To add a motorcycle endorsement to your
Oregondriver’s license, you must pass a rider education course from Team Oregon and provide proper documentation to an Oregon DMV office.
Riding a motorcycle is a great way to experience Oregon’s lush forests, fresh ocean air, and miles of open roads. Before you grab your helmet and hit the road, make sure you’ve taken the proper steps to legally operate a two or three-wheeled motorcycle in Oregon.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds (It’s 100% free!)
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers
Do you need a license to operate a motorcycle in Oregon?
Yes! In order to be able to operate a two-or three-wheeled motorcycle with an engine over 50cc and/or that goes over 30mph on level ground, you’ll need a motorcycle endorsement added to your valid
Oregon driver’s licenseor a motorcycle instruction permit.
You must be at least 16 years old to operate a motorcycle in Oregon. If you’re from out of state, you may be able to ride legally in Oregon with an out-of-state motorcycle license.
How to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Oregon driver’s license
There are no standalone motorcycle-only licenses in Oregon. You must have a valid driver’s license in order to get a two-or three-wheel motorcycle endorsement or instruction permit.
If you already have a regular license and want to add on a motorcycle endorsement, you’ll first have to pass a rider education course from
Team Oregon. There are two classes that satisfy the Oregon DMV’s requirement:
- Completing Basic Rider Training satisfies both the motorcycle knowledge and the skills requirements with the DMV.
- Completing an online or Intermediate Rider Training course will only satisfy the skills requirement — you’ll still have to take the DMV’s motorcycle knowledge test.
Team Oregon has a lot of great safety and training programs for motorcycle and scooter riders, so make sure to check out their other offerings as well!
Once you’ve successfully passed your course, make an appointment or just walk into a
DMV locationif you don’t mind a potential wait. Bring proof of your Team Oregon course completion, proper ID, and proof of residency. You’ll have to pass a vision test, and a motorcycle knowledge test if applicable. The cost for the motorcycle knowledge test is $5 each time you take it.
Pay your fees, smile for your picture, and you’re done.
If you only want an endorsement for a three-wheeled motorcycle, the process is a little simpler. You’ll still have to take the motorcycle knowledge test, but there’s no skills requirement. Even though it’s not required, Team Oregon offers various three-wheeled rider courses. It’s a great idea, and might also help you get a break on your insurance costs.
This is also how you get a motorcycle instruction permit, which allows you to operate a motorcycle with no passengers in daylight hours only, provided you are under the supervision and observation of a separate fully-licensed rider who is over 21.
All motorcycle riders and passengers in Oregon are legally required to wear a helmet at all times. No exceptions.
Oregon helmet laws
awesome rewardsevery week, just for driving safe!”
How to save on car and motorcycle insurance in Oregon
You already know that Jerry is the best way out there to get fantastic savings on your
car insurance, but guess what? We can also help with your motorcycle insurance too. Once you’ve downloaded the top-rated app, just text one of the friendly
Jerryagents with the info about your motorcycle, and they’ll get to work finding you the best policy out there.
No matter what kind of car or motorcycle you have or where you live, you can count on Jerry to find you the coverage you need at a price that fits your budget. On average, drivers who get car insurance through the Jerry app save an average of $800 a year!
Put your insurance shopping on auto-pilot NOW and save money automatically every 6 months
New quotes when prices drop automatically
30 seconds to sign up
No phone calls or people bothering you
Get started now - select insurance you want to put on auto-pilot:
Is there a motorcycle license test in Oregon?
Yes—there is a motorcycle knowledge test administered by the DMV. But depending on which class you choose to complete your educational requirement, this test might be waived.
What happens if you drive a motorcycle without a license in Oregon?
If you get caught operating a two or three-wheeled motorcycle in Oregon without the proper endorsement, it can result in fees and penalties of as much as $2,000.
Can you drive a motorcycle without insurance in Oregon?
No. Motorcycle riders are subject to the same minimum insurance requirements as all other Oregon drivers.