Pennsylvania Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- No-fault state
- FPB insurance
- What is the Pennsylvania tort option?
- Liability insurance
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Additional coverage
- Cheap insurance
Load full table of contents
Drivers who live in the no-fault state Pennsylvania are legally required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance, summarized as 15/30/5 ( which stands for $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person; $30,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident; and $5,000 of property liability coverage per accident.
Drivers must also carry a minimum limit of $5,000 per person in First Party Benefit and choose between full and limited tort options.
If you are tired of calling around for insurance quotes, try Jerry. Just think of Jerry as your own personal ultra-talented pocket car insurance broker for life. No need to sit across from him at a desk, though—Jerry is an app!
It takes less than a minute to sign up and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from up to 45 top providers. Don’t lose coverage, find savings with Jerry.
Read on to learn more details about car insurance laws in Pennsylvania.
What car insurance is required by law in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania drivers are legally required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance, First Party Benefit insurance, and tort option insurance.
Pennsylvania drivers are expected to carry proof of insurance to establish their minimum coverage when driving.
The following is a detailed breakdown of the minimum insurance limits that are legally required in Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania minimum car insurance requirements
|** Type of coverage**||**Minimum insurance limit**|
|**Minimum liability coverage**||**30/60/25**|
|Bodily injury per accident||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
|**Uninsured motorist coverage**||**30/60/25**|
|Bodily injury per person||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per accident||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway Drivers in Pennsylvania must carry minimum liability and First Party Medical Benefit car insurance, as well as a chosen level of tort option coverage.
Pennsylvania is a no-fault state
Pennsylvania is one of 12 no-fault states. In no-fault car insurance states, drivers must carry no-fault insurance protection that will help cover the costs of an accident, regardless of who is found at fault.
Since each driver is responsible for covering some of their own expenses, there is theoretically less of a chance of getting sued if you cause an accident.
What is First Party Benefit (FPB) insurance?
Pennsylvania First Party Benefit (FPB) insurance will help cover medical costs associated with an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
This coverage may extend beyond standard hospital bills and help reimburse dental or nursing services as well. Pennsylvania drivers are required to carry a minimum limit of $5,000 per person in FPB coverage.
What is the Pennsylvania tort option?
The Pennsylvania tort option determines whether a driver will be able to sue for costs related to pain and suffering following an accident.
Drivers who choose the limited tort option will get a lower premium and can only sue for non-monetary damages (except in claims where more severe implications, like disfigurement or death, are involved).
Drivers who choose the full tort option may sue for pain and suffering, but will probably pay a higher premium for the privilege.
Liability insurance in PA
Liability insurance helps protect drivers from lawsuits if they cause an accident—but it won’t help cover your own costs.
Bodily injury liability goes toward expenses related to injuries to the other party. Property damage liability goes toward property damage to another party’s vehicle.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania drivers must carry basic liability car insurance limits summarized as 15/30/5. Drivers also need to purchase a minimum limit of $5,000 per person in First Party Medical Benefit insurance.
In all, Pennsylvania drivers need to carry four types of car insurance coverage in addition to choosing between a limited or full tort option on their policy. Here is a detailed breakdown of how the minimum insurance requirements work in Pennsylvania.
$15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: The other party will be reimbursed up to $15,000 per person to help cover the cost of injuries if you cause an accident.
$30,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $30,000 is the total amount that your insurance provider pays per accident to cover the cost of injuries if you are at fault.
$5,000 in property damage liability per accident: Your insurance company will pay the other party up to $5,000 to cover damage to their car if you cause an accident.
$5,000 per person in First Party Benefit coverage: Your insurance provider will pay out up to $5,000 per person to help cover medical costs associated with an accident—regardless of who is at fault.
Should I get more coverage than Pennsylvania’s required insurance minimum?
Even though Pennsylvania is a no-fault state, the required insurance limits are lower than average—meaning drivers could be left vulnerable. Most insurance experts recommend upgrading your liability limits to 50/100/50 to provide more robust coverage.
For instance, the Pennsylvania minimum property damage liability limit is only $5,000—which won’t cover the total value of most new cars on the market. You can also add full coverage comprehensive insurance and collision insurance to help protect you against the cost of damage to your own vehicle.
If you want cheap car insurance quotes and tailored policy options without the legwork, go to Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you. Jerry is a handy pocket broker that will make your life easier.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania takes car insurance laws seriously, and drivers caught without car insurance may face the following penalties:
- Fines starting from $300
- A three-month vehicle registration and/or driver's licenses suspension
- Restoration fees
- Other drivers cannot drive the car during the license suspension period
Key Takeaway Getting caught without car insurance in Pennsylvania comes with potentially severe repercussions, like fines, license, and registration suspensions, and restoration fees.
Additional coverage options
Pennsylvania drivers who want to improve their car insurance coverage have plenty of options to choose from.
Collision coverage will protect you against the cost of damage to your car resulting from a collision with another object.
Comprehensive coverage will protect you against the cost of damage to your car resulting from external events, like floods, fire, or vandalism.
Income loss benefit coverage
Income loss benefit coverage is a car insurance option available to Pennsylvania drivers to help them cover up to 80% of lost wages resulting from a claimable accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance will help cover your costs associated with an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t carry enough coverage.
Often referred to as towing and labor coverage—roadside assistance gives drivers access to convenient emergency services, like tows, tire changes, and battery charges.
Gap coverage will cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled car and the settlement you receive from your insurance company after an accident.
How to get cheap car insurance in Pennsylvania
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in Pennsylvania, look no further than the free insurance shopping app Jerry.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
"If you’re shopping for a car insurance shop no further—Jerry is the best auto insurance shopping app out there! Jerry’s makes car insurance shopping easy by giving you multiple quotes at great rates. Even better, once you purchase through Jerry they continue to shop for you months before your policy is up for renewal. I will never have to shop around for car insurance again, thanks to Jerry. Try the Jerry app. You will not be disappointed!" —Satisfied Jerry user
Is car insurance mandatory in Pennsylvania?
Yes. Pennsylvania is a no-fault state where all drivers are required to purchase a minimum amount of car insurance coverage.
What auto insurance is required by law in PA?
Drivers are required to carry minimum liability limits of 15/30/5 as well as $5,000 per person in First Party Medical Benefit coverage.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually