Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- No-fault state
- Uninsured motorist
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Additional coverage
- CARCO inspection
- Cheap insurance
Massachusetts is a no-fault state that requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of car insurance.
The liability insurance minimums for Massachusetts are summarized as 20/40/5 (meaning, $20,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $40,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $5000 of property liability per accident).
Drivers must also carry a minimum limit of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage and $8000 per person in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
The car insurance shopping app Jerry has compiled all the information you need to know about Massachusetts car insurance laws and what it means to live in a no-fault state.
If you want to save money on car insurance, the Jerry app is always a good place to start.
A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance. Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you.
Read on to learn more about minimum car insurance laws in Massachusetts.
What insurance do I need in Massachusetts?
All drivers in Massachusetts need to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage, uninsured motorist insurance, and personal injury protection insurance.
Massachusetts is a no-fault state where drivers must be able to show their proof of insurance at the request of law enforcement when behind the wheel.
If you lease or loan, you often need to purchase full coverage options like comprehensive insurance and collision insurance as well. You will not need to prove optional coverage to the state, but you could compromise your loan status if you fail to comply.
Here is a summary of the minimum insurance requirements for Massachusetts.
Required Massachusetts minimum car insurance
|Type of coverage||Minimum insurance limit|
|Minimum liability coverage||20/40/5|
|Bodily injury per accident||$20,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$40,000|
|Property damage per accident||$5000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage|
|Bodily injury per person||$20,000|
|Bodily injury per accident||$40,000|
|Personal injury protection (PIP)||$8000|
Massachusetts is a no-fault state
Massachusetts is a no-fault state where an insurance company pays for the injuries of their insuree, regardless of who was at fault.
This means that drivers must carry medical protection insurance. This lowers the chances of drivers having to deal with the court system after an accident. No-fault insurance systems also help prevent delays in medical treatment that can happen while waiting for another driver’s insurance payout.
What is personal injury protection (PIP) insurance?
Personal injury protection (PIP) is a type of insurance that is required in all no-fault states, including Massachusetts. Massachusetts drivers are required to carry a minimum limit of $8000 in PIP coverage.
PIP insurance will help cover the medical costs for you and your passengers, regardless of who was at fault. PIP insurance goes beyond medical payment coverage to help cover the cost of rehabilitation, lost wages, or funeral expenses as well.
What is uninsured motorist insurance?
Uninsured motorist insurance will help cover the cost of your bodily injuries if you get an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance. Massachusetts insurance laws require all drivers to carry a minimum limit of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident of uninsured motorist protection.
Liability insurance in MA
Liability car insurance helps protect drivers from lawsuits if they cause an accident. Liability insurance will only cover the cost of damages for the other party. You will have to purchase additional insurance to help cover your expenses.
There are two main types of liability insurance: bodily injury liability and property damage liability. Massachusetts requires drivers to carry minimum insurance limits for both.
Key Takeaway Massachusetts is a no-fault state, but drivers still have to carry bodily injury and property damage liability coverage.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts drivers need to carry liability insurance limits set at 20/40/5 and uninsured motorist and personal injury protection coverage.
Drivers in Massachusetts need to carry a total of six different types of insurance. Here is a detailed breakdown of the minimum insurance requirements in Massachusetts and what they cover.
$20,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your insurance company will pay up to $20,000 per person to help cover the cost of injuries resulting from an at-fault accident.
$40,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $40,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of injuries in an at-fault accident.
$5000 in property damage liability per accident: Your insurance company will pay up to $5000 to cover the cost of property damage for other parties in an at-fault accident.
$20,000 of uninsured motorist coverage per person: You could receive up to $20,000 per person to cover the costs of injuries if the other driver doesn’t have insurance.
$40,000 of uninsured motorist coverage per accident: $40,000 is the maximum uninsured motorist payout you will receive for a single accident.
$8000 of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage per person: $8000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of injuries regardless of who was at fault in an accident.
Should I get more coverage than Massachusetts’ required insurance minimum?
Massachusetts drivers have better minimum coverage limits than most states—but it’s always a good idea to upgrade. While drivers have to carry a wide variety of coverages in Massachusetts, the minimum insurance limits tend to be low.
For instance, if you cause an accident where multiple people in your car are injured, the PIP limit of $8000 is likely to fall short when it comes to medical expenses.
Likewise, the property damage liability limit of $5000 is well below the average cost of a new vehicle. You will also have to purchase additional insurance like comprehensive insurance and collision insurance to help cover damage to your car if you are at fault.
Thankfully, an intelligent AI-based tool like Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Massachusetts?
Massachusetts drivers who are caught without proof of insurance will face the following penalties.
Penalties for not having car insurance in Massachusetts
- Fines from $500 to $5000
- Possible jail time (up to a year)
- Possible license suspension (up to 60 days)
- Pay an amount equal to the highest market price for a one-year insurance premium
Key Takeaway Drivers caught without car insurance in Massachusetts may face steep penalties like fines, license suspensions, or jail time.
Additional coverage options
Massachusetts drivers have plenty of car insurance options to choose from to make their car insurance coverage more robust.
Rental car reimbursement insurance
Rental reimbursement insurance will help cover the cost of a rental car or alternate transportation while your vehicle is being repaired after a claim.
Collision insurance will help cover the costs of damage to your car following a rollover or collision situation.
Comprehensive insurance helps cover you for damage to your car that isn’t a result of driving, like theft, floods, or storms.
Underinsured motorist insurance
Underinsured motorist insurance helps cover your costs if you get in an accident with a driver who has insurance, but not enough to cover the damages.
Roadside assistance coverage is a common policy rider that gives you access to emergency roadside services, like tows and tire changes.
Medical payments insurance
Medical payment coverage will help cover medical costs for you and your passengers and is a good supplement to minimum PIP coverage.
If you end up totaling a car that still has a lease or loan, gap insurance will help make up the difference between your payout and any additional money you owe on your loan. MORE: Why is car insurance required in most states but not emergency gear like spare tires?
Do I need a CARCO inspection?
If you want to purchase certain insurance options like comprehensive or collision insurance in Massachusetts, you will have to get a CARCO inspection first.
A CARCO inspection is a state-mandated inspection that helps verify your car’s details—and it is quick and easy to arrange.
Do I have to pay?
No. There is no fee for CARCO inspections.
Where do I go for the inspection?
Visit CARCO to find a site near you and book an appointment.
What do I need to bring?
You only need to know the name of your insurance company. Supporting documentation, like proof of insurance, is not required, but is always helpful.
How to get cheap car insurance in Massachusetts
If you want cheap car insurance quotes in Massachusetts, Jerry has you covered. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you.
Not surprisingly, this Jerry user was thrilled with their five-star experience.
“Jerry deserves more than five stars—this is the new benchmark in app usefulness! It is SO EASY, and the results are SO GOOD. I am personally saving around $1,400/year with my new insurance, and the entire process took less than an hour. If you make over $1,400/hour, this may not be worth your time. Otherwise, get the app and use it now!”—Satisfied Jerry user
Can you drive a car without insurance in Massachusetts?
No. Massachusetts requires all drivers using public roads to carry proof of insurance or financial responsibility.
Is Massachusetts a no-fault insurance state?
Yes. Massachusetts is one of 15 no-fault insurance states.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually