All drivers have a driving record that keeps track of their driving history—including any accidents, moving violations, or traffic tickets. In Texas, you can request a copy of your driving record online or by mail from the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).
From the time you get your learner’s permit, you have a public driver record on file. Not only can a few minor traffic tickets (or one major violation like reckless driving or a DUI) add points to your Texas driver's record, but your insurance rates may also skyrocket. That’s why it’s so important to maintain a
clean driving record.
What is a driving record?
A driving record—also known as a motor vehicle report—is a collection of your entire driving history from the moment you receive your first driver’s license.
A driver record includes all information about your car accidents, moving violations, license suspensions, defensive driving courses, and so much more. Texas driving records are broken into six categories, as we will explain below, each with a different purpose and unique information about your driving history.
How to request a Texas driving record
Whether you’re trying to score a new job as a driver or sign up for a new insurance policy, there are many reasons why you might need to request your driver's record. In the state of Texas, you can order your Texas driver record online or by mail.
The easiest way to access your certified driving record in Texas is to request a copy online through the
Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). After you apply, you will immediately receive your driver record online as a PDF to print at the end of your order. Or you may also request to receive your driver record through email instead.
Before you apply online, make sure you have your driver’s license number, audit number, and Social Security number on hand. You’ll also have to pay a driver record fee between $4 and $20—depending on the type of driving record you request.
If you prefer to receive your Texas driver record through the mail, you will need to complete a
Driver Record Request formand send it to Texas DPS. Here’s the address you will send it to: Texas Department of Public Safety, Box 149008, Austin, Texas 78714-9008.
Along with your request form, you’ll also need to include a check or money order that’s payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety. It should take about three weeks to receive your Texas driver record by mail.
Texas car insurance laws
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What’s on a Texas driving record?
Once you get your Texas driver’s license, Texas DPS will start to record your driving history including all traffic violations, speeding tickets, license suspensions, and more. And like many states, Texas uses a point system to attach demerit points to your driver record if you have committed any driving infractions—no matter how minor the offense.
Generally, moving violations lead to two points on your record. But moving violations that result in a collision will add at least three points to your Texas driving record. If you collect enough demerit points, you could run the risk of
license suspension in Texas—either eight points within four months or 14 points within 24 months.
Additionally, your Texas driver’s license will automatically be suspended if you have caused a car accident:
- While driving without auto insurance
- Under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol
- That resulted in a fatality due to reckless driving
Texas reckless driving
Types of driving records
In the state of Texas, there are six types of driving records available for Texas drivers. And each Texas driving record includes the following noted information:
Status record (Type 1) - $4.00
- Date of birth (DOB)
- License status
- Latest home address
- Your original Texas driver’s license application date
Three-year history (Type 2) - $6.00
- Type 1 information
- List of crashes from the previous three years (if tickets were received)
- All moving violations from the previous three years
Certified three-year history (Type 2A) - $10.00
- A certified version of the Type 2 record
List of all crashes and violations (Type 3) - $7.00
- Type 1 information
- List of all crashes (even if a ticket was not received)
- List of all moving violations and nonmoving violations
Certified list of crashes and violations (Type 3A) - $10.00
- A certified version of Type 3 record
Certified abstract of complete driving record (Type AR) - $20.00
- Type 3 information
- All suspensions on record
Please note that Type 2A, Type 3, and Type 3A driving records cannot be used for a defensive driving course (DDC). Additionally, Type 3 and Type 3A will only be provided to the individual to whom the driver record belongs.
How to find cheap car insurance (even with a bad driving record)
Here’s how it works: just download the app and sign-up within 45 seconds to unlock several customized quotes from over 55 top insurance companies in the nation. Once you find a new policy that works for your budget, Jerry’s team of skilled agents will quickly get to work finalizing all the paperwork and necessary phone calls. Heck, we’ll even help you cancel your old policy!
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
How much does it cost to get a Texas driving record?
It depends on which Texas driving record your request. A status record (type 1) costs $4 on the lower end while a certified abstract of complete driving record (Type AR) costs $20 on the higher end.
Can you remove points from your driving record in Texas?
While moving violations will still appear on your Texas driver record, you might be able to remove points from your record by taking a Texas
defensive driving course. However, you cannot have major traffic violations dismissed from your driver's record.