West Virginia Car Inspection

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
In West Virginia, you must get a routine safety inspection for your vehicle every 12 months. When completed at an officially licensed inspection station, this will cost you no more than $14.25.
It is illegal to drive without a valid safety inspection sticker displayed on your vehicle's windshield in West Virginia. You’ll get this sticker if your car passes a safety inspection. 
Unlike many other states, West Virginia does not require an emissions inspection.
To prevent you from paying mountains of unnecessary fines in the Mountain State, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has all the information you need about car inspections in West Virginia.

What are the vehicle inspection requirements in West Virginia?

All West Virginia vehicles must undergo a routine safety inspection every 12 months. If you're new to the state, you’ll need to have this inspection performed within 10 days of obtaining a West Virginia vehicle title
Vehicles purchased within West Virginia must complete the inspection within three days of registration.
If you want to know more about what is required of your officially licensed inspection, look no further than the general inspection requirement list provided by the West Virginia State Police.

Exceptions to the state requirements

If you move to West Virginia from certain other states, you may not need to get a safety inspection right away. An out-of-state safety inspection sticker from one of the following states will remain valid in West Virginia until it expires: 
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Oklahoma
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wyoming
Once the sticker expires, you will need to get a West Virginia safety inspection.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Where to get a car inspection in West Virginia

Safety inspections can only be completed at officially licensed inspection stations. These privately owned businesses acquire their license from the West Virginia State Police and can be found around the state. 
Without having to worry about fluctuating prices, you’re free to choose whichever shop is convenient for you.

How often do you need a car inspection?

West Virginia requires that you complete a safety inspection annually—every twelve months. Your vehicle's safety inspection sticker must be displayed year-round and will tell you when you are due for your next inspection.

Finding affordable car insurance 

If you’re anything like John Denver, then West Virginia is undoubtedly the place where you belong. Once you’ve had your car inspected in the state, it’s time to reevaluate your current car insurance.  
Most people overpay for the protection their vehicle needs—but that doesn't mean you should too. Using the car insurance super app Jerry, you can compare 50+ top providers, so you know you’re getting the best coverage for the most affordable price. 
The best part? The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance!
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

West Virginia does not require a vehicle to undergo a safety inspection before being sold. However, any vehicle purchased without a valid inspection sticker must be inspected within three days.
West Virginia law declares that a safety inspection and sticker issuance cost no more than $14.60—$11 for labor, $3 for certification, and a sales tax. If you’re paying more, make sure your inspection station has been officially licensed by the West Virginia State Police.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free