Arkansas Reckless Driving

Good drivers deserve even better coverage. Let Jerry compare the best rates and coverage so you don't have to worry about car insurance ever again.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
Reckless driving in
Arkansas
is punishable by up to $500 in fines and/or up to 90 days in jail, and the penalties will increase if anyone was injured. Convictions for reckless driving will also result in eight points being added to your driving record.
Choosing to drive recklessly puts you and your fellow citizens at risk. Obeying the rules of the road creates a safer driving environment for everyone.
Many auto insurance providers give discounts to motorists with safe driving records.
Jerry
can help you find those
car insurance
deals, but the deals won’t be as good with a reckless driving conviction on your record. Continue reading to learn more about reckless driving laws and penalties in Arkansas.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How does Arkansas define reckless driving?

Reckless driving in Arkansas is a Class B misdemeanor and is defined as such: 
Any person who drives any vehicle in such a manner as to indicate a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.
To help you define what “wanton disregard” actually means, here are some specific examples of reckless driving behavior:
  • Driving 20 mph or more over the posted speed limit
  • Failure to complete stops at traffic lights and stop signs
  • Distracted driving (using cell phones or other electronic devices while driving)
  • Driving without regard to road conditions (weather, construction zones)
  • Failure to properly use turn signals
  • Evading police or refusing to pull over during an attempted traffic stop
  • Participating in any sort of racing, regardless of fault or cause
The basic rules of the road are designed to instill order and safety on the roads. Avoiding reckless behavior helps keep it that way.

What are the penalties for reckless driving in Arkansas?

Arkansas believes in justice for its citizens who are unfortunate victims of reckless drivers. The penalties associated with a reckless driving conviction in Arkansas depend on if you physically hurt anyone in the process
All Arkansas reckless driving offenses will be subject to the following penalties of jail time and/or fines as well as eight demerit points added to your driving record.

First conviction of reckless driving

Penalties for a first-time reckless driving offense that does not cause physical injuries include one or both of the following:
  • Jail time: 5 to 90 days
  • Fines: $25 to $500
Penalties for a first-time reckless driving offense that causes physical injuries include one or both of the following:
  • Jail time: 30 to 90 days
  • Fines: $100 to $1,000

Subsequent convictions of reckless driving

If you are convicted of reckless driving for a second or subsequent time within three years of the first offense, you will suffer increased penalties.
Penalties for a subsequent reckless driving conviction that does not cause physical injuries include one or both of the following:
  • Jail time: 30 days to 6 months
  • Fines: $500 to $1,000
Penalties for a subsequent reckless driving conviction that causes physical injuries include one or both of the following:
  • Jail time: 60 days to 1 year
  • Fines: $500 to $1,000

How long do points/convictions stay on my record?

In Arkansas, a reckless driving conviction will score you eight demerit points, which will be reflected on your driving record for the next three years. 
If you accumulate more than 14 points in 3 years, your license will be suspended for at least 3 months.
Key Takeaway Keeping a clean driving record is a lot easier than trying to clean up a dirty driving record.

Will reckless driving make my insurance go up?

A reckless driving conviction is certainly a red flag for insurance providers. The insurance provider typically counters their assumed risk with a rate hike.
On average, you’ll find that car insurance prices in Arkansas increase by about $555 after a reckless driving conviction. This is 38% higher than the normal rate of car insurance in Arkansas.

How to find affordable car insurance in Arkansas

Shopping for car insurance is difficult, but shopping for car insurance with a reckless driving offense on your record can be even more difficult.
Jerry
has got your back. No matter your driving record, Jerry will find you the most affordable quotes from over 50 insurance providers.
Have a question about your coverage? Jerry’s friendly agents are here to answer your questions and provide advice on the best coverage options. As your life changes, your insurance changes, and Jerry is ready to make those adjustments for you. 
“I have a really bad record, so all of my previous insurance quotes were pretty high. I started using
Jerry
and the fantastic app saved me $130 a month on my insurance.” —Jett A.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

FAQs

Yes. Reckless driving convictions in Arkansas can result in jail sentences. The length of the sentence depends on the severity of the offense and whether you caused physical harm to others as a result of driving recklessly.
Reckless driving convictions penalize motorists with jail time and/or fines. The minimum amount of jail time is 5 days and the minimum fine is $25.
Potentially. You will need to contact the court handling your case or the Office of Driver Services to see if you can take a defensive driving course in exchange for a reduction of points on your record.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free