To get a motorcycle license in Florida, all you need to do is take the Motorcycle Safety Foundation’s (MSF) Basic RiderCourse and present the proof, along with a valid ID, at a DMV location.
If you’re an avid (or aspiring) motorcycle rider, the Sunshine State might be the ideal place to hit the open road. It’s all in the name: thanks to clear skies and warm temperatures throughout the year, a motorcycle is a great way to get around in Florida.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) sets out simple requirements for anyone who wants to operate a motorcycle on a Florida highway: take a safety course, present your ID, and you’ll be licensed to drive your bike, moped, or motor scooter year-round.
Car insurance super app
Jerry is here to walk you through the licensing process for Florida motorcycle riders. We’ll go over your endorsement and licensing options and even show you how to save on
Florida car insurance costs with our trustworthy broker app!
Do you need a license to operate a motorcycle in Florida?
Yes—in order to operate a two- or three-wheeled motorcycle with an engine over 50 ccs in Florida, you must have either:
A motorcycle endorsement added to your Florida driver’s license
A “Motorcycle Only” license
You must be at least 16 years old to operate a motorcycle in Florida. If you’re from another state other than Alabama and already have a motorcycle license or endorsement, you can legally drive your motorcycle in the state of Florida. Alabama riders must present extra documentation before operating a motorcycle.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Florida driver’s license
If you already have a valid Class E driver’s license, you’ll need to add an endorsement before you can legally drop down to two wheels (or three). The process is pretty simple: take a motorcycle safety course, present the proof at the DMV along with some photo ID and an endorsement fee, and you’ll be good to go!
Let’s break that down a little further. The process for getting a Florida motorcycle license endorsement is laid out in
Section 322.12(5)(a) of the Florida Statutes.
The course required for a Florida motorcycle license endorsement is called the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Basic RiderCourse updated (BRCu). These courses, designed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) provide motorcycle drivers with important training in safety strategies and crash avoidance techniques. You can check out the BRC handbook
You must take your training course with a Sponsor authorized by the Florida Rider Training Program (FRTP). For a full list of providers, organized by county, click
You’ll notice that some locations offer additional courses alongside the BRC and BRCu. If you’re trying to operate a three-wheel vehicle or a motorcycle with a sidecar, or if you’re an experienced rider looking for a skill refresh, there are course options for you.
Once you’ve got your course completion card, you’re ready to apply for your motorcycle endorsement! Head to your nearest drivers license office or tax collector’s office with:
Proof of course completion
Your valid Florida driver’s license or
Cash or check for any endorsement and licensing
You’ll need to pay $7 for your motorcycle endorsement, along with a $48 licensing fee (if applicable). In addition, if you’re getting your endorsement at a tax collector’s office, be aware that they’ll charge an extra $6.25 fee.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
How to get a motorcycle-only license in Florida
What if you don’t have a valid Florida driver’s license? If you’ve never had a driver’s license, or if your license has expired, you can still get a standalone motorcycle license. Here’s how.
First of all, you must be at least 16 years of age and hold at least a learner’s permit. If you’re under 18 years old, you must have held your learner’s license for at least 12 months with no traffic convictions.
While you don’t need to get your Class E license to obtain a motorcycle license, you must pass the same knowledge test in addition to completing the BRC or BRCu. You can take a practice test to prepare for the exam
here. The test covers traffic laws and other safety information that’s just as important for motorcyclists as for regular drivers.
After that, the process is the same! You’ll take your documents, including your BRC course completion card and your ID, to an FLHSMV service location and pay the licensing and endorsement fees.
How to save on car and motorcycle insurance in Florida
Florida car insurance costs are higher than the national average, making motorcycle operation an affordable alternative! The state of Florida doesn’t require
motorcycle insurance, and if you do choose to buy it, it’s typically
cheaper than car insurance.
But most motorcycle riders also own a car—and those costs are much higher. If you’re still paying for car insurance, Jerry can help you lower your premium.
Here’s how: download the Jerry app, answer a few simple questions, and our super app’s technology will sift through real-time quotes from over 55 top providers to find the coverage options and rates that best fit your needs. You can compare quotes in the app, and when you find the rate that’s right for you, Jerry’s team of expert insurance agents will take over, filing all your paperwork so that you’re ready to start saving right away!
On average, Jerry users save over $800 a year on car insurance. Now that’s a little sunshine in your life.