Do You Need Motorcycle Insurance in Texas?

Insurance requirements for motorcyclists in Texas are the same as those for car drivers—but what happens if you’re in an accident without the proper coverage?
Written by Sarah Gray
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
requires auto insurance coverage for all drivers to legally operate any motor vehicle. This means you’re required to purchase
motorcycle insurance
if you plan to ride, just like you’re required to purchase
car insurance
to drive.
  • Texas requires minimum
    liability coverage
    for all motor vehicles, including motorcycles.
  • Minimum requirements for insurance are the same for motorcycles as for passenger vehicles in Texas but additional coverage is strongly recommended.
  • Penalties for riding a motorcycle without insurance in Texas are the same as those for driving a passenger vehicle without insurance.

Do you need motorcycle insurance coverage in Texas?

Yes. All Texas drivers—including those on motorcycles—are required to carry at least minimum amounts of liability insurance to prove financial responsibility for accidents in the Lone Star State.
The requirements are the same as
Texas car insurance
minimums and break down as follows:

Optional motorcycle insurance coverage in Texas

To make sure you’re fully protected, it’s a good idea to increase your liability coverage limits to 100/300/100. You may also consider adding the following:

Other motorcycle requirements in Texas

Apart from the required motorcycle insurance, drivers must have the following:
  • Proof of insurance
    : Carry this at all times as you’ll be asked for it if pulled over by law enforcement or in an accident
  • Vehicle registration
    : You must show your registration when you pick up your motorcycle license plate
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What happens if you’re in a motorcycle accident without insurance?

Here are the penalties you could face if you’re caught driving your motorcycle without insurance in Texas:
  • Fines ranging from $175 to $350 for a first-time offense
  • Fines up to $1,000 for subsequent offenses
  • Potential
    Texas driver’s license
    suspension for up to two years
  • Proof of insurance to the state in the form of an
    to get your license reinstated
  • Seizure and impoundment of your motorcycle and any other vehicle registered in your name for at least 180 days
All of these repercussions may leave you feeling like you’d be better off fleeing the scene if you’re involved in an accident without the proper coverage in Texas—but you’d be wrong.
hit-and-run in Texas
takes all the consequences listed above and adds a criminal charge to them.

Where to buy motorcycle insurance in Texas

Most major insurance providers offer policies that cover motorcycles in Texas. If you’re looking for the ones that offer the best coverage with the lowest premiums, here are some of our top picks:
saved me so much time and money! I went from $230 to $150, still with full coverage! The whole process was amazingly simple!” —Ronda S.


You can only drive a motorcycle in Texas with a Class C car driver’s license if it includes a motorcycle endorsement.
Insurance is a highly personalized product so pricing will vary from one rider to the next. That said, recent studies indicate an average cost of about $631 per year for basic liability coverage that meets state minimums.
How much you pay will depend on several factors, including your personal driving record, the type of motorcycle you ride, and the
types of insurance
you choose to include in your policy.
Compare car insurance quotes
Get free quotes from top companies.
Find Savings
4.7/5 App Rating · Trusted by 2M users

You might also be interested

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free