Does Oregon require front license plates?
Yes—most vehicles in Oregon are required to display front and rear license plates.
However, some Oregon vehicles are only required to display one license plate. They are:
What is the penalty for driving without a front license plate in Oregon?
If you are caught driving without a front license plate in Oregon, it is considered a Class D traffic violation. This is the most minor of the Beaver State’s traffic violations and carries a maximum $250 fine, minimum $60 fine, and presumptive $110 fine.
Every state that Oregon touches also requires drivers to have front license plates, so if you get pulled over for it, pleading ignorance won’t necessarily let you get off scot-free!
Which states do not require a front license plate?
Front and rear license plates are mandated by law along the west coast, but there are 19 states where you can drive with just a license plate on the back end of your car:
Why Oregon requires a front license plate
There’s a lot of hullabaloo surrounding front license plates, so why have lawmakers gone to such lengths to make them a requirement?
The answer? To help the police identify stolen vehicles. Vehicles with front license plates double the chances of law enforcement being able to track down your car. Which, in a theft-heavy state like Oregon, is especially important.
Which states have the highest rate of car theft?
These high auto theft rates not only emphasize how important having a front license plate is, but they actually affect your insurance premiums! Because of the sky-high theft rate, you can expect to pay more for your car insurance in Portland and Salem.
How to find cheap car insurance in Oregon
To get started, download Jerry for free from the app store, take 45 seconds to answer some basic questions, and let Jerry work its magic. In just a few minutes, you’ll be presented with quotes that are tailor-made for your vehicle.