Washington Car Seat Law
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What is it?
- Non compliance
- Driving record
- Insurance impact
- Cheap insurance
Washington car seat laws require that children over 4 years of age—and smaller than 4 feet 9 inches—must use an appropriate child restraint system. Children under 2 years old must be rear-facing, and children between 2 and 4 years old must use a car seat with a harness.
Breaking car seat laws could earn you fines and put young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to the car seat laws in Washington.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What is the car seat law in Washington?
Children smaller than 4 feet 9 inches must use a federally approved child restraint system in Washington.
Washington child car seat laws say that children younger than 2 years old must use a rear-facing car seat. State laws say that children between 2 and 4 years old should use a car seat with a harness, whether rear or front-facing.
Experts recommend that children use a booster seat in the back seat for as long as possible while following the manufacturer’s guidelines.
Key Takeaway Children smaller than 4 feet 9 inches need to ride in a federally approved child restraint system in Washington, and children under 2 must be rear-facing.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Washington?
It’s considered a primary infraction to break the car seat law in Washington. You will be charged a citation and a fine up to $112 for every child not wearing an appropriate restraint.
Note that all passengers must wear seat belts in Washington State.
Key Takeaway Breaking the car seat law in Washington will earn you a $112 fine.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
You will not get points added to your record if you break the Washington State car seat laws.
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Washington
A ticket for breaking the Washington child car seat laws will not result in any points on your driving record.
However, you must pay your fine immediately. If you don’t, it could negatively impact your credit score. In Washington, car insurance companies look at your credit score when calculating your premium.
So the lower your credit goes, the higher your car insurance payment could potentially be.
Tickets also appear on your driver abstract, which your insurance company may have access to. That means if you wrack up lots of tickets, it could potentially impact your insurance premiums (and not for the better).
Finding cheap car insurance
Jerry is a personal insurance broker that lives in your pocket. But don’t worry about buying tiny office furniture, Jerry is an app.
Once you download Jerry, just answer a handful of questions that will take you roughly 45 seconds to complete and you’ll immediately get car insurance quotes for coverage similar to your current plan.
Jerry customers save an average of $879 a year. Oh, and we should mention… Jerry is free.
“Jerry saved me $640 every six months—with my current insurer! This is the real deal.” - Satisfied Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually