Hawaii DUI Laws

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Hawaii DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08%. There are lower thresholds for those who are operating a commercial vehicle. The offense is sometimes called an OVUII (“operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant”).
In the United States, over 10,000 people are killed as a result of drunk driving crashes each year.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your car insurance rates, too.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about DUI laws in Hawaii.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI?

A DUI means driving under the influence, while a DWI is considered driving while intoxicated or impaired. It is left to the discretion of each state to determine the difference between the two.
A DUI charge could mean that the driver was driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs—even if the drugs weren’t illicit. A driver could be charged with a DUI while on prescription or over-the-counter drugs if the drugs cause impairment.

DUI in Hawaii

Hawaii criminalizes driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs and alcohol. This includes driving:
  • With a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater (0.04% or more if the driver is operating a commercial vehicle)
  • While the driver’s ability to operate a vehicle in a careful and prudent manner is impaired by drugs or other intoxicants
  • While the driver’s mental faculties are diminished to some material degree because of consuming alcohol
A DUI involving a BAC of 0.08% or more is considered a per se DUI. For a per se DUI, impairment is presumed and does not have to be proven.
Hawaii drivers who are under the age of 21 are prohibited from having any measurable amount of bodily alcohol.
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
In most states, this means that those lawfully arrested for a DUI are considered to have tacitly given their consent to a blood, breath, or urine alcohol or drug test. A driver who is arrested for a DUI but refuses to submit to a lawful request for a chemical test will be subject to license suspension.

Penalties for DUI in Hawaii

Penalties for DUIs in Hawaii range based on the number of prior DUI convictions the offender has received within the last five years. The penalties for a DUI in Hawaii are as follows:

First offense

PenaltyDescription
Fine$150 to $1,000
Jail48 hours to 5 days
License suspensionOne year
Vehicle impoundmentYes
SR-22 requirementNo
Community serviceUp to 72 hours

Second conviction

PenaltyDescription
Fine$1,000 to $3,000
JailFive to 30 days
License suspension18 months to 3-year suspension
Vehicle impoundmentYes
SR-22 requirementNo
Community serviceUp to 240 hours
A DUI involving a passenger under the age of 15 adds 48 hours of jail time and an extra $500 fine.
If someone has at least two prior DUIs in the last ten years and commits another offense, it is considered a habitual violation, which is a class C felony.
The offender will face five years in prison, or five years of probation—which includes a 3-to-5 year license revocation, $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, at least ten days in jail, and the completion of substance abuse counseling.
Drivers under 21 convicted of a DUI face similar penalties as those over 21, though the community service requirements and license suspension duration may be lower.

Ignition interlock device permits

Drivers convicted of a DUI can apply for an ignition interlock device (IID) permit. All states have some type of ignition interlock program in which judges require all or some convicted drunk drivers to install interlocks in their cars to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
The IID permit authorizes the holder to drive throughout the license revocation period, but only in a vehicle with a certified IID. This permit is not available for offenders 18 years old or younger.
Key Takeaway Minimum penalties for DUIs increase for each subsequent offense. DUI laws in Hawaii also dictate harsher penalties for motorists with a passenger, especially if the passenger is a child.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Hawaii?

Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously. You will be classified as a high-risk driver.
It can be difficult to secure insurance with a DUI on your record, so you’ll probably need to look at a number of providers.
Jerry can quickly compare rates from up to 50 top insurers so that you don’t have to spend time completing online forms and dealing with long sales calls.
Expect your rates to rise substantially after receiving a DUI. Your insurance company will also need to file an SR-22 in Hawaii on your behalf to confirm that you hold the state-mandated minimum insurance.

Other effects of a DUI

Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, your life can be severely impacted by a DUI.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked—especially if you have multiple DUIs or other offenses.
Ignition interlock device: Some type of ignition interlock program is common in all states. These programs require drivers who are convicted of a DUI to install an interlock device in their vehicle to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
Background checks: DUIs appear on background checks, which could adversely impact future employment opportunities.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

If you need help finding affordable insurance after a DUI conviction, Jerry can help.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
To ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal. This level of service earned Jerry a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
“I saw an ad for Jerry on Instagram and decided to give it a try. I have a terrible driving record, but Nathan still helped me. Before, almost no one wanted to insure me. Now, I have a great policy and save $200/month. I’m one happy gal!” —Terri C.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free