Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Load full table of contents
You’ll need to complete a title transfer if you want to transfer ownership of a vehicle in Oklahoma. You can do this at your local MVD for a fee of just $11.
Congrats, you have a new car! Now you need to do a little paperwork to make it official. When you buy or sell a vehicle, you’ll need to get the title transferred properly. This is as important as kicking the tires and handing over the keys.
In Oklahoma, this is a fairly straightforward process—but it’s important to do it right so you’re compliant with the MVD and state law. In this article, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry breaks down what you need to know about a title transfer in Oklahoma.
What is a title transfer?
A car title defines the ownership of a vehicle. So when you transfer the title of a car, you’re transferring ownership to someone else.
There are two steps involved in a title transfer:
- The seller of the vehicle must sign the title to release ownership
- The buyer of the vehicle must take the signed title to the MVD to receive a new title and register the car
In Oklahoma, the process requires additional paperwork. You’ll need proof of insurance, an odometer disclosure agreement, and information about your loan if the car is financed.
Who does the title transfer?
The responsibility for the title transfer depends on whether you’re buying (or selling) a vehicle privately or from a dealership.
In a private purchase, the buyer and seller are responsible for completing the title transfer. If you’re buying from a dealer, they will take care of the paperwork and you’ll receive the vehicle title from the MVD by mail.
Reasons for a title transfer
There are numerous reasons why you might need to complete a title transfer for a vehicle. The most common include a change of residency or buying or selling a car.
Here are some other reasons for a title change:
- Donating a vehicle
- Gifting a vehicle
- Inheriting a vehicle
- Paying off a vehicle loan
Key Takeaway A car title is a document stating who owns the car. When buying or selling a vehicle, the title must be transferred to the new owner.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Car title transfer in Oklahoma
The process for your title transfer in Oklahoma depends on whether you’re doing a private sale or working with a car dealership.
Buying from a private seller
When you buy a used car from a private seller in Oklahoma, submit the following paperwork to apply for a car title transfer:
- Title certificate properly assigned to you with the seller's notarized signature
- Registration card
- Completed Application for Oklahoma Certificate of Title for a Vehicle
- Odometer Disclosure Statement (if the car is model year 2011 or newer)
- The seller can fill this information out on the title or use the Odometer Disclosure Statement
- Proof of Oklahoma auto insurance
- Proof of passed vehicle inspection (if you purchased the car in another state)
- Lien release information, if applicable
- Purchase price, listed on either:
- The title certificate
- A bill of sale
- The Declaration of Vehicle Purchase Price
- Payment for your vehicle titling fees ($11)
Buying from a dealer
If you've purchased a car from an Oklahoma dealership, you'll need to title it by submitting the following to your local MVD branch:
- Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO)
- Odometer disclosure on the MCO or Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 729)
- A completed Application for Oklahoma Certificate of Title for a Vehicle (Form 701-6)
- Lien information (if applicable)
- Proof of Oklahoma car insurance
- Payment for your titling fees ($11)
Registering a car in Oklahoma
After a title transfer, you’ll need to register the vehicle. Registration is proof that you can legally drive on the streets and is done annually.
In Oklahoma, registration costs depend on how many years the vehicle has been registered. With that in mind, here’s the breakdown of what you will need to pay:
|$85||1st to 4th year of registration|
|$75||5th to 8th year of registration|
|$55||9th to 12th year of registration|
|$35||13th to 16th year of registration|
|$15||17th year of registration or more|
Other fees may apply based on the type of vehicle, license plate type, county of residence, or driving record.
Finding insurance for your vehicle
Title transfer or not, before you can get behind the wheel of your new (or new-to-you) vehicle you’ll need car insurance.
Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
The average Jerry user saves $879 per year on their insurance!
“All of the insurance quotes I saw were over $600 a month because of my age. Then I stumbled upon Jerry, and they sliced my price in half! They found me the lowest rate, thank goodness.” —Will V.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What if my car has a loan?
A title transfer is more challenging if the vehicle is still financed. You’ll need to call your lender and ask how to sell a car that has a loan and how the transaction should be handled.
Where do I sign to transfer the title?
The title will have a line that says “seller’s signature.” If two people are on the title, then both will need to sign on the same line. There is a separate line for the buyer’s signature.