You can renew your Colorado driver’s license online, by mail, or in person depending on your eligibility. Every license renewal will require a $30.87 fee and you’ll get your new license by mail in less than 30 business days.
Nobody enjoys the arduous process of renewing their driver’s license, but it’s a necessary part of life for drivers. Don’t put it off too long—driving with an expired license can lead to fines or land you in jail!
If it’s time for you to renew your Colorado license and you don’t know where to start, look no further.
Car insurance comparison app
Jerry has the answer to any question you may have about renewing your license in the Centennial State and how to save on
Colorado insurance costs.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
When to renew your driver’s license in Colorado
Every driver’s license lists an expiration date on the front of the card. In Colorado, the date is listed to the right of your customer identification number and under your issued date.
Colorado drivers can renew their driver’s license any time before the expiration date listed. If your email address is on file, you’ll receive a
renewal reminder email 45 days before your license expires.
How to renew your driver’s license in Colorado
Depending on your eligibility, you might be able to renew your license online, by mail, or in person.
Renew your license online
You can renew your Colorado license online as long as you fit the following criteria:
You’re a resident of Colorado (US citizen, permanent resident, or undocumented resident).
You’re over 21 years old.
You have a regular adult license or commercial driver's license that is less than one year expired.
You haven’t changed your name from what’s listed on your current license.
Your Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number is on file in the DMV.
You have a good payment record with the department with no bad checks or outstanding balances.
Your photograph is less than 10 years old.
You don’t need to pass or retake any driving tests.
You’ll also need a valid email address and credit card number to pay the $30.87 renewal fee. When you’re ready, you can start the process on
Colorado’s DMV portal. When you renew online, the printed receipt and your expired license together will serve as your temporary license until your new one comes in.
Colorado drivers under 80 years old who renew online will need to prove they’ve passed an eye exam within a year of the renewal. Drivers over 80 will need a signed document from an eye doctor confirming the driver has passed an eye exam within the six months prior to renewal.
Renew your license by mail
The criteria for renewing your license by mail is the same as renewing online. You’ll need to fill out
the proper form, enclose a check or money order for the $30.87 fee, and mail it to the following address:
Division of Motor Vehicles
You’ll also have the option to register to vote and register as an organ donor. It’s important to follow the application directions exactly to avoid it being rejected.
Renew your license in person
If you don’t qualify to renew online or by mail, you’ll have to
schedule an appointment and visit the DMV in person. Here’s what you need to bring:
Your expiring or expired license
Social security number (or tax identification number)
Proof of your residential address
You can also expect to be required to pass a vision test, provide your signature, be fingerprinted, and have your photo taken.
If your license has been expired for more than one year, you’ll have to retake your written exam and driver’s test, then purchase a new driver’s license.
How long does it take to renew a Colorado driver’s license?
If you’ve renewed online or by mail, you can expect to get your permanent license within 10 to 14 business days, but it can take up to 30 business days.
If you haven’t received your new permanent license and it’s been more than 30 days, you can check your status online through the
DMV’s online portal.
How to save money on car insurance in Colorado
After you get your license squared away, it’s time to revisit your car insurance premiums—they could probably use some updating, too.
Colorado car insurance rates rank in the top eight of the most expensive US states, but that doesn't automatically mean you’ll be paying the big bucks for coverage. When you use the
Jerry app, you can be sure to find the cheapest possible insurance for your car.
licensed broker and comparison shopping expert, Jerry can search quotes from 50+ top companies in seconds, matching you with the most affordable policy with the tap of your thumb.
When you find your best option, Jerry’s team of agents will help you handle all the paperwork to switch policies—and they’ll even help you cancel your old policy! Jerry is the No. 1 rated insurance app for a reason—Jerry customers save an average of $887 per year on car insurance!
“I was so intimidated about purchasing insurance for my new car. Instead of talking to agency after agency, I found
Jerry, which did all the work for me. It was so user-friendly.” —Alice B.