Alabama Driver’s License Requirements

To get an Alabama driver’s license, you’ll need valid ID, to pay a test fee and license fee, and to pass written, vision, and road tests.
Written by Jason Tushinski
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
Updated on Jun 01, 2022
To get your driver’s license in
, you’ll need to be at least 16 years old. You must provide two pieces of valid ID with at least one photo ID or three pieces of non-photo ID, and provide two proofs of address. Before being issued a driver’s license, you’ll need to pass written, vision, and road skills tests.
Getting your driver’s license is an important part of becoming an adult, but the process varies by state. That’s why the
car insurance
broker and comparison shopping app
has put together this handy article with everything you need to know about getting a driver’s license in Alabama.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the requirements for a driver’s license in Alabama?

In order to get your driver’s license in Alabama, you need to be at least 16 to 18 years old and hold a restricted driver’s permit for 6 months before applying for your unrestricted license. If you’re older than 18, you can skip the restricted part of Alabama’s licensing process and apply for an unrestricted license after holding a learner’s permit for at least 6 months.
Before making an appointment at your local
Driver’s License office
, you’ll need to gather the following documentation:
  • Evidence of U.S. Citizenship (such as a birth certificate or passport)
  • Evidence of Alabama residency
  • Two forms of valid ID, with one being an approved photo ID (one from the Primary list below)
  • If you do not have photo ID, you must provide three pieces of non-photo ID, with at least one form of ID from the Primary list below
Forms of ID on the primary list:
  • Certified U.S. birth certificate
  • U.S. passport
  • Alabama ID Card
  • Certificate of Citizenship
  • Resident Alien Card
  • Valid Foreign Passport with US Immigration Documents
  • Social Security number
  • Vehicle registration and insurance information

What are the requirements for young drivers?

Alabama has a Graduated License Program, which most young drivers must pass through before earning their unrestricted driver’s license. There are three stages to this system:
Stage 1—Learner’s Permit (Class D License with Y restriction): 
  • Anyone aged 15 years or older
  • Must pass a written knowledge test and vision test
  • The written test features 30 questions on traffic rules, road signs, and Alabama traffic laws—at least 24 questions must be answered correctly
  • Can only drive with a driving instructor or licensed driver as a passenger who is over 21 years of age
Stage 2—Restricted License 
  • Can be issued to anyone 16 years or older who can safely operate a vehicle
  • Required to pass a road test
  • Restricted drivers can drive unsupervised, but some restrictions still apply, such as a limit on the number of passengers allowed in the car and the hours you are allowed to drive 
Stage 3—Unrestricted License
  • If you are between 16 and 18 years old and have held a learner’s permit for at least 6 months, you can apply for an unrestricted license
  • You’ll need to pass a road test if not already passed for Stage 2
  • Drivers over 18 can apply for an unrestricted license after holding a learner’s permit—they do not need to go through Stage 2
Key Takeaway If you are under 18, you’ll have to go through all three stages of the GDL program in Alabama. If you’re over 18, you can get your unrestricted license six months after getting your learner’s without having to go through the restricted license.

What are the requirements for out-of-state drivers?

If you move to Alabama with an out-of-state license, you can turn it in within 30 days of your move and be issued an Alabama license.
Out-of-state drivers do not have to transfer their driver’s license if:
  • They work for the U.S. Federal Government and drive a Government vehicle
  • Are a non-resident full-time student, registered and enrolled in school, university, college, or trade school while holding a valid license from their home state or country
  • Are a non-resident, 16 years or older, with a valid driver’s license issued by your home state or country, including military personnel stationed in Alabama

How to get a driver’s license in Alabama

Besides gathering all the required documents as listed above, you’ll need to schedule an appointment at an
Alabama Driver’s License office
and pass a written, vision, and road test. You’ll then need to pay a $5 license fee based on the type of license you receive after passing your road test.
The written test has 30 questions, and 24 must be answered correctly in order to pass. Test questions are based on the
Alabama Driver’s Manual
. The written test covers the following information:
  • Road safety rules
  • State laws
  • Traffic legislation
The road test will involve a skills test on public roads, for which you’ll be accompanied by a licensed state examiner. To pass, you must demonstrate knowledge of state laws and road safety habits. You must provide your own vehicle with proof of insurance under your name
For your road test, make sure your vehicle has the following:
  • Functioning horn, brakes, steering wheel, tires, rear-view mirrors, turn signals, and brake lights
  • Working seatbelts, headlights, and windshield wipers
  • Valid license plate(s)
  • Clear windows for visibility
  • Adequate fuel
On your road test, be prepared to execute the following:
  • A three-point turn
  • Parallel park
  • Observe the right of way
  • Approach an intersection
  • Parking on a hill
  • A quick stop from about 20 miles per hour
  • Reversing about 50 feet
  • Signaling and turning, and signaling and passing another vehicle
  • Staying your lane
The Alabama state examiner will be watching to make sure you follow traffic signals and ensure you make a full and complete stop at stop signs. They’ll also be watching how closely you follow other vehicles. 
If you pass your driving test, you’ll need to pay a fee of $36.25 to purchase your driver’s license. For a full list of all Alabama license fees, check out the
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency page.

How to save money on car insurance in Alabama

Once you’ve passed your driving test, you’ll need
car insurance
before hitting the road in Alabama.
is the best place to find personalized insurance policies at an affordable price, especially for young drivers!
Sign-up takes just 45 seconds, and then Jerry gets to work to find you the best policy at the best price. You won’t have to make any phone calls or fill out any paperwork to get your new policy in place—as a licensed broker, Jerry takes care of all the set-up details for you. Even better, Jerry will automatically search for better rates on your behalf before every renewal period.
Best of all? Jerry users save an average of $887 per year on car insurance!
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)


Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

You might also be interested

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free