Massachusetts Red Light Cameras

Your insurance premiums could increase for 6 years if you’re convicted of a red light violation.
Written by Kara Vanderbeek
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
background
A red light ticket in
Massachusetts
could cost you up to $155 and add two points to your driving record, so it’s important to know your options for appealing a citation. 
Red light cameras detect traffic violations by capturing photo and video evidence of vehicles that have crossed the intersection line after the light has turned red. Red light cameras have been implemented across the country in an effort to deter motorists from running red lights and to reduce the number of motor vehicle accidents.
While red light cameras have yet to be implemented in Massachusetts, drivers are not immune to receiving red light tickets. A stop sign or red light conviction will add 2 points to an individual’s driving record and will increase a motorist’s insurance premiums for 6 years.
To help you respond to and appeal red light citations accordingly,
car insurance
comparison and broker app
Jerry
has compiled a guide to everything you need to know about red light laws in Massachusetts.
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now
No - there is no state law or city ordinance permitting red light cameras in Massachusetts. 
Despite evidence suggesting that they are an effective tool in preventing dangerous accidents, red light cameras have been criticised for acting as an unethical revenue stream for the government and for failing to positively identify offending drivers. 
Nevertheless, Massachusetts red light and stop sign laws still apply and any violation of the law will be charged and recorded on your driving record. 

What are the red light laws in Massachusetts?

In order to avoid red light violations, it is important to first understand what the red light laws are in your state. The Massachusetts red light laws are highlighted below:
  • Making the stop: Motorists must come to a complete stop at a solid or flashing red light or stop sign.
  • Right on red rule: Unless prohibited by sign, motorists may turn right at a red light after coming to a complete stop and following right-of-way rules.
  • Left on red rule: Left turns on red lights are not permitted.
  • Yellow lights: Unless a motorist has deemed it unsafe to stop, drivers are required to stop at yellow lights under Massachusetts law.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

What should I do if I receive a red light ticket?

How you respond to a red light camera ticket depends on the nature of the violation. 
Paying the ticket means that you have claimed responsibility for the violation and plead guilty to the offence. 
However, if you believe that you are not at fault and the ticket is a mistake, you have the option to appear in court and fight the ticket
To help you understand your options, we have outlined the steps for each process.

How to pay a red light ticket 

If you have received a civil traffic ticket, you may pay the ticket online, by phone, or by mail within 20 days
Online: To pay for a ticket online, use the state’s online service centre for paying citations. Note that it may take up to 10 days for the ticket to show up in the system and you may need to check back at a later date to pay the fine. 
By phone: To pay for a ticket via phone, have your citation number and credit card ready and call the number associated with your area code below:
Your Area Code/RMV Contact Number:
  • 339, 617, 781, 857: (857) 368-8000
  • All other area codes: (800) 858-392
By mail: To pay for a ticket by mail, sign and date the back of the physical ticket and write a money order to “MassDOT” with the ticket amount. Be sure to include your driver’s licence number and the ticket citation number. Once complete, mail your payment to the address below:
Citation Processing Center
P.O. Box 55890
Boston, MA 02205
A criminal traffic ticket must be paid in person or by mail within 4 days. In addition, you must appear in court on your scheduled court date.

How to fight a red light ticket

To request an appeal for a red light ticket, you must file the citation within 20 days of receiving the ticket, or within 4 days if the citation includes a criminal traffic offence. 
If your request was sent within that time, you will receive a summons in the mail from the District Clerk to appear at a Clerk Magistrate Hearing, where you will be found responsible  or not-responsible for the violation.
Massachusetts law permits drivers to have attorney representation throughout the appeal process, which may be valuable to drivers who wish to maintain their driving record. The citing officer may represent himself or be represented by another officer from the police station. Both driver and police have the right to appeal the decision of the clerk at this hearing.
If there is an appeal at the Clerk Magistrate Hearing, a full hearing will be scheduled to occur in front of a judge, known as a “Judge Appeal”. At the Judge Appeal Hearing, the citing officer is required to appear in court and present testimony. 
You or your representing attorney have the right to cross examine the citing officer and to  present a counter argument to the judge. At the conclusion of the hearing, the judge will make a ruling on the red light citation.
Key Takeaway If you choose to fight your red light ticket, you’re entitled to attorney representation. 

How to find affordable car insurance in Massachusetts

If you’re convicted of running a red light in Massachusetts, your insurance will go up. Luckily, car insurance super app
Jerry
will find you the lowest rate available and handle all of the hassle for you.
Download the app, answer a few questions, and mobile insurance broker Jerry will find you competitive quotes from over 50 top insurance companies within 45 seconds.
Even if you have points on your record, Jerry will find the lowest available rate and handle all the paperwork to get you switched over. Jerry users save an average of $887 a year on car insurance! 
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me to
Jerry
and their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings