Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a title transfer?
- Car title transfer in Connecticut
- Registering a car in Connecticut
- Finding insurance for your vehicle
Load full table of contents
To transfer ownership of a vehicle in Connecticut, you will need to complete a title transfer. You can do this at your local DMV in-person or through the online portal. Fees may differ between counties.
After you hand over the keys, don’t forget the final step: transferring the official title to the new owner! This process will probably involve a bit of paperwork, a visit to the DMV (in-person or online), and a small fee.
Sound confusing? It can be—and you need to get it right to be compliant with the state DMV and the law. Don’t worry, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is about to share everything you need to know about title transfer in Connecticut.
What is a title transfer?
A car title is what dictates ownership of the vehicle. So when you transfer the title of a car, you’re transferring its ownership.
Transferring a title consists of two steps—one for the seller and one for the buyer:
- The seller must release ownership of the car by signing the title
- The buyer must take the signed title to the DMV, where the state will issue a new title and registration
While the process is similar in every state, no two states are exactly alike. You may be required to submit additional paperwork to complete the title transfer process, like an ownership form or odometer disclosure.
Who does the title transfer?
It depends on your situation. The responsibility for the title transfer depends on whether you’re buying (or selling) a vehicle privately or from a dealership.
If you went through a dealership, the dealer should handle all the paperwork and send the vehicle title to the DMV by mail. If you did a private transaction, it’s up to the two individuals to determine who will complete the title transfer process.
Reasons for a title transfer
If you have recently had a change of residency or are buying or selling a car, you’ll need to do a title transfer.
Here are some additional reasons you may need to file for a title change:
- Donating a vehicle
- Gifting a vehicle
- Inheriting a vehicle
- Paying off a vehicle loan
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Car title transfer in Connecticut
You don’t have to leave home to complete this process in Connecticut. The vehicle buyer can complete the form online easily. It’s also possible to visit a DMV branch in-person if you prefer. Remember, if you purchased the vehicle at a dealership, the dealer will submit all required paperwork to register and title the vehicle.
Here’s what you will need:
- The vehicle’s title properly assigned to you (if vehicle is older than 20 years, no title is required)
- Completed Application for Registration and Certificate of Title (Form H-13B)
- Bill of Sales (H-31), a crafted bill of sale, or a Supplemental Assignment of Ownership (Form Q-1)
- Proper photo identification (CT driver’s license, ID card, passport)
- Proof of emissions test (only for vehicles model year 2016 and older). Inspection fee is $20
- Payment for transfer title fee
If there is a lien on your vehicle, the title will be sent to your lienholder.
From there, follow the instructions here. The title transfer fee in Connecticut is $25. Once you’ve submitted all required documentation, you will be issued a new title within approximately 30 days.
Key Takeaway The online Connecticut DMV portal will walk you through the title transfer process from start to finish—and there’s no lineup!
Registering a car in Connecticut
After a title transfer, you’re just a few steps away from checking this item off your list! Now, you need to register the vehicle. Whereas title transfer is about ownership, registration is proof that you can legally drive on the streets. In Connecticut, registration is done every two years.
Before you can register, you must have a Connecticut title and proof of auto insurance that meets the state minimum coverage requirements.
After becoming a Connecticut resident, you have 60 days to register your vehicle. The base registration fee is $80 and Connecticut levies some additional fees:
Here are some of them:
|Clean Air Act fee||$10|
|Passport to the Parks fee||$10|
Other fees may apply based on the type of vehicle, fuel type, license plate type, or driving record.
Finding insurance for your vehicle
Title transfer or not, you will need car insurance before you can hit the road. Don’t worry, here’s a tip to make the process fast and easy..
Jerry is the super app that will help you save time and money on your car expenses, including insurance.
Jerry browses quotes from dozens of insurance companies and uncovers the best deals on the coverage you need. Once you pick a policy, Jerry handles all the paperwork and phone calls. When your policy is up for renewal, Jerry will send you new quotes to ensure you’re always getting the best price.
The average Jerry user saves $879 per year on their insurance!
“It was my first time buying insurance. I expected the worst, to be honest. And then I found Jerry. It’s an amazing app that’s super easy to use. It saved me so much time and energy.” —Simon M.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What if my car has a loan?
A title transfer may be more complex if the vehicle is still financed. You’ll need to get in touch with the lender and ask how to sell a car that has a loan and how the transaction should be handled.
Where do I sign to transfer the title?
The title has two separate lines for the buyer and the seller. If there are multiple parties (i.e. two buyers), they both need to sign on the same line.