Depending on your circumstances, you might need a driver's education course, SR-22 certificate, or overdue fine receipt before you can reinstate your Connecticut driver’s license. Not eligible just yet? You may be able to get a special permit that allows you to drive to work, school, or medical treatments in the meantime.
Loss of driving privileges can impact your daily life quite a bit, with mundane activities like going to work or dropping your kids off at school suddenly becoming much more cumbersome. If you’ve been patient and the end of your license suspension or revocation is in sight, you could be weeks away from having your old life back—but first, among other things, you need to make sure you’ve got the right
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
Why you might need a license reinstatement in Connecticut
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehiclescould have suspended or revoked your license for any length of time, from 48 hours for teen offenders to lifetime bans for serious repeat convictions. Regardless, your suspension or revocation period must expire before you begin reinstating your license.
Usually, you’ll receive a notice of suspension in the mail if you can no longer drive. But if you’re not sure whether or not your license is valid, suspended, or revoked, you can
check its status online.
How to get a license reinstatement in Connecticut
You cannot drive without a valid Connecticut driver’s license in your possession. Thankfully, the process for reinstatement is rather easy: two weeks before your suspension or revocation period expires, submit your paperwork—including your name, date of birth, and current mailing address—and a $175 restoration fee to the DMV.
You can either
pay online, by phone at 860-263-5720, or with a check or money order mailed to:
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Services Division 60 State St Wethersfield, CT 06161-1013
It’ll take 10 business days from the date the DMV receives your submission for your restoration notice to be mailed to you. In most ordinary cases of suspension, such as
driving without a license, failing a child safety class, or underage possession of drugs or alcohol, these are the only requirements.
However, if your license was suspended for other reasons, you’ll have to meet additional requirements like the ones detailed below. If you have any questions along the way, get in touch with the DMV at 860-263-5720 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Ignition interlock device program
Connecticut places extra restrictions on reinstating licenses that were suspended due to a serious offense. This could include driving under the influence, failing or refusing a blood alcohol test, or causing an incident that resulted in injury or death. Usually, you’ll be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.
Make an appointment with a
state-approved IID vendorto have a device installed. Once you do, the vendor will notify the DMV. Barring any other restrictions, you should be able to follow the general reinstatement process to get your license back—with a new IID requirement on it.
If your license was suspended because you were uninsured or underinsured, you’ll have to fix it before you can follow the reinstatement process. Purchase an acceptable insurance policy, then obtain an SR-22 certificate from your insurance company and submit it to the DMV.
Operator Retraining Program
Multiple traffic violations and offenses related to speeding or underage drivers will require enrollment in an
Operator Retraining Program. It’ll cost up to $85 and the DMV will receive proof you’ve completed the course. Afterward, follow the general guidelines in order to reinstate your license.
Unpaid tickets and fines
Whether you incurred a fine in Connecticut or another state, the DMV could suspend your license if you don’t resolve the ticket before the deadline. If you already missed the date, resolve your fees with the applicable courts, then follow the general license reinstatement guidelines.
Key Takeaway Get your Connecticut driving license reinstated by submitting your papers and payment to the DMV, in addition to meeting any special requirements.
DUI laws Connecticut
How to get a hardship license in Connecticut
If you have work, school, or medical appointments while your license is suspended, you might qualify for relief. With a Special Operator’s Permit, you can drive where you need to as long as you follow the restrictions.
To apply, follow these steps:
- Ensure you qualify by reading through the stipulations onSpecial Operator Permits, then submit the necessary documents to prove your work, school, or medical obligations.
- Pay a $100 application fee, either by including a check or money order payable to the DMV in the mail orby paying online.
Who can apply for a hardship license?
There are a few restrictions on hardship licenses in Connecticut. Before you apply, make sure you meet the criteria below:
- Your license has not been suspended for failing to appear in court, neglecting to pay a citation, ordriving with a suspended license
- You do not have a prior driving conviction related to alcohol, death, or injury
- You haven’t committed three or more driving violations
- Your license was not suspended on medical grounds
What is an SR-22 certificate?
An SR-22 insurance form, like
proof-of-insurancedocuments, demonstrates that you’ve met the minimum requirements for financial responsibility. In Connecticut, this means a car insurance policy with at least $25,000 of
property damage liability, $25,000
bodily injury liabilityper person, and $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident.
Once you have the appropriate insurance and required certificate, submit it to the DMV to avoid heavy fines. You’ll also need to keep the SR-22, in addition to your other proof-of-insurance documents, in your car at all times.
How to save money on car insurance in Connecticut
Where you live, how old you are, the car you drive, and where you park can all affect your insurance rates. And that’s before you add your driving history into the mix. You might find that misdemeanors or DUIs cause some companies to refuse to insure you, but trust that you can still
get car insurance with a bad driving record.
The best part? The average Jerry user saves $887 a year on car insurance! And if you ever have any questions, friendly agents are just a text away.
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me toJerryand their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