Title Transfer Oregon

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
If you’re transferring ownership of a vehicle in Oregon, you’ll need to complete a title transfer. You can do this at your local DMV for a fee.
When you buy or sell a vehicle, you’ll need to get the title transferred properly. 
In Oregon, this is a fairly straightforward process, but it’s important to do it right so you’re compliant with the DMV and state law. In this article, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry tell you everything you need to know about title transfer in Oregon.

A Title Transfer

To transfer ownership of a vehicle from one person to another, you need to do a title transfer. The title is the document that says who owns the vehicle.
The process of a title transfer involves some paperwork, but the basic process is:
  • The seller signs the title on the back of the certificate
  • The buyer takes the signed title along with some additional paperwork to the DMV
In Oregon, you will also need documentation that the car meets low emissions regulations and that the car is insured. 

Who does the title transfer?

The responsibility for the title transfer depends on whether you’re buying (or selling) a vehicle privately or from a dealership. 
When you buy a car from a dealer, they typically handle all the paperwork and mail you the vehicle title.
If you get a new-to-you car in a private purchase, you’re responsible to complete the title transfer process. 

Reasons for a title transfer

There are a variety of reasons why you might need to complete a title transfer for a vehicle. The most common include a change of residency or buying or selling a car
Here are some other reasons for a title change:
  • Donating a vehicle
  • Gifting a vehicle
  • Inheriting a vehicle
  • Paying off a vehicle loan
Key Takeaway: A title transfer is a transfer of vehicle ownership.

Car title transfer in Oregon

In Oregon, the car buyer can complete a title transfer through the DMV. The title fees vary from $98 to $187.

Buying from a Dealer

Usually, the dealer handles the title transfer when you purchase a car from an Oregon dealership. If not, here’s what you’ll need to bring to the DMV:
  • Completed Application for Title and Registration
  • The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO)
  • Proof that the car meets Low Emissions Vehicle requirements
    • Electric, hybrid, and government-owned vehicles are exempt
  • Odometer disclosure (typically completed on the back of the MCO)
  • Release of interest (if applicable) on one of the following documents:
    • MCO
    • Vehicle Bill of Sale 
    • Statement of Lien Satisfaction
  • Payment for applicable Oregon title fees
An emissions inspection must be done before you title and register your car if you’re relocating to Portland or the Rogue Valle/Medford area.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

Buying from a Private Seller

When you buy a used car from a private seller in Oregon, you’ll need the following paperwork to the DMV to apply for a title transfer:
  • Title certificate properly assigned to you with the seller's notarized signature
  • Registration card
  • A finished Application for Oregon Certificate of Title for a Vehicle
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement (if the car is the model year 2011 or newer)
    • The seller can fill this information out on the title or use the Odometer Disclosure Statement
  • Proof of Oregon auto insurance
  • Proof of passed vehicle inspection (if you purchased the car in another state)
  • Lien release (if applicable)
  • The purchase price, listed on either:
    • The title certificate
    • A bill of sale
    •         OR
    • The Declaration of Vehicle Purchase Price
  • Payment for titling fees
Key Takeaway: Be sure you have all your documents before finalizing a sale!

Registering a car in Oregon

In Oregon, you need the title to register the vehicle. Registration is proof that you can legally drive on the streets. 
In Oregon, the base registration fee is $43. It is also biennial—you will only need to register your car every two years. On top of the registration, there are additional costs. One that’s required for all vehicles is the Miles Per Gallon (MPG) fee. The others may or may not apply to you:
FeeAmountNotes
MPG$20Vehicles with a rating of 0-19 MPG
MPG$25Vehicles with a rating of 20-39 MPG
MPG$35Vehicles with a rating of 40 MPG or greater
Electric Vehicle (EV)$110Beginning January 1, 2020
New Vehicle Assessment$172Brand new vehicles receive two registration periods at once for a total of four years
Depending on where you live, additional county fees may also apply. 

Finding insurance for your vehicle

Title transfer or not, before you can get behind the wheel of your new (or new-to-you) vehicle you’ll need car insurance
Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so you don’t have to. They even help cancel the policy on your old car! So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
“I just had to buy a new car, and I needed quick help to get insurance before I could get my plates. Because I work so many hours, Jerry was the ideal choice for getting things done without long phone calls and waiting periods.”  —Rosa G.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

If there’s still a loan on your car, the process will take a few extra steps. Call your lender to find out the title transfer should be handled.
The title will have a line that says “seller’s signature.” If two people are on the title, then both will need to sign on the same line. There is a separate line for the buyer’s signature. In Oregon, the seller must sign in the presence of a notary.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free