Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a title transfer?
- Car title transfer in Idaho
- Registering a car in Idaho
- Finding insurance for your vehicle
Load full table of contents
If you’re transferring ownership of a vehicle in Idaho, you’ll need to complete a title transfer. You can do this at your local DMV in person or through the online portal. The base fee is $14.
If you’re buying or selling a vehicle, you need to make everything official by transferring the title. You may also need to do this if you’re donating a vehicle or registering at a new Idaho address from out of state.
The title transfer process usually includes filling out some basic paperwork, visiting the DMV (or online portal), and paying a small fee.
Follow these guidelines carefully to ensure you are compliant with state laws. To help you through it all, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is sharing everything you need to know about title transfer in Idaho.
What is a title transfer?
A car title is what dictates ownership of the vehicle. So when you transfer the title of a car, you’re transferring its ownership.
Transferring a title consists of two steps—one for the seller and one for the buyer:
- The seller must release ownership of the car by signing the title
- The buyer must take the signed title to the DMV, where the state will issue a new title and registration
Depending on your situation, you may be required to submit additional paperwork to complete the title transfer process. This could be a bill of sale, transfer of ownership form, or odometer disclosure. If you also need to register the vehicle, you’ll incur additional fees.
Who does the title transfer?
The responsibility for the title transfer depends on whether the transaction was between private parties or at a dealership.
In a private purchase, the buyer and seller will decide who must complete the title transfer process. Both parties must sign the document and then it must be filed.
On the other hand, when you buy a car from a dealer they are responsible for submitting all the paperwork to the Idaho Transportation Department. Just wait for them to take care of everything and the title will either be sent to you or the lienholder.
Reasons for a title transfer
Most people need to do a title change because of a change of residency or because they are buying or selling a car.
Here are some other reasons you may need a title change:
- Donating a vehicle
- Gifting a vehicle
- Inheriting a vehicle
- Paying off a vehicle loan
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Car title transfer in Idaho
In Idaho, you have 30 days after the change of ownership to do the title transfer. Otherwise, you could be charged a $20 late-filing fee. But don’t worry, you can easily complete the title transfer process online or in person at a local DMV branch.
You will need the following items to complete a title transfer in Idaho:
- The vehicle title, properly released by previous owner or lienholder and designating you by name as the new owner
- In the case of new vehicles from a dealer, you may use a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO)
- If there is a lienholder, bring their name and address
- Bill of sale
- Odometer disclosure (required for vehicles less than 10 years old and under 16,000 lbs.)
- Personal identification (Idaho driver’s license)
- Prepare to have the VIN inspected (normally performed by a deputy or county employee, and costs $5 if the vehicle is being titled for the first time in Idaho)
- Fees and taxes
Note that you are required to register and title your vehicle in Idaho when you become a resident of the state. You’re considered a resident if Idaho has been your principal residence for 90 continuous days—although you can declare residency earlier and title/register your vehicles at that time.
The fee for a title transfer in Idaho is $14. Once you’ve submitted all required documentation, you can expect to receive the new title within 2 weeks. Rush processing is available for $26.
Pro Tip The online Idaho portal will walk you through the title transfer process from start to finish—and there’s no lineup!
Registering a car in Idaho
After a title transfer, you still need to register your vehicle. Whereas title transfer is about ownership, registration is proof that you can legally drive on the streets.
If you are a new resident, you must register and title your vehicle(s) within 90 days. You can complete these two processes one after another.
Registration is done annually in Idaho. Note that before you can register, you must be able to show an Idaho title and proof of auto insurance that meets the state minimum coverage requirements.
When registering a vehicle, you will be charged based on the vehicle’s age and type:
|Registration fee (1-2 years old))||$69|
|Registration fee (3-6 years old)||$57|
|Registration fee (7+ years old)||$45|
|Electric vehicle fee||$140||Fee applies to all electric vehicles|
|Certain hybrid vehicles||$75|
Other fees may apply based on the fuel type, license plate type, county of residence, or driving record.
Finding insurance for your vehicle
Before you can hop on I-84 and ride off into the sunset, you’ll need to make sure you have car insurance on your new vehicle. Jerry is the super app that helps you save time and money on your car expenses, including insurance. Hello, discounts!
Jerry can help you quickly browse quotes from more than 50 top insurance companies. Just enter your preferred coverage and let Jerry take care of the rest. Once you find a good rate, it’s easy. Jerry will take care of all the paperwork and phone calls.
Oh, and the most important part: The average Jerry user saves nearly $900 per year on their car insurance!
“I took a shot with Jerry and I’ve never been happier! I was paying $350 and Jerry found me a Clearcover plan at $105. If saving $245 each month isn’t great news, I don’t know what is.”—Wyatt K.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What if my car has a loan?
If the vehicle is still financed, the lienholder may need to do the title transfer on your behalf. Start by contacting your lender and ask how to sell a car that has a loan.
Where do I sign to transfer the title?
Look for a line on the title that says “seller’s signature.” If more than one person is on the title, both people will need to sign on the same line. The buyer(s) will sign on a separate line.