Maryland Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
If you get a speeding ticket in Maryland, you have three options: pay the fee, request a waiver hearing, or go to court to contest the ticket.
A speeding ticket can represent anything from a minor annoyance to a major financial blow. Depending on the circumstances, your consequences may include an increase in your car insurance rates and even suspension of your driver's license.
Every state has its own set of standards for dealing with speeding fines, and it’s important to know your options before you can set a course of action.
The car insurance super app Jerry is breaking down everything you need to know about Maryland speeding tickets—how to pay them, how to appeal your ticket, and what to do if you can’t afford to pay your fine.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Maryland?

If a Maryland police officer pulls you over for speeding, you'll be asked for your driver's license and registration. You may either be issued a warning or written a ticket
If you do not respond within 30 days of the ticket’s issue date, the District Court will contact the Motor Vehicle Administration and begin the process of suspending your driver's license.

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Maryland?

If you violate the speed limit in Maryland, the basic consequences are a $90 fine and one point on your driving record.
This is the smallest fine a driver can receive for speeding. Fines and the number of points added to your record increase the more severely you break the law.
In general, speeding charges in Maryland result in the following fines and points:
TicketBase feeDemerit point(s)
1-9 mph over speed limit$801 point
10-19 mph over speed limit$902 points
20-29 mph over speed limit$1602 points
Exceeding a speed limit of 65-75 mph by 10-19 mph$1602 points
30-39 mph over speed limit$2905 points
Exceeding a speed limit of 65-75 mph by 20-29 mph$2905 points
40+ mph over speed limit$5305 points
If your speeding results in a collision, you’ll face heftier fines and even more points.

Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Maryland

If you’ve received a speeding ticket in Maryland, you have a couple of options:
  • Plead guilty and pay your fine
  • Request a waiver hearing (which may reduce or dismiss your fine)
  • Appear in court and plead not guilty

How to pay a speeding ticket in Maryland

The simplest way to deal with a speeding ticket is to go ahead and pay the fine. You can pay:
  • Over the phone by calling (800) 492-2656
  • In-person at any local District Court or the Maryland Uniform Traffic Citation Payment Kiosk at your local Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) office.
  • By mail by sending a check or money order to the following address:
    • District Court Traffic Processing Center, P.O. Box 6676, Annapolis, MD 21401

How to fight a speeding ticket in Maryland

If you can’t afford to pay the fine, don’t want more points on your record, or don’t believe you were speeding, you can attempt to dispute the ticket.

Request a Waiver Hearing

This is essentially “pleading guilty with an explanation.” You can ask the judge to lower or dismiss your fine during a waiver hearing. 
You can also request probation instead of a conviction from the court.
To do this, complete the following steps: 
  • Check the “Request a Waiver Hearing” box on your ticket
  • Sign and date the ticket
  • Mail it to:
    • District Court Traffic Processing Center, P.O. Box 6676, Annapolis, MD 21401

Plead not guilty in court

You can appear in court and plead not guilty if you hope to get the ticket dismissed entirely. You can present witness testimony or other evidence and hire a lawyer to represent you. 
The judge will then decide whether you are guilty—and if you are found guilty, you can still appeal within 30 days (for an additional fee).

What if you can’t afford to pay your speeding ticket?

You can request a repayment plan under Maryland Courts Article 7-504.1 if you have at least $150 in total unpaid penalties and are otherwise qualified to enter into a payment plan.
To enroll in a payment plan:
  • Check “Request a Payment Plan” for each penalty for which you need a payment plan
  • Sign and date the ticket
  • Mail the form within 30 days of receiving your ticket to the address listed above

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?

Unfortunately, a speeding ticket conviction can increase your insurance premiums for the foreseeable future. Maryland drivers can expect a rate increase of up to 11%.
Switching providers may help you find a lower rate. Jerry gathers quotes from over 50 insurance providers and can help you sort through dozens of competitive quotes to make an easy in-app switch.  
“I signed up for a new policy with Jerry’s help. I ended up saving $236 a month after my switch. Thank you Jerry!” —Adelaide C.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

It’s definitely possible to lose your license for speeding in Maryland. The state demerit system awards points depending on how severely you were speeding:
9 mph over the limit or less—1 point
10 mph and over—2 points
30 mph and over—5 points
20 mph or greater over a 65 mph speed limit—5 points
If you accumulate between 5 and 7 points within two years, you’ll have to sign up for a driver improvement program or attend a points system conference.
If you manage to get between 8 and 11 points in two years, you may face a license suspension. Anything over 12 points results in an automatic suspension.
It can be worth fighting your ticket if you think you can prove you weren’t speeding. 
If you don’t have any evidence to back up your claim, you’d likely be better off paying the fine in full or enrolling in a payment plan.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free