Rhode Island Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Liability insurance
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Additional coverage
- CARCO inspection
- Cheap insurance
Rhode Island requires drivers to purchase a minimum amount of liability car insurance coverage, summarized as 25/50/25— $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $25,000 of property liability per accident.
Using Jerry is the best way for Rhode Island drivers to find cheap car insurance fast. Even better, the savings keep coming after Jerry finds you great insurance at the lowest price. Before every policy renewal period, you’ll be presented with new competitive quotes, which means you’ll always have the best coverage at the best price.
Continue reading to learn all the information you need regarding Rhode Island car insurance minimums.
What car insurance is required by law in Rhode Island?
All Rhode Island drivers are legally required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage when on the road.
They also need to have valid proof of insurance to provide to law enforcement upon request.
Keep in mind that a lender might require anyone who loans or leases their car to purchase additional insurance options as well.
Here is a quick summary of the minimum insurance limits required in Rhode Island.
Rhode Island minimum car insurance
|Minimum liability coverage||25/50/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway Rhode Island motorists must purchase a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage and carry proof of insurance when driving.
Liability insurance in RI
There are two main types of liability insurance, bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance, and Rhode Island drivers must carry both. Liability coverage will help protect you from lawsuits if you cause an accident—but your liability insurance never covers your own costs.
If you want to make your policy more robust, consider purchasing additional options to supplement your coverage.
What is uninsured/underinsured motorist protection?
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance helps protect drivers if they get in an accident with an at-fault driver who is either uninsured or doesn’t have enough car coverage.
While the state of Rhode Island doesn’t technically require drivers to carry this type of insurance —they will usually have to turn it down in writing if they don’t want it.
Key Takeaway Drivers in Rhode Island must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance and will usually have to turn down uninsured/underinsured motorist protection in writing if they don’t want it.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Rhode Island?
There are three required categories of insurance that Rhode Island drivers need to carry: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage liability. These limits are summarized as 25/50/25. Rhode Island minimum insurance requirements are comparable to the average limits set by other states.
Here is a more detailed explanation of how these numbers break down:
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: An insurance company will pay out a maximum of $25,000 per person for injuries to the other party for an at-fault accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000 is the maximum your provider will pay out to cover bodily injury liability in a single accident.
$25,000 in property damage liability per accident: Your provider will pay up to $25,000 to cover the costs of property damage for the other party if you cause an accident.
Should I get more coverage than Rhode Island’s required insurance minimum?
Just because Rhode Islands’ legal liability car insurance limits are about on par with other states doesn’t mean minimum coverage won’t leave you vulnerable.
For example, total bodily injury liability costs could easily exceed $50,000 if multiple are involved and injured following an at-fault accident. For this reason, insurance experts often recommend that drivers increase their liability limits to 50/100/50 to provide extra coverage.
Rhode Island also does not require drivers to purchase protection for their own cars. You will have to opt for full coverage options like comprehensive insurance and collision insurance if you want to ensure your car is fully covered.
No matter what type of coverage options you are looking for, Jerry will help you find cheap insurance in Rhode Island fast.
Simply download the Jerry app or go to getjerry.com. In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from up to 45 top insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and canceling your old one.
No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island drivers who fail to produce valid proof of insurance when they are driving could face serious fines and penalties.
Here are the penalties for failing to show valid proof of insurance in Rhode Island
|Offense||Fines||License/registration suspension||Reinstatement fees||SR-22 form required?|
|First||$100-500||Up to three months||$30 - $50||Yes|
|Second||$500||Up to six months||$30 - $50||Yes|
|Subsequent||$1000||Up to a year||$30 - $50||Yes|
Additional coverage options
There are plenty of additional policy options available that Rhode Island drivers can take advantage of to upgrade their minimum required car insurance limits. Here are a few policy options that are typically available.
Collision insurance helps protect drivers from the cost of damage to their car resulting from rollovers or collision with other objects.
Comprehensive insurance helps protect drivers against the cost of damage to their vehicles resulting from external causes, like theft, vandalism, or severe weather events.
Medical payments (MedPay) insurance
MedPay will help cover medical expenses for you and your passengers that result from an accident—and it will come into effect regardless of who was at fault.
Loan/Lease payoff insurance
Loan/lease payoff insurance (aka gap coverage) will help cover the difference between a total payout and the money that you still owe on your totaled car.
Roadside assistance insurance
Often referred to as towing and labor coverage, roadside assistance offers a range of emergency services, like battery charges, lock, and key services, and towing.
Rental car reimbursement insurance
Rental reimbursement insurance will help drivers cover alternate transportation costs up to their policy limit if their car is being repaired following a claim.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance will provide added coverage to help cover costs if you get in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t carry enough car insurance to cover your expenses.
Key Takeaway Rhode Island drivers can choose from a range of policy upgrades to provide more protection.
Do I need a CARCO inspection?
Rhode Island requires drivers to get a CARCO inspection before upgrading to certain policy options, like comprehensive or collision insurance.
A CARCO inspection is simple to book and it verifies your car’s details to the state.
Do I have to pay?
No, there is no fee for CARCO inspections.
Where do I go for the inspection?
Drivers who want to book an inspection can visit CARCO to locate a nearby inspection site.
What do I need to bring?
You only need to bring the name of your insurance company to your CARCO inspection. No supporting documentation is required—but it is always helpful to have on hand.
How to get cheap car insurance in Rhode Island
Using a free car-insurance shopping app like Jerry is an easy way for Rhode Island drivers to compare rates and save on the coverage options they want to have.
If you’re hesitant to switch plans or insurance providers because you’re worried about the work involved—don’t be. Jerry does all the paperwork for you. You’ll never have to print out anything, go to the post office, or get on the phone. If you have questions about your coverage Jerry’s friendly agents are here to help.
As your life changes, your insurance changes, and Jerry is ready to make those adjustments for you.
“I cannot express enough how amazing the Jerry app really is. I dreaded searching for new insurance with a better rate—let’s face it, the whole process is daunting and gets a little overwhelming. But with Jerry, everything about switching to a new policy was quick, easy, and pleasant. Jerry took care of all the annoying legwork including canceling my old policy so I didn’t have to. Amazing, amazing, amazing! Thanks, Jerry!”—Satisfied Jerry user
Is Rhode Island a no-fault car insurance state?
No, Rhode Island is an at-fault, or tort, insurance state.
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in Rhode Island?
Yes, Rhode Island drivers must purchase a minimum limit of 25/50/25 in liability insurance.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually