To get an Oregon driver’s license, you need to be at least 16 years old. You must also pass a written exam, a vision test, and a driving evaluation.
A driver’s license is a symbol of adulthood in the US, but requirements vary between states. Certain circumstances can add complications to the process.
What are the requirements for a driver’s license in Oregon?
Anyone who wants to obtain a driver’s license in Oregon needs to be at least 16 years old before applying.
Hopeful applicants will need to go to the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), but you can
start an application online if you’ve never been issued an Oregon credential before. Once you’re at the DMV, you will need to prove your identity and residency by submitting the following documentation:
Primary identification: birth certificate from the US or Canada, US passport expired for less than five years, Tribal ID card, and more
Proof of residency: you need two documents for this including utility bills and paystubs
If you want to obtain a
Real ID, you will need additional documentation.
If you have a mental or physical condition that may affect your ability to drive, you must demonstrate to the DMV that you can drive. To do this, you may be required to submit a report from your physician.
What are the requirements for young drivers?
Drivers must be at least 16 or 17 years old to get their license and have held a learner’s permit for at least six months. You’ll first need to
learn how to drive either from a licensed driver aged 21 or older or from a driver training course.
To get your provisional instruction permit under 18, you will need to:
Determine if you need a Real ID
Schedule your appointment with the DMV
Complete the pre-application online
Provide the DMV with your parent or guardian’s signature
Show proof of your address and identity
Pass the knowledge and vision tests
What are the requirements for out-of-state drivers?
If you are moving to Oregon, you will need to apply for an Oregon driver’s license within 30 days of settling in. To get an Oregon license, you will need to:
Make an appointment at the DMV
Bring the required documentation (like your birth certificate
Pay the fees ($5.00 for knowledge test, $60.00 for license)
Pass the knowledge test (if applicable)
Surrender your old license
If you’re a college student paying non-resident tuition, reside permanently outside of Oregon, are stationed military personnel in Oregon, or do not plan to become an Oregon resident, you do not need to change your driver’s license.
How to get a driver’s license in Oregon
For new drivers: take a course and/or lessons
Regardless of your age, you’ll need a learner’s permit when learning to drive in Oregon. After receiving your learner’s permit, you’ll need supervised driving time by a licensed driver aged 21 or older.
Another option is to take a driving course. If you take a course, you will need to complete 50 hours of supervised driving time. If you do not take a course, you will need to log 100 hours of supervision behind the wheel.
Every driver in Oregon must pass a vision test. You need to have at least 20/40 vision in your best eye to drive without restrictions. If you need corrective lenses to achieve 20/40 vision, that’s completely fine—you just need to make sure you wear your glasses or contacts whenever you drive.
If you do not pass the vision test, Oregon will give you a
Certificate of Vision to take to your eye doctor.
One of the key steps in obtaining your license will be passing the knowledge exam, but not every applicant needs to take it. You need to pass a Class C Knowledge Test if:
This is your first time applying for a driver’s license or permit
Your previous Oregon license has been expired for over two years
Your license from another state or country has been expired for over one year
The fee to take the test is $5.00.
In the final stretch, you will need to take a road test. You can do this at the DMV or a
Class C testing business. The fee for the road test at the DMV is $9.00.
You will need to bring a vehicle to the test, and it has to meet the following criteria:
Passenger door that opens from the inside and outside with a handle
Proper, secure, and reasonably clean passenger seat
Tires that are not bald or damaged
Muffler without excessive leaks or unreasonable noise
Displays valid registration
Has side view or rearview mirrors
You will also need to provide
proof of insurance for the vehicle and it needs to have a current registration.
The road test puts your knowledge of driving skills, traffic rules, highway signs, and signals to the test. Throughout the examination, you can expect to do the following maneuvers:
How to save money on car insurance in Oregon
Phew, there are a lot of steps to getting an Oregon driver’s license, but you’ve done it! Now that you have your license in hand and your vehicle picked out, it’s time to shop for the
minimum car insurance required in your state.
If that seems overwhelming, don’t worry—licensed car insurance broker
Jerry is here to help.
Jerry is easy to use and has
car insurance experts at the ready if you need help during the process.
Once you download the
trustworthy super app and enter your information, Jerry searches for the most competitive quotes for you from 50+ insurance companies. It only takes 45 seconds for you to find the best policy—and Jerry handles the paperwork after you make your choice!
“I was worried that adding my 16 year old daughter would spike my insurance rates. I called and spoke to Tim, who was pleasant to work with and got me new rate savings.
Jerry really helped me save thousands.” —Marshall D.