Connecticut Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
You have a few options when you receive a speeding ticket in Connecticut. You can choose to plead not guilty, fight the case using Connecticut's online ticket review program, or plead no contest and pay the fine
Speeding tickets are no joke. Depending on the situation, a speeding ticket could result in hefty fines, increased insurance rates, or—with previous infractions—losing your ability to drive. Because each state treats speeding tickets differently, it’s important to know your options.
If you’ve just received a ticket and don’t know what to do next, the car insurance comparison and broker app, Jerry has you covered. Here we’ll break down everything you need to know about speeding tickets in Connecticut—from how to pay them to avoiding court appearances. 

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Connecticut? 

When pulled over for speeding in Connecticut, the first step will be to hand over your license and registration. If your record is clean, an officer may let you off with a warning—but you’ll likely be given a ticket based on the severity of your offense
For lesser offenses, you’ll be given a ticket which must be signed on the spot and paid at a later date. More significant violations may result in a “notice to appear.” This document must also be signed, and it gives a mandated court date for the driver to appear. 
After signing the ticket, you can still plead not guilty, despite agreeing to pay the fine or visit the court. 

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Connecticut? 

In Connecticut, there are three laws surrounding penalties for driving too fast. They are as follows.
  • Traveling unreasonably fast—traveling too fast for conditions 
  • Speeding—traveling at a speed that endangers the life of others 
  • Reckless speed—traveling more than 85 mph on any road
For traveling unreasonably fast, the base fee ranges from $35 to $90 depending on the severity, but keep in mind that each level of speeding in Connecticut comes with higher fees.
Fees will also range on account of where the violation took place. For example, if you are caught with a speeding violation (71 to 75 mph), the base fee will be $213. In a construction zone, this fee increases to $313—a multiple special zone violation can go as high as $413
Fees can also increase if you have been found guilty of previous convictions, were driving commercial trucks, or endangered a “uniformed” occupant.
The table gives estimates for the value of different tickets in Connecticut. Still, these values can change based on circumstance and via surcharges imposed on those attempting to fight the case.
Reckless speeding (after multiple offenses) can also result in up to one year of imprisonment—along with the $600 fine.  
You can also be given the following surcharges based on the circumstance.
  • A surcharge equal to 50% of the assessed fine
  • An additional $1 fee for every $8 fine
  • A $15 cost for those pleading no contest in any speeding infraction
  • A $35 surcharge for an infraction carrying a fine of $35 or more
  • A $5 charge for those convicted of drunk driving, reckless driving, or speeding
  • An additional $10 fee to be paid to the county in which the offense occurs
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Connecticut

When issued a ticket in Connecticut, you have the following options.
  • Plead no contest and pay the fine
  • Use the online ticket review program to contest
  • Plead not guilty and appear in court
Whatever your course of action, be sure to initiate one of these choices before your notice is due. Late action can result in higher fees or harsh legal penalties.

How to pay a speeding ticket in Connecticut

Paying the fine will be your most straightforward option—if you can afford, both financially and legally, to do so. 
You have two choices when opting to pay upfront: mail your fee or pay online with a credit card.
To mail your payment, create a check or money order made payable to the “Clerk of Superior Court” and write the ticket number on it. Include your ticket (or failure to respond notice) and check or money order in the envelope, then mail it to the following address.
Centralized Infractions Bureau, 
P.O. Box 5044, 
Hartford, CT 06102-5044. 
Ensure that the check will cover the total charges—paying only some charges, or attempting to set up a payment plan, will not be accepted. Once the payment is received, your ticket will be dismissed, and points will be added to your driving record.

How to fight a speeding ticket in Connecticut

To avoid paying the ticket, acquiring points on your license, or admitting guilt for a violation you did not commit, Connecticut residents can also fight the ticket. For this method, there are two options.

Online Ticket Review Program

Connecticut is one of the few states that offers residents an online ticket review option. If you elect to use this method, provide your ticket number and details about your case through the online portal—which a prosecutor will use to determine a verdict.
While this is certainly a straightforward option, it should be avoided if guilt is fairly obvious. The portal is primarily a tool for those wrongly accused or given a ticket too harsh for the offense.

Plead not guilty in court

You also have the option to plead not guilty and appear in court. If you choose to do so, you will be sent a Notice of Transfer in the mail—and it may take months until your appearance.
You may use evidence, witnesses, and lawyers to support your case when you appear in court. Your case may be dismissed if the officer who initially gave you the ticket cannot make the court date.

What happens if you don’t pay or fight your ticket?

If you refuse to take action on your ticket or cannot pay the fine by the assigned date, your case will be automatically transferred to court. Here, a judge will assess the situation and likely suspend your driver’s license. 
Your license can be reinstated, but only after you pay the original fees and a $60 reinstatement fee to the County Clerk of where the ticket was originally issued. You may also be required to pay an additional fee to the DMV.

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance? 

For those 40 or older, a speeding ticket will usually increase your rates by about 4% for Connecticut residents—but keep in mind, more significant increases will result from multiple infractions or the severity of your violation.
“My speeding ticket raised my insurance to $310/month. Jerry got me full comprehensive coverage on two vehicles for $144/month through Progressive. I definitely recommend giving them a try.” —Brandon D.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

If you refuse to fight or pay your ticket, a court will usually revoke your license. While this isn’t permanent, reinstatement can mean paying hefty fees.  
In Connecticut, accumulating ten or more points will result in the temporary suspension of license, and more severe violations can result in permanent consequences. Consider your options—and situation—carefully when deciding how to handle a ticket.
Whether or not you fight a speeding ticket is mainly dependent on the situation. If you think you have a good chance of getting the charges dropped—you should consider going through a court or online review program. But if a situation seems more cut and dry, you're usually better off paying the fine to avoid the hassle.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free