Is My License Plate Frame Legal in Nevada?

License plate frames and covers are legal in Nevada, as long as all writing on the plate is readily visible and the plate can be read from a distance of 100 feet.
Written by Amber Reed
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
License plate
frames and covers are legal in
, as long as the plate is kept clean and all writing and numbers on it are clearly legible.
Picking out accessories for your car is one of those fun things that make you feel like it’s uniquely your own. With so many cool possibilities to choose from, it can be easy to get carried away with making your ride a statement of who you are. 
But before you spring for a custom license plate frame, make sure that it adheres to the laws around license plate frames in the state (or states) where you’ll be driving. 
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now
Yes. Decorative license plate frames are legal in Nevada as long as they do not inhibit the readability of the plate. 

What are the rules for license plate frames in Nevada?

Nevada Revised Statute 482.270 states: “license plates must at all times be securely fastened to the vehicle so as to prevent the plate from swinging and at a height not less than 12 inches from the ground…in a place and position to be clearly visible. (License plates) must be maintained free from foreign materials and in a condition to be clearly legible.”
Nevada law also specifies that a license plate be readily visible from 100 feet during daylight, and from 110 feet at night when lit by standard headlights. 
As long as all writing and numbers on the plate frame are easily visible and the above regulations are met, your frame should be okay. 

What about license plate covers?

License plate covers are fine in Nevada as long as they meet the above requirements. If you get a plate cover, it’s probably a good idea to stick to the clear ones, so you don’t create any visibility problems.

What are the fines for license plate frames in Nevada?

Failure to comply with license plate regulations is a misdemeanor traffic offense in Nevada, and could potentially result in up to a $1,000 fine and six months in jail. 
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

How to find cheap car insurance in Nevada

You’re likely to be doing enough gambling as it is in Nevada, so why take chances with your
car insurance
Trustworthy super app
and licensed broker
is your ticket to quickly and easily getting the coverage you need at a low price in Nevada. Download the app, enter a few details, and jackpot! Jerry gets you multiple competitive quotes from over fifty top insurance providers. 
Once you decide on the policy that fits you best, Jerry will handle all the paperwork and hassles of switching over, and can even help to cancel your old policy. Average savings add up to almost $900 per year!
is awesome! I loved my experience. Love from Las Vegas, Nevada!” —Kelly G.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings