Connecticut DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. This threshold is lowered to 0.04% for commercial drivers and again to 0.02% for drivers under 21.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your
Connecticut car insurancecosts, too.
Here's everything you need to know about DUI laws in Connecticut.
What is a DUI?
DUIis considered driving under the influence while a DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired. Each state defines the difference between the two in different ways.
A DUI could mean that the driver was driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination. This does not mean specifically illegal substances and can include marijuana, prescription drugs, and over-the-counter medicines. If taking these drugs impairs you in any way while driving, you may be charged with a DUI.
DUI in Connecticut
In Connecticut, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of:
- 0.08% or higher if you’re 21 or older
- 0.02% if you’re under the age of 21
- 0.04% or higher if you’re in any vehicle with a commercial driver’s license
Implied consent law
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you’re lawfully arrested for a DUI, you must submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. Connecticut drivers who refuse to do so are subject to longer
license suspensionsand even license revocation. You do not have a right to consult with a lawyer before completing the test.
Penalties for DUI in Connecticut
Penalties for DUIs are stiff in Connecticut and the conviction will remain on your driving record for 10 years.
$500 to $1,000
2 days to 6 months
Ignition Interlock Device Required
A first-time offender charged with a DUI may apply to the court to attend a Pretrial Alcohol Education Program. The offender must confirm under oath that they have not been in the program in the past ten years. The court will dismiss the DUI charges if the driver successfully finishes the program.
If you are convicted of a DUI again, you’ll be subject to increased penalties. This includes larger fines, longer imprisonment and license suspension, and use of an ignition interlock device once your license is reinstated.
All offenders must complete a DMV-approved substance abuse treatment program before their full driver’s license will be restored. They also may be required to participate in a victim impact panel program as part of their sentence.
Key Takeaway Minimum penalties are increased for all subsequent convictions.
Does a DUI impact car insurance in Connecticut?
Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously, and you’ll be classified as a
Shopping for car insurance is tedious at the best of times, but with a DUI on your
driving record,it can be even harder. Carriers will either raise your rates by a substantial margin, or they may refuse to insure you at all. Your insurance company will also need to file an
SR-22on your behalf to confirm that you hold the state-mandated minimum insurance.
Jerrycan help simplify the process, by providing you with quotes from up to 50 providers, and taking care of all paperwork and changeover for you.
Other effects of a DUI
Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, DUIs can have some other lasting impacts on your life.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked if you’re charged with other serious offenses.
Ignition interlock device: All states have some type of ignition interlock program, which requires drivers convicted of a DUI to install an interlock device in their vehicle to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
Background checks: Your DUI will show up on a background check, even after it’s been removed from your driving record, which can cause issues for future employment endeavors.
How to find cheap insurance after a DUI
car insuranceand finding affordable coverage can be difficult after a DUI if you’re doing it on your own. Luckily,
Jerrycan help. All it takes is a few minutes to input your general information into the
trustworthy super app, and Jerry will take over. In no time at all, you’ll be comparing quotes from up to 50 top providers, to find great coverage at a price you can afford.
Jerry will even send you new quotes when your policy is up for renewal so you’ll always have the opportunity to save money—without sacrificing the coverage you need.
"This app is all about savings!Jerryjust saved me $193/month on my car insurance. They literally found me the cheapest policies out there and with better coverage! Seriously, just sit back and watch Jerry work its magic." —Rachel B.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually