Before you can get an Idaho driver’s license, you must be at least 15 years old. You’ll also need to be able to provide valid identification and proof of address. Once you meet those requirements, you can start working through the rest of the checklist, which includes a driver education course, vision test, written exam, and your final road test.
So you’re ready to get your driver’s license—that’s so exciting! Becoming a licensed driver is a big milestone, but it can be a little tricky because the process might vary depending on your circumstances and the state where you live. Luckily, broker app and genius
car insurance comparison shopper
Jerry is here to make sure you’re prepared. Plus, we can help you save money on
car insurance in Idaho.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What are the requirements for a driver’s license in Idaho?
You need to be at least 15 years old to get a driver’s license in Idaho. You’ll also need to gather up these documents before you go to the Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV):
Primary identification: a US birth certificate, US passport, Consular Report of Birth Abroad, Permanent Resident card, certificate of citizenship, or certificate of naturalization
Social Security number: your Social Security card, W-2 form, paycheck including your full name and complete SSN, or 1099 form
Proof of residential address: a mortgage statement, lease agreement, account statement from a public utility, account statement from a bank or credit union, school enrollment records, or certification from a relief agency or shelter
For a complete list of acceptable documents you can use in your license application based on immigration and citizenships status, check the Idaho
Department of Transportation website.
What are the requirements for young drivers?
If you are under the age of 18 and want to apply for your driver’s license, you’ll need parental consent and must have held a Supervised Instruction Permit for at least six months with no violations. You’ll also need:
Certification from a legal guardian that you completed at least 50 hours of driving, including 10 hours at night
Proof of school enrollment
What are the requirements for out-of-state drivers?
If you are a new Idaho resident and hold a valid driver’s license from another state, you are required to apply for your Idaho driver’s license within 90 days of residing in Idaho, whether your out-of-state license has expired or not.
How to get a driver’s license in Idaho
For new drivers: take the TLSAE course
In Idaho, you’re required to take a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE) before getting your Supervised Instruction Permit. This course is available either online or in a classroom setting. It covers everything you need to know about traffic laws, especially regarding road safety and alcohol use.
You can’t drive safely if you can’t see the road, which is why all states require you to pass a vision test before you can get a driver’s license.
To meet Idaho’s vision requirements, you must have 20/40 or better vision in at least one eye, with or without corrective lenses. If you’ve seen a specialist, but have 20/50 or 20/60 vision, you may still be permitted to drive, but will be required to attend yearly vision screenings.
Once you get your TLSAE course and vision test out of the way, you’re ready to take your written exam. This test consists of 40 multiple choice questions on Idaho’s traffic laws, road safety practices, and road signs.
You don’t need an appointment to take the knowledge exam, but be sure to study the
Idaho Driver’s Handbook and take a
practice test online before you go. If you fail the test, you’ll have to wait three days before trying again.
To pass the knowledge exam, you need to get 34 out of 40 questions correct, or 85%.
If everything else is in order, the last thing you need to do in order to get your Idaho driver's license is take a
road test. You can schedule your test through your county’s
DMV office. You’ll need to bring your own vehicle, and it must have:
A working horn, brakes, brake lights, headlights, and turn signals
Functioning doors, seatbelts, windshield wipers, and emergency signals
Good visibility through all windows
At least a quarter tank of gas
Bring all of your documents with you to your road test. The exam may vary depending on your instructor, but you should be prepared to perform the following:
Approaching an intersection
Observing the right of way
Parking in standard conditions and on a hill
Signaling, turning, and passing
During the test, your instructor will pay close attention to whether you correctly follow all traffic signals, including stop signs and red lights. They’ll also be watching to see if you follow other cars too closely and whether you’re sitting with the correct posture.
Once you pass your road test, all that’s left to do is to present your documents and pay a fee, and you’ll get your Idaho driver’s license! The DMV will give you a temporary license the day you pass your test and you’ll get your permanent license in the mail within a few weeks.
How to save money on car insurance in Idaho
So now that you know everything there is to know about getting your license in Idaho, passing your tests should be a breeze. But once you have that coveted license tucked safely into your wallet, it’s probably a good time to start thinking about
car insurance. Don’t worry—you’ve got licensed broker and car insurance comparison super app
Jerry in your corner to make the process easy.
Just enter in some basic info in Jerry's
trustworthy super app, and we’ll immediately get to work comparing rates from 50+ top insurance companies like
Nationwide. We’ll send you the best quotes, and when you choose the coverage that fits you best, we’ll even help you switch to your new policy!
“I’m young and just got my first car, so choosing an insurance company for the first time was scary. My friend recommended this app to me and
Jerry made everything simple! I put in my info and got something more affordable than what I expected for my age!” —Leslie T.