Alabama Driving Record

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Your Alabama driving record keeps track of your history as a driver, including information about past accidents, violations, license points/suspensions, and completed driving courses. You can purchase a copy of your record by phone, mail, or in person at the DMV.
Practicing good driving habits doesn’t just keep you safe on the road, but it can save your wallet by lowering your car insurance rates. So it’s a good idea to stay up to date on your record and report any discrepancies if they arise.
The car experts at Jerry have broken down everything you need to know about driving records in Alabama—and they can help you find the best rates on car insurance based on your driving history.

What is a driving record?

Your driving record keeps track of your history as a driver from the moment you first get your license. Sometimes called a driver’s abstract, this record contains everything about your driving history—from tickets to accident history to personal information—and can be viewed in the public record.

How do I access my driving record in Alabama?

The most straightforward way of obtaining a record in Alabama is to complete a driver record request 3-year form—which can be done either by mail, in person, or by phone for $5.75. This is not an official driving record, but it provides details on the past 3 years of your driving history.
If you want the real record, you’ll need to request your driver abstract—an official copy of your driving history. To get this, you will have to visit the Driver’s License Reinstatement office in person with a valid photo ID and a reason for your request—which can be anything from employment purposes to court mandates. 
A full driver’s history report will set you back $15.00, and it can only be done at Driver's License Reinstatement offices in the following locations:
  • Montgomery
  • Birmingham
  • Jacksonville
  • Sheffield
  • Dothan
  • Mobile
  • Opelika
  • Huntsville
  • Foley
  • Tuscaloosa
You’re currently not able to request an Alabama driver's record or abstract online—so be wary of potential scams from third-party services.

Requesting a driving record for someone else

The US Driver’s Privacy Protection Act makes it difficult for third parties to obtain information—like driving records—about other drivers. 
In Alabama, the party making the request will need to pay a $5.75 fee and demonstrate valid reasoning—such as court cases, employee background checks, or a notification of a vehicle impoundment.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Where else can I find my driving record in Alabama?

Car insurance agents

An easy way to get an unofficial copy of your driving record is to request one from your insurance agent. Most insurance providers will check your record before they even give you a quote—which means they tend to have a copy of your record on hand.
Your insurance provider shouldn’t charge any extra fees for requesting this information.

What is on my record?

Your driver record contains information about you and your driving history. It tends to include the following:
  • Personal information (e.g., name, address)
  • Driver’s license information
  • Infraction points
  • Accidents, citations, violations, and convictions
  • Fines paid or owed
  • License suspensions
  • Completed driving courses
In Alabama, both minor and major infractions are on your license for the long haul—meaning points added to your license are permanent if you don’t try to have infractions dismissed (even if you take a driving class). 
Dismissals in Alabama are dealt with on a case-by-case basis, usually in local courts. 

DMV points in Alabama

Points will be added to your license when you commit a driving offense. Too many points will result in the suspension of your license—and for residents of the longleaf state, points are permanent.
In Alabama, the following violations will result in 2 points:
  • Speeding (1 to 25mph over speed limit)
  • Inability to control vehicle
  • Basic moving violations
  • Improper lane
  • Drinking alcohol while operating a vehicle
  • Improper operation of a motorcycle
  • Unsafe Operation
  • Making an improper turn
  • Coasting
  • Failure to signal turn correctly
  • Failure to obey emergency vehicles
The following violations will result in 3 points:
  • Following too closely
  • Disregarding traffic control devices (Stop signs, traffic lights, etc.)
  • Failure to obey construction maintenance zone markers, flagman, police officer, or restricted lanes
The following violations will result in 4 points or higher:
  • Wrong side of the road/illegal passing—4 points
  • Speeding (26 or more mph over the speed limit)—5 points
  • Failure to yield right of way—5 points
  • Passing stopped school bus—5 points
  • Reckless driving/endangerment involving a motor vehicle—6 points
  • Any conviction involving drinking alcohol while driving a motor vehicle that did not result in mandatory license revocation—6 points
Commercial drivers may experience additional penalties for acquiring points on a commercial driver’s license.
While points are immovable in Alabama, it is possible (albeit unlikely) to have a citation dismissed by attending an Alabama driving school. Here’s how:
  • Contact your local court and request permission to attend a driving course. Here are some factors that will be necessary:
    • Your ticket is a minor violation
    • You must possess a valid (non-commercial) Alabama License
  • Sign-up and successfully complete your driving course
  • Submit your certificate of completion to the court by the given deadline
  • Play the waiting game—processing your ticket dismissal should take a few weeks, but when it’s complete, you’ll likely be contacted by your insurance agency
Key Takeaway There are many ways to acquire points in Alabama, but not many ways to get rid of them. If you get caught up in a minor moving violation and don’t want to take the hit to your record, contact your local courts immediately and see if a driving course will help your case.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

How can my driving record affect me?

Whether you're driving on a squeaky-clean record or have a few hiccups, your driving record will have a huge impact on your life. So, it’s in your best interest to keep it as clear as possible.

Your insurance premium

Your driving record has a tremendous impact on the insurance rates for which you qualify. 
A clean record will help you secure the lowest possible rates and, in some cases, discounts. Possessing multiple violations could result in your insurance provider labeling you as a high-risk driver—which can spike your insurance premiums up to 300%.
Even minor offenses, like speeding tickets, can double your monthly premium.

Your ability to drive

There are two (nearly) sure-fire ways to get your license suspended in Alabama—reckless driving and driving while consuming alcohol. 
Because points in Alabama are permanent, a suspension is also likely to occur after collecting too many points over a range of infractions.

Your credit rating

Your driving record won’t directly affect your credit score—but failing to pay tickets will. If you fail to pay a ticket on time, your credit company will receive a notice and may even alert a collection agency.

Your job prospects

Many government and delivery employers are required to look at your driving record before making any hiring decisions. While not the ultimate decider—an inconsistent driving history won’t do you any favors.
Key Takeaway Your driving record is a way that businesses, credit companies, and possible employers will make judgments on you. So, make sure to keep it as clear as possible.

What is the difference between driving records in each state?

Your driving record and license are specific to the state in which you live—meaning that your license is unique to the state of Alabama and that you cannot possess multiple licenses.
This doesn’t mean that infractions in other states will go unnoticed.
The Driver’s License Compact (DLC) is an agreement to exchange information about traffic violations and license suspensions between states. Because of this agreement, committing a violation outside the state of Alabama will notify the DMV where you live and will result in a penalty that matches Alabama law or the other state’s equivalent.

Which states don’t share driving records?

There are only five states excluded from the DMV. They are as follows.
  • Georgia
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Tennessee
  • Wisconsin
Trouble in these states doesn't mean you’re off the hook—many will still share information with your home state in the case of an infraction.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free