Title Transfer Utah

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Completing a title transfer is necessary when you buy or sell a car. In Utah, transferring ownership is done at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a fee of $6.
When you get a new vehicle, you need to do a little more than exchange keys and money. Utah state law requires you to transfer the title, complete a few documents, and pay a fee.
It can be an overwhelming process, but thankfully Jerry, the car insurance comparison and broker app, has laid out everything you need to do to successfully transfer a title in Utah.

What’s a title transfer?

A car title says who owns the car. When doing a title transfer, you’re officially transferring ownership of the vehicle from one person to another.
The process of a title transfer includes one step for the seller and one step for the buyer:
  • A seller signs the title releases ownership of the vehicle
  • A buyer brings the signed title to the DMV to title and registers the vehicle in their name
Specific details of how this is done will vary from state to state. Generally, you’ll need to provide some details about the sale—who the buyer and seller are, the odometer reading, and the selling price, for example.

Who does the title transfer?

When you buy a car from a dealer in Utah, the dealer does the title transfer for you. They will also collect sales tax plus a titling fee of $6.
In a private purchase, the buyer and seller handle the paperwork through the Utah DMV.

Why do I need a title transfer?

There are several situations when you’ll need to do a title transfer. Most commonly, you’ll need one if you’re buying or selling a car or if you’re moving. 
You’ll also need to complete a title change when:
  • Paying off a vehicle loan
  • Donating your vehicle
  • Inheriting a vehicle
  • Gifting your vehicle
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

Car title transfer in Utah

In a private sale in Utah, the buyer completes a title transfer with the local state DMV office.
The documents you need to submit to the DMV are:
  • Current title with the signature(s) of the previous owner(s)
  • Completed bill of sale with:
  • Buyer’s name, address, and signature
  • Seller’s name, address, and signature
  • Vehicle identification number
  • Vehicle description—make, model, year, and condition
  • Sale date
  • Sale price
  • Trade-in description and allowance, if applicable
  • Completed Vehicle Application for Utah Title
  • Completed Odometer disclosure statement for cars less than 20 years old
  • Emissions inspection and/or safety inspection certificates
  • Payment for sales tax
  • Payment for titling fee
If you will be leasing the car, you will also need the following from the lessor:
  • Power of attorney
  • Billing statement
  • Utah sales tax number
The title transfer fee is $6.
Key Takeaway Be sure you have all the signatures and documents you need before finalizing a sale or lease agreement.

Utah car registration

Once you have ownership of a new car, you also need to register it with the state of Utah. This is proof the vehicle can legally be driven on the streets.
In Utah, registration costs $43 per year for vehicles under 12,000 lbs. Other fees may apply depending on the model and age of your car. 
The exact fees and taxes will vary according to your vehicle type, its registered weight, the county in which you reside, plus other factors. There’s also an annual uniform fee for passenger vehicles based on their model year. 

Finding insurance for your vehicle

After you’ve titled and registered your new (or new-to-you) car, you’ll need to get car insurance.
Jerry is the app that compares 50+ name-brand insurance companies and quickly gives you the best price for the policy you need
Once you find the right coverage, Jerry will handle the paperwork and even help you cancel your old policy. Even better, Jerry monitors your rate so you’re always renewing at the best price.
“I would 11/10 recommend Jerry. I was originally quoted $700+ for insurance for my new car, but by using Jerry I got my payments down to $320 a month. They also have a great support team ready to answer any questions!” —Tobias F. 
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

If you want to sell a car that’s still financed, call your lender and ask them to help with the title transfer process. They’ll be able to assist you with the steps of the transaction.
On the back of the title, there’s a line for the seller to sign their name. There’s also a line for the buyer to sign their name. All the owners on the title should endorse the title. Both buyer and seller signatures are required for a Utah title transfer.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free