Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a title transfer?
- Car title transfer in Nebraska
- Registering a car in Nebraska
- Finding insurance for your vehicle
Load full table of contents
To transfer ownership of a car in Nebraska, you’ll need to complete a title transfer process. You can do this at your local DMV for a fee of $10.
If you’re buying a car from a private seller or a dealership, the process isn’t as simple as just paying and getting the keys. You’ll need to make your purchase official by transferring the title of the car to your name. Typically, this involves some basic paperwork, a trip to the DMV, and a small fee.
While transferring a title in Nebraska doesn’t have a ton of steps, you’ll need to be compliant with the state DMV and the law. The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry breaks down what you need to know about title transfer in Nebraska.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
What is a title transfer?
The car title denotes ownership of the vehicle. To transfer ownership of a car, you’ll need to transfer the title.
Transferring a title is comprised of two steps—one for the seller and one for the buyer:
- The seller must release ownership of the car by signing the title
- The buyer must take the signed title to the DMV, where the state will issue a new title and registration
The process may be different for each state. For some states, you’ll need to finish more paperwork to complete the title transfer process—like a transfer of ownership form, odometer reading, or bill of sale.
Who does the title transfer?
Depending on whether you’re buying (or selling) a vehicle privately or from a dealership, the responsibility for who completes the transfer may vary.
If you are purchasing a vehicle from a private seller, the buyer and seller need to complete the paperwork and the title transfer process. Conversely, a dealer will handle all the paperwork and send the vehicle title from the state DMV by mail.
Reasons for a title transfer
The most common reasons for a title transfer include a change of residency or buying or selling a car. But, there are other reasons you may look into transferring the title of your car.
Some other reasons for a title change include:
- Donating a vehicle
- Gifting a vehicle
- Inheriting a vehicle
- Paying off a vehicle loan
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls
Car title transfer in Nebraska
In Nebraska, the title transfer process must be done within 30 days of the change of ownership. You must go to your County Treasurer to obtain a title.
Here’s what you need to do:
- Have your Nebraska Certificate of Title—if you don’t have one, you’ll need to complete an Application for Duplicate or Transfer of Title
- Ensure the title is signed by the buyer(s), the seller(s), and, if applicable, the lienholder
- The seller must complete the Odometer Certification at the top of the title
- Obtain a Bill of Sale from the seller or get a Nebraska Department of Revenue Form 6. This form must be obtained from the Nebraska Department of Revenue
- Have the following information ready:
- Driver’s license number
- Vehicle license plate number
- Vehicle identification number (VIN)
- Vehicle make and model year
- Purchase date and price
- Name and address of the legal vehicle owner
- Sheriff's inspection
The fee to transfer a title is $10. The County Treasurer will then issue you a new title.
Key Takeaway To complete the title transfer process in Nebraska, make sure you have all the necessary documents before heading to the County Treasurer.
Registering a car in Nebraska
Once you’ve completed the title transfer, you’ll still need to register your vehicle. Registration is proof that you can legally drive on the road and you must complete this process annually.
In Nebraska, registering your vehicle costs $15 per year. In addition, you’ll need to pay the following:
|State Recreation Road Fund||$1.50||Fee collected by the department of roads|
|Department of Motor Vehicle Cash Fund||$2|
|County General Fund||$1.50 or $4.50 for non-residents|
|Plate Fee||$3.30||Assessed whenever new plates are issued|
|Electric vehicle fee||$75||Fee assessed at initial registration and each time registration is renewed|
You will also pay a motor vehicle fee based on the value, weight, and use of the vehicle, which decreases as the car ages. Additionally, vehicles less than 14 years old are subject to additional annual motor vehicle tax based on MSRP
Finding insurance for your vehicle
Before you can drive your new (or new-to-you) car, you’ll need the right car insurance.
Jerry is the super app that helps you save time and money on your car expenses, including insurance.
Jerry will source quotes from over 50 top insurance companies to find the best prices on the coverage you need. Make your choice, and Jerry handles all the paperwork, phone calls, and even monitors your rate to ensure you’re always renewing at the best price.
The best part? Most Jerry users save $879 per year on their insurance!
“I’m young and just got my first car, so choosing an insurance company for the first time was scary. My friend recommended this app to me and Jerry made everything simple! I put in my info and got something more affordable than what I expected for my age!” —Leslie T.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What if my car has a loan?
If your car is still financed, the title transfer becomes more complicated, but not impossible. In Nebraska, if there are any open liens, they must be released by the lien holder and a county official before the title transfer.
Where do I sign to transfer the title?
Your title should have a line that says “seller signature” and a line that says “buyer signature”. Keep in mind, the buyer’s information must be completed on the title at the time of purchase or it’s considered an “Open Title” and is illegal.