How to Renew Your Driver's License in Rhode Island

In most cases, it costs $62.50 to renew a Rhode Island driver’s license, and you can complete the process online or in person.
Written by Maxine Boyko
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
When the time comes to renew your
Rhode Island
driver’s license, you can do so online or in person. Whichever of the two methods you choose, it will cost $62.50 and take up to 45 days to receive your new license. 
Renewing your license can be a less-than-thrilling and surprisingly time-consuming undertaking. But it’s important to begin the process on schedule so you don’t end up driving with an expired license—an offense that can result in hefty fines and even jail time. 
If you’re feeling overwhelmed by the prospect of renewing your license,
car insurance
super app is here to lead the way! In this guide, we’ll tell you everything you need to know about renewing your license in Little Rhody.
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

When to renew your driver’s license in Rhode Island

You’ll know when to renew your driver’s license by checking the expiration date on the front of your license, listed to the right of your photograph. 
A Rhode Island driver’s license is valid for four years if you are under 75 years old and for two years if you are 75 years of age and older. Rhode Island will send a license renewal form in the mail so you can conveniently start the process. Look out for the notice to avoid civil offense charges.

How to renew your driver’s license in Rhode Island

There are two ways you can renew your Rhode Island driver’s license: 
  • Online
  • In person
The first step of any license renewal method is to ensure your contact information is correct. If your address has changed, you may
update your information online
, which will take around 15 minutes to process, or submit the
change of address notice
by mail. 

Renew your license online

If your information hasn’t changed, including your name and address, and your license hasn’t been expired for more than 180 days, you can
renew your license online
If you’re cleared to renew online, you will need the following: 
  • Your current driver’s license or renewal notice
  • Your payment method (credit or debit only)
  • A way to print your receipt
Remember to print your receipt as renewal proof while you wait for your new license to arrive. A standard five-year driver’s license renewal costs $62.50 if you are under the age of 75. For more information on how much you should expect to pay for your license renewal, check the Rhode Island DMV
fee schedule
If you’re a military member, you qualify for a special armed forces operator’s license, which you can renew online. You must always carry this license on your person for identification and driving purposes. If you have any questions about this special driver’s license renewal,
contact the DMV

Renew your license in person

If you can’t renew online, you’ll need to apply in person at either your
local DMV branch
AAA branch office
, if you’re a member.
Before you head to the DMV, first complete
form LI-1
. Then, bring this form along with your current license and a way to pay the renewal fee. 
You will be required to take a vision test. If your license has expired for more than five years, you’ll also need to take the written and driving exams. You will be issued a temporary paper license that is valid for 60 days. You can expect to receive your new license in the mail over the next 45 days.
To update to a REAL ID, you must complete this transaction in a DMV office. There is no additional cost if you apply during the renewal period. If you want to travel on or after May 3, 2023, you will need a REAL ID compliant credential. You can read more about REAL ID requirements and the process on the Rhode Island
DMV website
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

How long does it take to renew a Rhode Island driver’s license? 

You can generally expect your new license to arrive in the mail within 45 days
If you haven’t received your license within that time frame or have other concerns regarding license expirations and renewals, you can call 401-462-5862 to see if your license is at the DMV headquarters in Cranston.  
MORE: Rhode Island Electric Vehicle Incentives

How to save money on car insurance in Rhode Island

Don’t let all the hard work of renewing your driver’s license go to waste! Make sure you have at least the minimum car insurance coverage required in your state.
is the easiest way to get full coverage at an affordable rate. 
All you need to do is set aside 45 seconds to download the app and answer a few easy questions. Jerry will handle the nitty-gritty of shopping, comparing, and delivering the best rates from over 50 leading insurers in the nation. 
After you’ve chosen the right coverage and price for your needs,
will handle the paperwork on your behalf, including switchovers, canceling your old policy, and continuing the search once renewal time rolls around. If that’s not enough, get this—Jerry users save an average of $887 annually on car insurance. 
“My old insurance renewed at double my previous rate, so it was time to switch. Because of
, I’m a 22 year old with full coverage Nationwide at $130/month and $250 deductibles. That’s unheard of!” —Isaac S.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store


There is no grace period for expired Rhode Island driver’s licenses. These are the penalties for driving with an expired license: 
1. First offense: $250 to $500 in fines
2. Second offense: $350 to $500 in fines
3. Subsequent offenses: $500 to $1,000 in fines and up to 90 days in jail
Yes, you’re able to renew your Rhode Island driver’s license online as long as your license hasn’t been expired for more than 180 days and your personal information is unchanged.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings