Cheapest Insurance in Arkansas 2021

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Minimum coverage
  • Additional coverage
  • Minimum coverage carriers
  • Full coverage
  • Full coverage carriers
  • Cost by age
  • Poor driving record insurance
  • Carriers for poor driving record
  • Young drivers poor driving record insurance
  • Young drivers carriers for poor driving record
  • Discounts
  • Cost by car make
  • Cost by city
  • Lower costs
  • Methodology
In Arkansas, 83% of drivers commute alone to work on weekdays. On a weekend, the roads can be full of road trippers eager to experience all of Arkansas’s natural wonders.
For 24/7 protection, you need car insurance that will keep you safe—whether you’re heading to the office or the hot springs.
The best way to get cheap car insurance is to compare quotes and carriers. Each insurer uses its own formula to determine premiums, weighing factors such as location, age, gender, driving history, and vehicle type. This means that car insurance rates can vary substantially from one insurance company to another, even within the same state.
Jerry offers a quick and convenient way to compare quotes and switch plans. Want to give it a try? Enter your ZIP code to get cheap car insurance quotes from the best insurance companies in Arkansas. If you want to learn more about Arkansas’s car insurance rates, then read on.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
Here’s how much real Jerry customers saved in Arkansas when they compared and switched.
Quote DateMake/modelcityAgeCarrierCoverage Type
Before Jerry
After Jerry
May 14, 2021Chevrolet Impala LSFort Smith33DairylandBasic$117/mo.$91/mo.
April 18, 2021Nissan Altima 2.5Fort Smith38NationwideCustom$140/mo.$115/mo.
June 8, 2021Nissan Maxima SFort Smith35ProgressiveCurrent$188/mo.$125/mo.
June 29, 2021Ford Fusion TitaniumFort Smith52AllstateCurrent$248/mo.$210/mo.

Cheapest minimum coverage car insurance in Arkansas

Each state has different requirements when it comes to the minimum coverage that drivers must have. In Arkansas, people are required to have the following minimum coverages:
  • $[25,000] bodily injury liability per person
  • $[50,000] bodily injury liability per accident
  • $[25,000] property damage liability per accident
You’ll be offered uninsured motorist protection by law, but you don’t have to accept it.
Failing to meet the required minimums while driving in Arkansas is illegal. If you get caught, you could be subject to license suspension, fines, and vehicle impoundment.
Remember, the minimum insurance coverage is a requirement, not a recommendation. In some cases, minimum liability car insurance won’t cover all your expenses in the event of an accident. If you can afford to pay for more coverage, it’s generally a good idea to purchase a more comprehensive policy.
Here’s how much Jerry users pay for minimum liability car insurance in Arkansas:
Before Jerry
After Jerry
$2,252$1,352
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)

Additional coverages you might want to consider when shopping for car insurance in Arkansas

Risk FactorCoverage to consider
TornadoesComprehensive insurance covers damage to your car that is the result of severe weather, such as a tornado.
Uninsured driversIf you get into an accident with an uninsured driver, uninsured motorist protection can help with your expenses.
High collision riskIf you get into an accident with another vehicle, collision insurance will cover repair costs for your car.
Arkansas is an “at fault” state, where the person who caused the accident is responsible for the damage they caused. Car insurance premiums in Arkansas tend to be cheaper than densely populated states, but higher than places with better driver safety statistics.

Best carriers for minimum coverage car insurance in Arkansas

The best insurer for you is the one that can provide you with the coverage you need at a price you love.
So, while some companies certainly stand out within the state of Arkansas, the right company for you will depend on your unique driving profile. Go with a company that gives you discounts, meets minimum coverage requirements, and offers good rates for people your age.
Here’s how much Jerry customers pay for minimum liability coverage with various carriers in Arkansas:
Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Allstate$1,491$930
Progressive$2,342$1,478

Cheapest full coverage car insurance in Arkansas

Although full coverage costs more upfront, purchasing more coverage can protect you from the financial burden of an expensive accident (aka, it could end up costing less in the long run).
In an at-fault state like Arkansas, you should consider getting full coverage. This can protect you and cover your costs if you cause an accident and have to pay for damages.
Full coverage car insurance policies generally include:
If you decide that full coverage insurance is the best option for you, Jerry can help you save there, too. Here’s what Jerry users pay:
Before Jerry
After Jerry
$3,069$2,409
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)

Best carriers for full coverage car insurance in Arkansas

Comparing rates with different insurers can help you find the most affordable coverage so that you don’t have to go without.
Here’s how much Jerry customers pay for full coverage car insurance with various carriers in Arkansas:
Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Nationwide$1,680$1,416
Allstate$3,461$2,423
Progressive$3,110$2,884
While minimum coverage is enough to let you drive legally in Arkansas, full coverage—which includes comprehensive and collision insurance—offers stronger protection and can provide peace of mind. Look for a company that offers the protection you need and service you can rely on.

Cost to insure your car in Arkansas by age

Insurers value driving experience. The younger you are, the less experience you have, which will likely be reflected in higher insurance premiums.
Arkansas is one of only nine states where 14-year-olds can apply for a learner’s permit. When drivers turn 16, they can apply for an intermediate permit which lets them drive alone (with some safety restrictions).
By allowing young people to get experience driving with supervision, Arkansas drivers hit the road at 18 as fully licensed drivers with more experience.
However, young drivers are still seen as riskier than mature drivers. If you’re a young driver in Arkansas, don’t despair.
While you’re unlikely to enjoy the same low rates as your parents, you can still get cheap car insurance quotes by shopping around and maintaining a clean driving record. No matter your age, quote shopping with Jerry is a good place to start.
Here are the prices Jerry offers drivers by age:
Age Group
Before Jerry
After Jerry
18-20$2,826$1,724
21-24$2,576$1,676
25-34$2,612$1,621
35-44$2,492$1,505
45-54$2,166$1,424
55-64$1,852$1,107
65+$1,933$1,314
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)

Cost of insurance for drivers in Arkansas with a bad driving record

Drivers who have gotten into an accident, received a speeding ticket, or have been convicted of a DUI often pay higher car insurance rates.
If you’re a driver in Arkansas with a major driving violation in the last five years, you will likely not qualify for “good driver” discounts. For very serious offenses, you may be looking at an even longer waiting period.
The good news is Jerry can help you find a competitive and cheap car insurance policy even if your driving record isn’t squeaky clean.
Driving Violation
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Clean Record$2,897$1,879
Leaving scene of an Accident/Hit and Run$2,628$1,060
Defective Equipment$1,560$1,344
DUI$2,044$1,438
Driving on Sus. License$2,515$1,646
Careless Driving$2,696$1,816
Speeding under 15$3,185$2,055
Failure to Obey Traffic Sign$3,090$2,323
Speeding over 15$3,600$3,184
Other$3,003$2,121

Best carriers for drivers with infractions in Arkansas

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Progressive$2,853$1,864
Safeco$2,990$2,071
Nationwide$2,972$2,119
Travelers$3,380$2,342
State Auto$3,368$2,525
Allstate$3,809$2,530
The price you pay for car insurance is influenced by your age and your driving record. Safe drivers typically get lower rates, but it’s still possible to find affordable insurance in Arkansas if you have a traffic violation on your record with Jerry.

Cost of insurance for young drivers in Arkansas with a bad driving record

Young drivers with less-than-stellar driving records have “double-trouble” insurability status, which can make finding affordable rates extremely difficult.
For young drivers, a minor offense could significantly impact car insurance rates for years to come.
Fortunately, Jerry can help young drivers with prior incidents find the right coverage for the best price.
Driving Violation
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Clean Record$3,493$2,245
Defective Equipment$1,560$1,344
Careless Driving$3,304$2,136
DUI$2,808$2,304
Speeding under 15$3,164$2,406
Driving on Sus. License$3,491$2,620
Speeding over 15$3,600$3,184
Failure to Obey Traffic Sign$4,667$3,401
Other$3,524$2,717
If you’re looking for the most affordable insurance for a young driver with a poor driving record in Arkansas, check out these top carriers.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)

Best carriers for young drivers with infractions in Arkansas

Insurance Company
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Travelers$3,960$2,079
Progressive$3,247$2,126
Safeco$3,260$2,331
Nationwide$3,984$2,624
State Auto$4,960$3,390
Allstate$5,220$3,613
Young drivers are already considered higher risk by insurance companies. A moving violation only increases this perception.

