Massachusetts Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
If you receive a speeding ticket in Massachusetts, you can either pay the fine or contest the charge in court. Speeding tickets can be quite expensive, and their consequences range from increased insurance rates to outright license suspension.
Every state has its own set of procedures for dealing with speeding tickets, so make sure to learn the rules in your area before you settle on a course of action. 
To make the process easier for you, the car insurance super app Jerry explains everything you need to know about Massachusetts speeding tickets. Keep reading to learn your options.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Massachusetts?

If you’re pulled over in Massachusetts for a speeding violation, you will need to present your license and registration. The officer may let you off with a warning, or they’ll go ahead and write you a ticket, which comes with a fine.
If you fail to answer a ticket within 20 days, you forfeit your right to a hearing and will be charged late and release fees on top of the regular fine. 
The Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) will send you a letter notifying you of your obligations. Your driver's license will be suspended if you do not pay your fine and any other penalties within 30 days of receiving the notice.

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Massachusetts?

The minimum fine for a speeding ticket in Massachusetts is $100, but you will be charged more depending on how much you were exceeding the speed limit.
If you were driving more than 10 mph faster than the speed limit, you must pay $10 for each additional mph. Here’s a breakdown of the typical fees:
TicketFee
8 mph over speed limit$100
10 mph over speed limit$110
20 mph over speed limit$120
30 mph over speed limit$130
40 mph over speed limit$140
If you’re caught speeding in a construction zone, then your fine will be doubled. 

Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Massachusetts

If you’ve been issued a speeding ticket in Massachusetts, you have two options for handling it:
  • Pay the fine in full
  • Appeal your ticket and request a hearing

How to pay a speeding ticket in Massachusetts

Paying the fine outright is the simplest way to deal with a speeding ticket. There are a few options for paying your ticket off:
  • Online. There’s a 10 day waiting period, and you’ll need the following information:
    • Traffic ticket/citation number
    • Date of the incident/offense
    • Email address
  • Over the phone. Call one of the following numbers and provide them with the following information:
    • (857) 368-8000 (for area codes 339, 617, 781, and 857, or those outside Massachusetts)
    • (800) 858-3926 (all other Massachusetts area codes)
    • (877) 768-8833 (for those deaf or hard-of-hearing)
    • Traffic ticket/citation number
    • Date of the incident/offense
  • By mail. Send a check or money order payable to “MassDOT.” You’ll need to:
    • Write your driver’s license and citation number on the payment
    • Check Box 1 that you “wish to pay this citation”
    • Sign and date the back of the ticket
    • Mail it in the pre-addressed envelope—if you lose this, send the payment to Citation Processing Center, P.O. Box 55890, Boston, MA 02205-5890 
  • In-person. Go to your nearest Registry of Motor Vehicles office, and make sure to bring your ticket with you

How to fight a speeding ticket in Massachusetts

If you can’t afford to pay the fine, don’t want more points on your record, or don’t believe you were speeding, you’ll have to fight your ticket in a Massachusetts court.

Pleading not guilty in court

There are two ways to start the process of appealing your ticket.
You can appeal online—but only after 10 days have passed since receiving your citation. Make sure you have the following information when you file your appeal:
  • Citation number
  • Incident/offense date
  • Email address
  • $25 fee
Massachusetts drivers can also choose to appeal by mail, for which you must:
  • Sign and date the back of the citation
  • Check off the “Hearing Request/Filing Fee” box on the front of the pre-addressed envelope
  • Write your name and address on the envelope
  • Include a check or money order of $25 payable to MassDOT
  • Include the citation number and your driver’s license number on your payment
  • Mail to the following address:
    • Citation Processing Center, P.O. Box 55890, Boston, MA 02205-5890
The court will schedule your hearing and notify you of the date and time by mail once your request has been processed and your filing fee has been paid.

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?

Having a speeding ticket on your record can raise your insurance prices. Even after only one ticket, Massachusetts drivers could experience up to a 31% hike in their insurance premiums.
If you’re looking for a new policy (whether you have a ticket on your record), use Jerry to compare dozens of competitive quotes and make an easy in-app switch.
 “This was and is great service! Jerry saved me $400 on my renewal. I was super shocked!” —Jackson M.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

It’s possible to lose your license for speeding. In Massachusetts, a speeding ticket is considered a minor traffic violation that can result in two points being added to your driving record.
If you accumulate a total of three major moving violations or 12 major and minor moving violations together within five years, your license may be suspended.
If you think you can prove that you were in fact not speeding, it may be worth it to fight your ticket. 
If you don't have any supporting evidence, however, it’s likely better to pay the fine in full or enroll in a payment plan with the state.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free