A Kansas reckless driving charge is a misdemeanor that carries penalties of $25 to $500 in fines, jail time ranging from 5 to 90 days, and/or license suspension. If you commit multiple reckless driving violations, the penalties can become much worse.
Being charged with reckless driving is much more serious than minor offenses like speeding or rolling through a stop sign. Between huge fines and potential jail time, you’ll want to be as careful as you can while on the road in Kansas to avoid a violation.
How does Kansas define reckless driving?
Kansas state law officially defines reckless driving as driving “in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” This means that reckless driving can be intentional or it can be caused by negligence.
Since the official definition can seem a little vague, here are some common examples of reckless driving in both Kansas and other states:
- Driving at a very fast speed
- Passing other vehicles in an unsafe manner
- Driving while distracted in some manner
- Weaving in and out of traffic
These are not the only things that might get you into trouble, however. It’s up to law enforcement to decide if your behavior does or does not qualify as reckless driving, so you’ll want to play it safe no matter what.
Seat-belt laws in Kansas
What are the penalties for reckless driving in Kansas:
Reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor in Kansas. If you’re convicted for the first time, you may face one or more of the following penalties:
- A fine ranging from $25 to $500
- Between 5 and 90 days of jail time
- The suspension of your license
The severity of your offense will determine how much money you have to pay, as well as if you receive any jail time at all. Incidents in which other people are injured will increase the severity of the penalties.
A second reckless driving conviction will carry one or more of the following penalties:
- A fine ranging from $50 to $500
- Between 10 days and 6 months of jail time
- The suspension of your license
If someone is killed as a result of your reckless driving, the charge may elevate to vehicular homicide, which is a Class A person misdemeanor with a penalty of up to one year in jail.
Key Takeaway Even one count of reckless driving can mean jail time and a suspended license. Play it safe on the road so that you don’t have to pay for the consequences later.
awesome rewardsevery week, just for driving safe!”
How can I remove reckless driving from my record?
Reckless driving is a serious, criminal offense that won’t go away easily. The actual time period depends on the severity of the crime.
Minor traffic violations generally remain on your
Kansas driving recordfor three years, while major offenses can stay on your record for as long as five years. Severe convictions like DUI’s remain for life.
Of course, the best way to avoid having reckless driving on your record is to avoid a conviction. Judges and officers may be lenient if any of the following were true at the time of the offense:
- Your vehicle was malfunctioning
- You have never committed any other traffic violations
- You were in an emergency
With that said, the best way to avoid a reckless driving charge is to pay attention to the road and
drive as safely as possible.
Kansas car seat law
Will reckless driving make my insurance go up?
Yes, a reckless driving charge is likely to make your insurance much more expensive. Reckless driving is one of the most costly violations when it comes to your insurance premiums.
The average Kansas driver sees their insurance payments rise $466 per year after being charged with reckless driving. That means you’ll pay 33% more than the average driver in Kansas.
To avoid being hit with reckless driving, you’ll need to practice patience on the road and stay aware at all times.
How to find affordable car insurance in Kansas
If you have reckless driving or any other violations on your driving record, insurance can become expensive quickly. Even if you have a clean record, you could be paying more than necessary.
The average Jerry user saves $887 per year on their car insurance payments.
Can you go to jail for reckless driving in Kansas?
Yes, if you are convicted of reckless driving, you could face jail time. You can be charged with a misdemeanor and subject to anywhere from 5 to 90 days in jail. Alternatively, you might just have to pay a large fine.
What is the minimum penalty for reckless driving in Kansas?
The minimum penalty for reckless driving is generally a $25 fine and/or five days in jail.
What is the difference between reckless driving and aggressive driving?
Although Kansas law doesn’t specifically define aggressive driving, this is generally understood to be similar to road rage, meaning that you drive with the intent to harm or intimidate someone. Reckless driving, on the other hand, displays a disregard for the safety of others, but it’s not necessarily intentional.