Car Seat Laws in Kentucky

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Car seat laws in Kentucky focus more on height and weight rather than the age of a child. So make sure to keep a close eye on your child’s size, and learn how to keep them protected while adhering to Kentucky’s car seat laws.
Kentucky car seat laws are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident. That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Kentucky’s car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Kentucky?

If your child is under the age of 12, they are legally required to sit in the back seat of your car if it is available. This is to mitigate any potential injuries they could sustain from your car’s airbag system, which is dangerous to children.
Children under the age of four (or under 40 pounds) must ride in a five-point harness car seat. These seats can be convertible, rear-facing, or front-facing, depending on the age of the child.
Newborns to children who are at least one year old and weigh fewer than 20 pounds are required to be secured in rear-facing restraint systems.
Children older than one year of age who weigh more than 20 pounds are legally allowed to sit in forward-facing car seats, although it’s generally advised that they remain rear-facing until they outgrow the seat.
Once your child is over the age of four (or 40 pounds), they are allowed to use seatbelts in conjunction with a booster seat until they turn eight (or reach 57 inches). After this point, they must continue to use seatbelts, but they will no longer require a booster seat.
Key Takeaway Children are legally required in Kentucky to sit in a car’s back seat until they are 12 years old.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Kentucky?

The first offense for improper restraint for children under 40 inches tall will result in a $50 fine.
The first offense for booster seat violation will result in a $30 fine. If this violation is a result of not using a booster seat for a child within the age and size requirements, this fee may be waived if the driver buys a booster seat instead.
The first offense for improper seat belt usage will result in a $25 fine.
None of these violations will incur points on your driving record.
Key Takeaway Violating Kentucky car seat laws will earn you a fine, but it won’t incur points on your driving record.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

No, breaking the car seat law in Kentucky will not impact your driving record.
In the state of Kentucky, driving with an unsecured or improperly secured child is not considered a moving violation. However, if you’re pulled over for a moving violation, i.e., speeding or texting, noncompliance with these car seat laws will be considered a secondary offense.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Kentucky

Because breaking car seat laws is not considered a moveable offense, nor does it incur any points on your driving record, your insurance may not be affected.
That being said, the citation will likely show up on your driving record, even if it doesn’t incur any points, and having multiple citations on your record will signal to your insurance carrier that you are a high-risk driver and your premiums may go up as a result.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance

Proper restraints are key to protecting your child in the car, and the right insurance policy is key to protecting your car. Finding cheap car insurance used to be a chore, but Jerry makes it easy!
Jerry is a licensed brokerage app that just takes a few details and shops around for the best policies at great rates. All you have to do is tap, and Jerry does all the rest.
“Really easy service. Within a few minutes, they pulled up 2 different Insurance policies that showed at least a $900 savings for a 6-month term!! Thanks, Jerry!” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free