How To Get a Connecticut Motorcycle License

To obtain a Connecticut motorcycle endorsement, you’ll need to pass vision and knowledge tests, get a learner’s permit, and take a safety course.
Written by Mary Cahill
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
background
A motorcycle endorsement on your Connecticut driver’s license is designated by the letter “M”. In order to receive this endorsement, you’ll first need to pass vision and knowledge tests to hold a motorcycle learner’s permit and take an approved motorcycle safety training course. 
Driving a motorcycle is an exciting way to get around—but it can also be dangerous if you lack the knowledge and experience required to hold a motorcycle license in Connecticut. If you don’t have a motorcycle endorsement on your Connecticut driver’s license, you won’t be legally permitted to operate a motorcycle on public roadways. 
There are a few basic steps to obtain your motorcycle endorsement: get your learner’s permit, complete the safety and training course, and apply for your Connecticut motorcycle license. 
If you have questions about this process,
car insurance
super app
Jerry
, the App Store’s
#1-rated insurance comparison tool
, has answers. In this article, we’ll guide you through everything you need to know about getting a Connecticut motorcycle endorsement on your license. 
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

Do you need a license to operate a motorcycle in Connecticut?

Technically no—but that‘s only if you plan to drive a motorcycle on private property. If you want to use a motorcycle as a mode of transportation on public roads, a motorcycle endorsement on your driver’s license is required by law. 
In accordance with Connecticut motor vehicle law, a motorcycle is defined as having no more than three wheels touching the ground, a saddle on which the rider sits, or a platform on which the rider stands. This is not to be confused with a moped, which the law defines as a motorbike that produces no more than five brake horsepower. You don’t need an “M” endorsement to cruise around on a moped in Connecticut—just a valid driver’s license.  
The minimum age to obtain a motorcycle license in Connecticut is 16. All motorcycle drivers in Connecticut must hold a permit before receiving an “M” endorsement on their driver’s license. Having a motorcycle permit will allow you to practice driving your motorcycle on public roads for 60 hours before you’re officially licensed. 

How to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Connecticut driver’s license

To get your motorcycle permit you’ll first need to pass a knowledge test. This 16-question written test also includes a vision screening. The test questions will be based on content from both the
Connecticut Driver's Manual
and the
Connecticut Motorcycle Manual
If you’re under 18, you also need a notarized
Certificate of Parental Consent
and a completed
Non-Commercial Driver’s License Application
in addition to passing the knowledge and vision tests. 
After you’ve received your motorcycle permit, it’s time to complete training through the Basic Rider Course (BRC) or Intermediate Rider Course (IRC). The main difference between these two courses is that participants of the IRC use their own street legal motorcycles. 
The course takes about 12 to 15 hours and is run through the
Connecticut Rider Education Program (CONREP) for Motorcycle Safety
As a motorcycle permit holder, it’s important that you always abide by the following restrictions to avoid permit revocation:
  • Only drive your motorcycle in the state of Connecticut
  • Only drive from sunrise to sunset
  • Do not drive on limited-access roads
  • Do not transport any passengers on your motorcycle
  • Wear a helmet and eye protection 
Once you have all the rules down, you’re ready to get your motorcycle license! Make sure you arrive at the DMV with proof of completion of the motorcycle training and safety course
As a newly licensed motorcycle driver in Connecticut, you’ll remain under a few restrictions. For the first 90 days after getting your “M” endorsement, you’re prohibited from transporting passengers on your motorcycle. If you’re under 18, you cannot transport passengers for the first six months
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

How much does it cost to get a motorcycle license in Connecticut?

It takes patience and effort to get a motorcycle license in Connecticut—it also costs money. To give you a better idea of how much you’ll need to pay to obtain your “M” endorsement, we’ve broken down the general costs which include the following:
  • Written/vision test for permit: $40
  • Permit fee: $16
  • Permit renewal fee (if applicable): $16
  • Basic Rider Course: $220
  • Motorcycle license fee: $30 
  • Motorcycle license renewal fee (required every six years): $72
MORE: How to deal with rising gas prices in Connecticut

How to save on car and motorcycle insurance in Connecticut

Motorcycle drivers are required to carry at least a
liability policy
when purchasing mandatory
motorcycle insurance
. If you’ve never purchased this type of coverage before, determining a fair price can be difficult—but generally, it’s cheaper than
car insurance
When you’re on the hunt for cheap insurance rates, comparison shopping with
Jerry
is your best bet. Jerry will put together a customized list of affordable car insurance rates in less than a minute and even assist you with canceling your existing policy in exchange for a better deal.
Jerry offers motorcycle insurance, too—after you’ve signed up for the free app, just text the Jerry agent your motorcycle info and we’ll show you the best rates our partnering providers offer. It’s never been easier to save—on average, Jerry users save over $800 on car insurance each year!
Are you overpaying for your car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees
icon4.717k Ratings
5M+Drivers Joined
7M+Cars Garaged

FAQs

You won’t need to take a road test, but Connecticut requires all motorcycle drivers to complete a state-approved Basic Rider Course before obtaining a motorcycle license.
No. Connecticut requires motorcyclists to carry a minimum of liability coverage for motorcycle insurance.
If you drive a motorcycle on private roads you aren’t doing anything illegal. Driving a motorcycle on public roads without a license could get you a fine between $200 and $600 in addition to possible jail time.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings