Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a title transfer?
- Car title transfer in New Hampshire
- Registering a car in New Hampshire
- Finding insurance for your vehicle
Load full table of contents
To complete a title transfer in New Hampshire, you’ll have to finish transfer paperwork and then register your vehicle. This can be done at the local DMV for a fee of $25.
Buying or selling a car isn’t as simple as making a payment and taking over the keys. You’ll need to make the process official by completing a title transfer. In New Hampshire, this requires some basic paperwork and payment of fees.
Transferring a title in New Hampshire takes a bit of legwork, and you’ll need to follow the DMV rules and the state law to the letter. To help you out, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry breaks down what you need to know about title transfer in New Hampshire.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
What is a title transfer?
The car title specifies ownership of the vehicle. By transferring the title, you are essentially transferring ownership of the car.
There are two steps to completing a title transfer—and both the buyer and seller have roles:
- The seller must relinquish ownership of the car by signing the title
- The buyer must take the completed title to the DMV, where the state will issue a new title and registration
Each state has a different process for title transfers. In some states, you’ll need to complete more paperwork, including a transfer of ownership form, odometer reading, or bill of sale.
Who does the title transfer?
The responsibility for completing the title transfer process is contingent on whether you privately buy or sell the vehicle or purchase through a dealership.
If you are purchasing a car from a private seller in New Hampshire, you and the seller must complete the paperwork and title transfer process. At the time of purchase, the title is signed over to the buyer unless the vehicle is title exempt.
On the other hand, if you purchase a car through a dealer, the dealer will take care of the documentation and send it to the DMV to be processed, along with the required fee. The buyer will then be given a blue carbon copy of the title that the buyer must bring to the town or city clerk to register the vehicle.
Reasons for a title transfer
Title transfers commonly occur because of buying or selling a car or changing your residency. But, there are other reasons you may look into transferring the title of your car.
Some of these situations include:
- Donating a vehicle
- Gifting a vehicle
- Inheriting a vehicle
- Paying off a vehicle loan
Car title transfer in New Hampshire
To transfer a title in New Hampshire, all buyers must apply for a new title within 20 days of the date of sale.
Here’s what you need to do:
- Obtain the Certificate of Origin or the Title, if the car was originally registered out of state
- Ensure the title is signed by the buyer(s), the seller(s), and, if applicable, the lienholder.
- Obtain a Bill of Sale
- Have the following information ready:
- Sales agreement
- Current registration (if applicable)
- Proof of residency and current ID
- A VIN verification (if applicable)
There is also a $25 fee associated with the title transfer.
Key Takeaway In New Hampshire, you need to have your paperwork and fees to complete the process.
Registering a car in New Hampshire
After completing the title transfer process, you will need to register your vehicle in New Hampshire. Registration proves that you are legally allowed to take your car on the road, and you must complete this process annually.
In New Hampshire, registration costs are determined based on the weight of the vehicle. The costs are as follows:
|$43.20||3001 to 5000 lbs|
|$55.20||5001 to 8000 lbs|
There is also an $8 license plate fee the first time you order plates.
Finding insurance for your vehicle
While there are no mandatory insurance laws in New Hampshire, it is strongly recommended that New Hampshire residents carry insurance before they hit the road. But finding the right insurance policy can be a major hassle.
Jerry will provide you quotes from over 50 top insurance companies so you can find the best prices on the coverage you need. Make your choice, and Jerry takes care of the rest—including phone calls and paperwork. Even better, they’ll send you new rates when your policy is up for renewal so you always get the best deal.
The best part? Most Jerry users save $879 per year on their insurance!
“I’m young and just got my first car, so choosing an insurance company for the first time was scary. My friend recommended this app to me and Jerry made everything simple! I put in my info and got something more affordable than what I expected for my age!” —Leslie T.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What if there is a loan on my car?
If there is a loan on your car, you will need to uphold the conditions of the loan before selling your car.
What do I do if I bought the car out of state?
You will need to apply for a title in New Hampshire. Be sure to obtain the title or certificate of origin from the dealer before completing the process.