Nevada Driving Record

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Your driving record is an account of your history behind the wheel. It includes your personal information as well as records of accidents, ticket points, suspension, revocations, and in some cases, driving courses you may have taken.
What’s on your driving record can significantly impact your car insurance rates. It’s always important to check on your record and be sure to report anything that doesn’t look correct.
Here at Jerry, we broke down what a driving record is, what it looks like and how you can get a copy of your own—well, in Nevada that is.

What is a driving record?

Your driving record is your driving history. It’s also known as a report or abstract, and it includes information about your driving behavior from the time you got your license onward. It will include personal information, a record of any accidents or violations, and documentation of license suspensions or tickets.

How do I access my driving record in Nevada?

The easiest and quickest way to access your Nevada driving record is to request an online copy of your driver history record. The fee is $7, and you must print your record. This is an official driving record.
Here’s the information you’ll need to include with the request:
  • Driver’s License information (name, street address, license number, etc.)
  • The number of copies you want
  • Business name (if applicable)
  • Contact name and phone number
  • Mailing address
To get a certified copy of your driver record, you must fill out the DMV’s Application for Individual Record Information (Form IR002) and send it via mail only.

Requesting a driving record for someone else

In Nevada, you are only allowed to access your driving records. You cannot obtain records for any third party without a notarized release from the individual whose records you’re requesting.
Key Takeaway: In Nevada, you are the only person able to access your driving history record by going online, in person, or by mail.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

What is on my record?

Your driving record consists of everything there is to know about you as a driver—well, not everything, but close to it. It includes the following:
  • Personal information (e.g., name, address)
  • Driver’s license information
  • Infraction points
  • Accidents, citations, violations, and convictions
  • Fines paid or owed
  • License suspensions
  • Completed driving courses
The state of Nevada has two different types of driver history records:
  • 3-year history: Most traffic violations and convictions usually stay on your record for three years
  • 10-year history: More severe violations, such as license suspensions, last on your record for ten years

DMV points in Nevada

Every state is different, but some states use a points system to keep track of violations. Once you reach a certain number of points, your license might get suspended or revoked, depending on the severity. In Nevada, the following violations remain on your record for three years:
  • Minor violations, like disobeying traffic signals or failing to stop for a school bus, are worth one point
  • Car accidents will stay on your record for three years
The following violations remain on your record for 10 years:
  • Convictions worth 2 points, including severe offenses like DUI and reckless driving
  • DUI “failure to appear” offenses—all other “failure to appear” or “failure to pay” violations remain on your record for five years
  • License suspension and revocation
Depending on how many points you have, Nevada allows you to attend traffic school to help you:
  • Remove up to 3 points on your record
  • Avoid adding points to your record
  • Potentially earn a discount on your car insurance premium
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How can my driving record affect me?

No matter what the circumstances are, your driving record can affect a lot of things, including your insurance, your future driving, and your credit. 

Your insurance premium

Your insurance premium can definitely be affected by your driving record. 
Depending on how many infractions you have, insurance companies can deem you a higher-risk driver and increase your premium quite significantly. A speeding ticket can spike your insurance rate up 20% or more!
If you have a clean record, you’ll be more likely to enjoy some of the more affordable premium options.

Your ability to drive

If you have a record of a lot of minor violations or one major violation—like a DUI—you could end up getting your driver’s license suspended. Keeping a clean record will help you keep driving. 

Your credit rating

Though your driving record won’t affect your credit score directly, failing to pay tickets will. Many cities and states issue due dates on payments. If you don’t pay by the due date, your payment will get sent to collections—which can impact your credit score.

Your job prospects

Depending on what kind of job you want, some jobs may require you to have a clean driving record as a pre-condition before employment. If you’re looking for a driving-based job, you’ll want to keep a clean record.
Key Takeaway Your driving record is more than just a report, and it can have a significant impact on other areas of your life—so it’s always best to keep it as clean as possible.

What is the difference between driving records in each state?

Your driving record is tied to where your license is issued. That means if you have a Nevada driver’s license, for example, you’ll have a Nevada driving record.
However, your driving record can follow you—even if you commit a violation outside of your home state.
The Driver’s License Compact (DLC) agreement states that states must agree to exchange information regarding license suspensions and violations with each other. If you commit a traffic violation, you’ll still face repercussions regardless of what state you’re in.

Which states don’t share driving records?

Out of the 50 states, only five states don’t participate in the DLC. They include:
  • Georgia
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Tennessee
  • Wisconsin
Although they may not be a part of the DLC, they may have alternate agreements regarding exchanging information about driving violations.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

The best way to get access to your driver record is by going to your local DMV’s website, in-person, or by mail to receive a copy—fees may be different according to state.
Yes—among other things, your driving record does affect your insurance rate. Be sure to check up on your record to ensure there are no hidden surprises when it comes to finding the best rates for you.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free