Vermont Car Inspection

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Vermont requires an annual safety inspection for all vehicles as well as a one-time VIN inspection for any out-of-state vehicle being registered for the first time. All vehicles manufactured in or after 1996 must also get an annual OBD emissions inspection
The “good neighbor” provision of the Clean Air Act requires states to address the transport of air pollution to nearby states. Vehicle inspection programs are one way for states to improve air quality within a wide region. 
Every state has a different set of requirements, so it’s important to understand the rules set by your state to make sure your vehicle complies. 
Here to break down all the vehicle inspection requirements set by Vermont is the car insurance shopping app and licensed broker Jerry

What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Vermont? 

Vermont requires three types of vehicle inspection: 
  • VIN inspections for out-of-state registrations
  • Safety inspections with annual registration renewals
  • Yearly emissions inspections, including OBD tests, which are performed at the same time as safety inspections

VIN inspections

When you apply for a Vermont title, you must submit your vehicle for a VIN inspection to check that your car’s vehicle identification number matches the information in public records.
You’ll also need to fill out a DMV VIN verification form if: 
  • You’re titling a vehicle purchased through a private sale that was not titled or registered in your name in another jurisdiction
  • You’re titling a car under bond 
  • You want to apply for an exempt car title for a car older than 25 years
  • You’re titling a car that was declared a salvage by another state’s DMV
Bring your verification form, driver’s license, title certificate, and registration and title application to the DMV for your inspection. If applicable, bring a bill of sale and odometer disclosure as well. 
Be prepared to pay a registration fee between $76 and $132, which includes the cost of the VIN inspection. 
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Safety and emissions inspections

Under the Automated Vehicle Inspection Program (AVIP), all motor vehicles in Vermont must pass a safety inspection and emissions check annually to renew registration. 
All cars manufactured in or after 1996 must complete an on-board diagnostic (OBD) test, which checks your car’s engine and emissions systems. If your car was manufactured before 1996, your inspector will complete a safety inspection and a visual inspection of the fuel cap or other emissions components. 
Bring your vehicle’s registration and proof of insurance to your testing appointment, along with the testing fee set by the station. 
If your car’s model year is 1996 or later, be sure that your vehicle is ready for the OBD test by driving the car normally as suggested by the owner’s manual. Vermont’s AVIP has created a guide to vehicle readiness, available here

Exceptions to the state requirements

The only vehicles that are exempt from Vermont’s emissions testing requirements are exhibition cars manufactured in or before 1940. If your car was made before 1996, your safety inspection will involve a visual inspection of emissions-related components, such as the gas cap seal, rather than the OBD test required for newer cars. 

Where to get a car inspection in Vermont

For a VIN inspection, you must go to an authorized Vermont DMV inspector or obtain a letter of identification from a licensed out-of-state inspector, such as a government employee or law enforcement officer. 
For safety and emissions inspections, you can find an inspection station using the AVIP station locator.

How often do you need a car inspection?

A VIN inspection is only required when titling a vehicle. Safety and emissions checks are required once a year, within 15 days of your car’s registration renewal date. 

Finding affordable car insurance

An OBD test should only take five minutes—which is plenty of time to find a new low rate on car insurance with Jerry
Jerry is a licensed insurance broker and comparison shopping expert. The app will gather quotes from over 50 top insurance providers once you’ve answered a few basic questions about yourself and your car.
Don’t waste time comparison shopping and filling out endless forms. Download the app, find instant savings, and sit back while Jerry handles all the paperwork to switch you over to a more affordable policy!
 “Just for state minimum liability, I was getting quotes from $70 to over $100/month until I found Jerry. Now my car insurance is under $30/month, or $140 for 6 months. Thank you, Jerry!” —Federico S.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

Yes. A VIN inspection is required for private vehicle sales in Vermont, and your buyer will need a valid safety and emissions inspection to register the car in their name.
In Vermont, the cost of an emissions inspection is not regulated by the state, so it varies according to market forces. Stations must display the cost of an inspection alongside their inspection station certificate.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free