Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Utah?
- Where to get a car inspection in Utah
- How often do you need a car inspection?
- Finding affordable car insurance
Load full table of contents
A VIN inspection and a smog check are required to register an out-of-state vehicle in Utah for the first time. In addition, Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, and Cache counties set emissions inspection requirements for certain vehicles from 1968 model year and newer.
Car inspections, including emissions tests, safety checks, and VIN inspections, ensure that your vehicle is operating properly. Some inspections are voluntary, but most states have put inspection requirements in place to minimize accidents or to improve air quality in an area.
Every state follows different rules, so it’s important to understand your state’s inspection laws to keep your vehicle in compliance. Here, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry breaks down the car inspection requirements in Utah.
What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Utah?
Utah does not require mandatory safety inspections, but you’ll have to get two inspections if you want to register an out-of-state vehicle in the Beehive State.
The first is a VIN inspection, which checks that your car’s vehicle identification number matches the information on file. You’ll also need an emissions inspection, or smog check, to ensure that your car’s emissions are within federal limits.
For current Utah residents, emissions inspections are required only in Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, and Cache counties. In these areas, all cars less than six years old must be inspected every two years. Emissions tests are required annually for all cars from 1968 and newer.
In Cache County, the rules are slightly different: smog checks are not required for cars less than six years old and required only once every two years for model years down to 1969.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Exceptions to the state requirements
Certain vehicles do not need a smog check in the five counties with emissions inspection programs. The following vehicles are exempt from emissions testing in Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, Weber, and Cache counties:
- New vehicles with an MSO
- Any vehicle with a model year 1967 and older
- Implements of husbandry/farm vehicles
- Off-highway vehicles
- Electric vehicles
- Vintage and custom vehicles
- Maintenance and construction vehicles not licensed to operate on the highway
Some counties have additional exemption categories. If you live in one of these counties, be sure to check the DMV’s website to see if your vehicle is exempt from emissions testing.
Where to get a car inspection in Utah
You can get an emissions inspection at any registered station in your county. Check the links below for help finding a local emissions station:
Utah doesn’t regulate the cost of emissions inspections statewide. Stations in Weber County charge $30 for a smog check, while Cache county stations charge $20 and other counties set no standard fee. You’ll also be responsible for a small fee (between $1 and $3) paid to the county where your inspection was performed.
How often do you need a car inspection?
If your car is less than six years old, you only need an emissions inspection every two years, unless you live outside of Salt Lake, Utah, Davis, and Weber counties.
If your car is older than six years but newer than model year 1967, you’ll need an annual smog check in those four counties (or a biennial check in Cache County).
Finding affordable car insurance
An emissions inspection only takes a few minutes—which is enough time to save hundreds of dollars on car insurance with Jerry!
Just download the app and answer a few questions. Jerry will connect you instantly with competitive quotes from 50+ top insurance companies, and they’ll handle all the paperwork to help switch you over to a new policy
Jerry users save an average of $879 a year on car insurance—all in the time it takes to get a smog check!
“Just for state minimum liability, I was getting quotes from $70 to over $100/month until I found Jerry. Now my car insurance is under $30/month, or $140 for 6 months. Thank you, Jerry!” —Federico S.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
Do I have to get an inspection before I sell my car?
A valid smog check certificate is required to sell a car in Utah. If your car is due for an emissions inspection, you’ll need to get it tested before you can transfer the title.
How much does an emissions inspection cost?
Utah doesn’t regulate emissions inspection fees. Depending on your county, you could pay between $20 and $45 for a smog check, in addition to a small county fee.