Types of discounts that might be available to you in Arkansas

Never underestimate a good discount. If you want to find cheap car insurance quotes, be sure to take advantage of any car insurance discounts that are provided by insurance companies in Arkansas. Here are some to keep an eye out for:
  • Customer loyalty (e.g. bundling, early renewal)
  • Demographic (e.g. good student, senior)
  • Driver affiliations (e.g. military, affinity)
  • Driving history (e.g. accident-free, safe driver)
  • Driver training (e.g. defensive driver course)
  • Equipment-related (e.g. anti-theft, new car)
  • Payment (e.g. auto-pay, paperless)
Arkansas allows insurers to consider factors like zip code, credit score, and marital status when they set your car insurance premium. As a result, you might be able to access discounts for being married or living in a more rural area.
Some of the most common car insurance discounts in Arkansas include:
Discount typeWho is eligible?
Driver safety discountsDrivers in Arkansas who have been accident-free for several years can usually get a “safe driver” discount. If you’ve never had a crash or a speeding ticket, ask about this discount.
Defensive driving discountsDrivers can qualify for this discount in Arkansas by taking a defensive driving course. The course teaches how to avoid accidents, assess weather and traffic conditions, and drive safely. Both mature (55+) and young drivers can get this discount, and it could reduce your premium by 15%.
Good student discounts If you’re a full-time student with good grades, you could be eligible for a 5-20% discount on your car insurance premium. You’ll need to provide proof of enrollment and grade point average to qualify.
Bundling your policiesArkansas residents who get their car and home policies from the same company can enjoy a reduced premium.
Telematics discounts By installing a small device in your vehicle, you could be eligible for safe driver discounts. Arkansas drivers can request a free telematics device to passively track their driving behavior. Good drivers get rewarded, and there’s usually a discount just for signing up.
So, how do you know which discounts you can actually benefit from?
Jerry can help you determine which discounts you qualify for, and it will automatically include them in real-time quote comparisons.
Most customers are eligible for some kind of discount on their premium—often, more than one!—but you may need to ask your insurance company which ones you qualify for.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings (100% Free)

How much does it cost to insure my car make in Arkansas?

The most popular car in Arkansas is the Nissan Altima. Generally, mid-size sedans like the Altima—with good safety ratings and good fuel economy—can be insured affordably. However, the Altima’s premiums are a bit higher than average simply because this model is one of the most stolen cars in America.
If you drive fewer miles, you may also pay less for insurance because you’re less likely to get into an accident.
Here’s what it costs to insure some popular car makes/models with and without Jerry:
Make / model
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Chevrolet Malibu 2LT$1,440$876
Chevrolet Malibu LS$1,428$468
Chevrolet Tahoe C1500$1,920$1,008
Chrysler Town & Country Touring$2,340$1,644
Dodge Avenger SE$3,600$1,080

Cheapest car insurance in Arkansas by city

Just as car insurance rates vary by state, they can also vary by city and ZIP code. Drivers in cities tend to pay more than drivers in rural areas because urban centers have higher rates of accidents, thefts, and claims.
Arkansas does not have as many metropolitan centers, but it does have one of the highest traffic fatality rates in the country. Many drivers in Arkansas are driving uninsured, and severe weather is becoming increasingly common. All of these factors contribute to the average or above average insurance rates in Arkansas.
But generally, areas with lower population density tend to have lower premiums, which can help bring rates down for Arkansas drivers.
City
Before Jerry
After Jerry
Little Rock
$3,185$2,098
Jonesboro
$3,840$2,347
Conway
$2,807$1,881
Fayetteville
$2,957$1,940
Rogers
$1,807$1,371
North Little Rock
$2,603$1,708
Springdale
$2,250$1,878
Benton
$1,848$1,343
Bentonville
$4,063$2,387

Additional ways to lower your car insurance

To get cheap car insurance, you may want to consider raising your deductible. When you file a claim, the deductible is the amount of money you have to pay out of pocket before your car insurance kicks in to cover the remaining balance. If you increase your deductible, this could lower your premium — but be aware that this means you’ll incur higher initial out-of-pocket costs in the event of an accident.
It’s also a good idea to update your car insurance to reflect any major life changes that have occurred since you received your last auto insurance quote. For example, if you’ve gotten married, you may be offered lower rates because married people are perceived to be safer drivers. Or if you’ve moved to a rural area, you may qualify for reduced rates because you’re less likely to get in an accident and file a claim.
It can be hard to keep track of your car insurance renewals while also juggling your own daily obligations. That’s why Jerry reassesses your premium every six months. At each renewal period, Jerry can help you make any relevant updates and ensure you get the lowest possible price for your coverage.
Get the lowest rate possible by choosing a vehicle with good safety ratings, driving safely, qualifying for discounts, and comparing rates with a smart tool like Jerry.
Want to find out if you’re overpaying? Let Jerry do the work for you.

Methodology

Unless otherwise specified, these estimates are based on drivers older than 30 who have good driving records. These are real people who have signed up with Jerry in the last six months.
Still have some questions?
Learn how Jerry can help you save money on car insurance, our policies, privacy, customer service, and more.
Read FAQ

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free