Car seat laws in Vermont require children up to the age of eight to ride in a rear-facing car seat (up to 20 pounds), front-facing car seat (depending on their weight), or a booster seat.
What is the car seat law in Vermont?
Car seat laws in Vermont cover children up to the age of eight, after which
seat belt lawstake over. The car seat laws break down as follows:
- Children under the age of one and all children weighing less than 20 pounds, regardless of age, must be restrained in a rear-facing car seat.
- Children over the age of one and weighing more than 20 pounds, up until the age of eight, should be secured in an appropriate restraint system, whether a front-facing car seat or a booster seat, depending on their size.
- Children between the ages of eight and seventeen must wear a seatbelt.
Key Takeaway Vermont car seat laws require children under the age of eight to ride in a rear-facing car seat, a front-facing car seat, or a booster seat. The proper restraint system depends on the child’s weight.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Vermont?
Breaking a car seat law in Vermont will result in a fine that gets progressively more expensive with each subsequent offense.
The fine for a first offense is $25, the second is $50, and the third is $30. You will not incur any points on your license.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
No, you will not receive any points on your driving record if you break Vermont’s car seat laws.
In Vermont, car seat laws are considered primary laws when children are under the age of 18 months, which means that an officer can pull you over if they suspect the child is improperly secured.
The laws become secondary laws when the child is over 18 months old, which means an officer can only cite you for breaking them if they’ve pulled you over for committing another offense.
In either case, you will not receive any points on your license, but the citations will still show up on your driving record.
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Vermont
Having citations on your driving record is a warning sign to insurance companies that you are an
at-risk driverand might result in your car insurance rates going up.
You will not incur any demerit points on your license for breaking car seat laws in Vermont, but the citation will still show up. Having citations on your record can signal to your insurance carrier, or other potential carriers, that you may be a high-risk driver. The more citations you have, the higher your risk.
Insurance companies charge high-risk drivers more for their coverage. Some insurance companies may even refuse to insure them. So, keeping a clean record where possible can help keep your car insurance rates down (and your vehicle insured).
Key Takeaway Citations can result in more expensive insurance rates or loss of coverage.
Finding cheap car insurance
No matter your risk level, finding cheap car insurance is now easier than ever, thanks to
Jerry’s job is to find quality, low-cost insurance for any driver, no matter what their record looks like. Jerry is a
trustworthy licensed broker appthat deals with all the hassles of shopping for insurance and finalizing plans so that all you have to do is relax. Let Jerry take all the hard work out of finding auto insurance, at no cost to you.
"Amazing service & great savings! I was a little skeptical at first, as the deals and savings looked too good to be true. However, I was quickly proven wrong. I saved over $500 just by switching and got much better coverage. I will definitely be recommendingJerryto everyone who is looking to get cheaper insurance."ーSatisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually