Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a title transfer?
- Car title transfer in Nevada
- Registering a car in Nevada
- Finding insurance for your vehicle
Load full table of contents
To transfer the title of your car in Nevada, you’ll need to complete a title transfer and register your car. You can do this at the local DMV for a fee of $28.50
If you’re buying or selling a car, changing ownership isn’t as simple as giving over the keys to the vehicle. You’ll need to make the purchase official by completing a title transfer. In Nevada, this requires that buyers complete some paperwork and pay fees to finalize the transfer.
Transferring a title in Nevada takes a bit of preparation, and you’ll need to make you comply with the state DMV and law. To help you out, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry breaks down what you need to know about title transfer in Nevada.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
What is a title transfer?
The car title denotes ownership of the vehicle. To transfer ownership of a car, you’ll need to transfer the title.
Transferring a title is comprised of two steps—one for the seller and one for the buyer:
- The seller must release ownership of the car by signing the title
- The buyer must take the signed title to the DMV, where the state will issue a new title and registration
The title transfer process differs for each state. In most states, you’ll need to complete at least some paperwork, though some require more than others—like a transfer of ownership form, odometer reading, or bill of sale.
Who does the title transfer?
Whether you’re buying or selling a vehicle privately or from a dealership dictates whose responsibility it is to transfer a title.
In Nevada, if you are purchasing a car from a private seller, you and the seller must complete the paperwork and title transfer process, including completing a properly-signed title to accompany the bill of sale. You are then required to take the documents to the DMV yourself.
Conversely, a dealer will submit all of the paperwork to the DMV within 30 days of purchase.
Reasons for a title transfer
Most title transfers are completed because of a change of residency or buying or selling a car. But, there are other reasons you may look into transferring the title of your car.
Other reasons for a title change may include:
- Donating a vehicle
- Gifting a vehicle
- Inheriting a vehicle
- Paying off a vehicle loan
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls
Car title transfer in Nevada
In Nevada, the title transfer process must be done within 30 days of sale or the change of ownership. You must go to your DMV to obtain a title.
Here’s what you need to do:
- Have your Nevada Certificate of Title—if you don’t have one, you’ll need to complete an Application for Duplicate or Transfer of Title
- Ensure the title is signed by the buyer(s), the seller(s), and, if applicable, the lienholder. If there is a lien, you have to fulfill the requirements of the lien before you sell your car
- Obtain a Bill of Sale and ensure that the title is properly signed by the owner-of-record
- Have the following information ready:
- Invoice or Bill of Sale, and one of the following:
- Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin
- Security Agreement
- Lease Agreement
- Purchase Order
- Nevada Evidence of Insurance
- Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report if needed
- Current Odometer Reading
- Vehicle Inspection Certificate (VP 015)
The fee to transfer an out-of-state title with no change of ownership is $20. For all other title transfers, the fee is $28.25. The DMV will either send the title to the owner or the lienholder if there is a lien on the car.
Key Takeaway To complete the title transfer process in Nevada, you need to have your paperwork and fees in order.
Registering a car in Nevada
After completing the title transfer process, you’ll need to register your vehicle before getting on the road. Registration is proof that you are legally allowed to take your car on the road, and you must complete this process annually.
In Nevada, it costs $33 per year to register your car. In addition, you’ll need to pay the following:
|Licence Plate Fees||$3.50 per plate||Collected by the DMV|
|Governmental Services Tax||varies||Determined based on the value of the vehicle|
Some other counties require an additional government tax fee, which is dependent on your city and the make and year of your vehicle.
If your car has never been registered or titled in Nevada, you’ll need to complete a VIN inspection at your local DMV.
Finding insurance for your vehicle
Before you take your car on the road, you’ll need to have proof of insurance. But looking for insurance can be as much of a hassle as registering your car—if not more.
Jerry is the super app that helps you save time and money on your car expenses, including insurance.
Jerry will provide you quotes from over 50 top insurance companies so you can find the best prices on the coverage you need. Make your choice, and Jerry handles all the paperwork, phone calls, and even monitors your rate to ensure you’re always renewing at the best price.
The best part? Most Jerry users save $879 per year on their insurance!
“I’m young and just got my first car, so choosing an insurance company for the first time was scary. My friend recommended this app to me and Jerry made everything simple! I put in my info and got something more affordable than what I expected for my age!” —Leslie T.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What if my car has a loan?
If there is a loan on your car, you need to satisfy the conditions of the loan before selling the vehicle. If you are buying your car using a loan, the DMV will send the title to the lienholder.
What do I do if the seller doesn’t have a title?
If the seller doesn’t have a title, you’ll need to request a duplicate title from the state that had the last record of the title or registration.