Title Transfer Florida

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
If you’re purchasing a used vehicle in Florida, you’ll need to complete a title transfer. You can do this at your local DMV for a fee of $75.25.
While you might be tempted to just hand over the keys once you’ve found a buyer for your vehicle, there’s an important step you don’t want to miss: the title transfer. Usually, this involves a bit of paperwork, a retitling fee, and a visit to your local DMV office.
While it can be a bit of a process, it’s important to get it right to remain compliant with state law. To help you through it all, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is breaking down everything you need to know about a title transfer in Florida.

What is a title transfer?

If you want to know who owns a vehicle, you look to the title. If you transfer the title, it means you’re transferring ownership of the car. 
Transferring a title requires both the buyer and the seller to complete a step:
  • The seller must release ownership of the car by signing the title
  • The buyer must take the signed title to the DMV, where the state will issue a new title and registration
For the protection of both parties, the state of Florida recommends that buyers and sellers complete the transfer at a DMV office. Expect sales tax and title fees to be included in the final purchase price. 
The transfer must be done within 30 calendar days of the sale to avoid a late transfer penalty.

Who does the title transfer?

If you’re doing a private sale, the responsibility is on the buyer and seller to complete the title transfer. 
If you’re working with a car dealer, on the other hand, they will handle all the paperwork. You’ll receive the title from the state DMV by mail.

Reasons for a title transfer

While the most common reasons for a title transfer are a change of residency or buying or selling a car, there are other reasons you might need to complete one. They include:
  • Donating a vehicle
  • Gifting a vehicle
  • Inheriting a vehicle
  • Paying off a vehicle loan
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

Car title transfer in Florida

In Florida, it’s legal and accepted to have an electronic title (e-title). An e-title exists only in electronic form on the Florida Department Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles database. 
Here’s what you need to complete a transfer:
  • The completed original title with sale price, buyer’s name and address, seller’s name and address (unless it’s an e-title)
  • Completed Application for Title
  • Completed Notice of Sale
  • Odometer reading verified
  • Your driver’s license
  • Proof of insurance
  • Approved loan documentation (if applicable)
  • The vehicle that is being sold
  • Payment for all fees and taxes due
If the title is electronic, both the seller and buyer must visit the DMV to complete a secure title reassignment and disclose the odometer reading.
Key Takeaway An e-title doesn’t save you a trip to the DMV! Make sure to have all documents needed to transfer, including your driver’s license and proof of insurance. 

Registering a car in Florida

After a title transfer, you’ll need to register the vehicle. Registration is proof that you can legally drive on the streets and is done annually. 
In Florida, registering your vehicle costs $225 per year. In addition, you’ll need to pay the following:
• $14.50 for vehicles under 2,500 lbs.
• $22.50 for vehicles  2,500 to 3,499 lbs.
• $32.50 for vehicles over 3,500 lbs
Other fees may apply based on the type of vehicle, license plate type, county of residence, or driving record. 

Finding insurance for your vehicle

Title transfer or not, before you can get behind the wheel of your new (or new-to-you) vehicle you’ll need car insurance. 
Jerry is the super app that helps you save time and money on your car expenses, including insurance. 
Jerry will browse quotes from dozens of insurance companies to find the best deals on the coverage you need. And once you pick a policy, Jerry handles all the paperwork, phone calls, and even monitors your rate to ensure you’re always renewing at the best price.
The average Jerry user saves $879 per year on their insurance!
“I’m young and just got my first car, so choosing an insurance company for the first time was scary. My friend recommended this app to me and Jerry made everything simple! I put in my info and got something more affordable than what I expected for my age!” —Leslie T.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

A title transfer is more challenging if the vehicle is still financed. You’ll need to call your lender and ask how to sell a car that has a loan and how the transaction should be handled.
The title will have a line that says “seller’s signature.” If two people are on the title, then both will need to sign on the same line. There is a separate line for the buyer’s signature.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free