtain your records are as follows:
Certified driver record: $36
You may also request your Certified Driver Record by applying to the Department of Transportation in person or by mail. Here’s the information you’ll need to include with the request:
Requesting a driving record for someone else
If you want a copy of another person’s driving record, vehicle records, or ownership history of a vehicle, you will need to complete sections A, C, and D on Form DL-503. The fees are the same as requesting your personal record.
Where else can I find my driving record in Pennsylvania?
If you don’t want to go directly to the Pennsylvania DOT, you can find your record in a couple of other places.
Car insurance agents
Although Pennsylvania has a Right to Know Law (RTKL), driver’s information is subject to the limitations of the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act. PennDOT will not fulfill requests under these circumstances.
An insurance agent may request your record using Form DL-503—but only to assess risk associated with an insurance obligation. For that reason, understand that any record you receive from an insurance company will not be considered a certified copy.
Online third-party vendors
If you are looking for publicly available driving history information such as convictions, court records, or tickets, the
Pennsylvania DMV offers a third-party option.
While using a third-party vendor will get you a copy of your driving record quickly, the report will not include any information not readily available in public records, and will not be considered a certified document.
What is on my record?
Your driving record consists of details about you and your driving history. The basic record in Pennsylvania typically includes:
Personal information (e.g., name, address)
Driver’s license information
The basic record will not contain any information on violations, actions, or accidents. The 3-year and 10-year records will include all of the information from the basic, plus:
Your Pennsylvania driver’s license status
Violations, accidents, or infractions during that time period
Pennsylvania adds points to your record for each driving incident. A small infraction, such as running a red light or making an illegal U-turn, will be removed from your record after 12 consecutive months without a violation.
An accrual of 6 points or more puts you at risk of losing your driving privileges.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
DMV points in Pennsylvania
PennDOT keeps a driving record for every licensed driver in Pennsylvania. Points are added to your record for certain moving violations, and you’re assigned more or fewer points based on the severity of the violation.
Once you have accrued 6 or more points, the PennDOT will take action, including but not limited to:
Written notice to take a special written point examination
Required departmental hearing
Possible 15 to 30-day license suspension or on-road driver’s exam
Any driving record that reaches 11 or more points results in automatic suspension of your driver’s license. Other infractions that result in immediate suspension include:
Driving under the influence (1 year)
Driving 31 mph over the speed limit (15 days)
Pennsylvania will remove points from your record if you drive for 12 consecutive months without a violation or a suspended license. If you maintain 0 points on your record for 12 months, PennDOT will treat your next accumulation of points as your first.
How can my driving record affect me?
Your driving record can have more of an impact on your life than you think. Here are a few things it can affect.
Your insurance premium
Insurance companies use
multiple criteria to determine your insurance rate, including your driving record.
Using a car insurance broker like
Jerry can help you find better rates, even with a spotty driving record. Jerry is an insurance comparison app that helps you shop for low prices with over 50 different insurance companies. You’ll get quotes in seconds, can make changes at any time, and if you ever have any questions, agents are just a text away!
Your ability to drive
If you have a reckless driving or DUI charge on your record, you’ll almost certainly have your
driver’s license suspended. But in Pennsylvania, you could also face license suspension for racking up too many points, too many times.
Your credit rating
While your record itself won’t impact your credit rating, the financial fallout from a DUI or unpaid medical bills from an accident will. Pennsylvania DUI fines can range from $300 to $10,000, plus attorney expenses and other legal costs.
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Your job prospects
Employers generally conduct a background check before offering you a job—and a driving record could be part of that. Checking a driving record isn’t just for the obvious jobs like delivery or truck drivers.
Employers want to know you are responsible in all aspects of your life. If you have a spotty driving background, they may see you as a potentially risky employee.
Key Takeaway Your driving record is more than just a document. It can have a significant impact on other areas of your life—so it’s in your best interest to keep it as clean as possible.
What is the difference between driving records in each state?
The state where you reside holds your driver’s license and driving record. So if you live in Pennsylvania, the state of Pennsylvania will hold your driving record.
You can run, but you can’t hide—your driving record follows you across state lines.
Pennsylvania is a member of the Driver’s License Compact (DLC), an interstate agreement for the exchange of data about moving violations of non-residents. This is known as “One Driver, One License, One Record.”
If you commit an offense outside of state lines, PennDOT would treat that offense as it would any violation within state lines—including fines, points assessment, and driver’s license suspension or revocation.
Which states don’t share driving records?
There are only five states that do not belong to the DLC. These are:
Despite this, these states can still communicate driver information to other states through alternate agreements.