Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What you need to sell a car in North Dakota
- Getting a pre-sale inspection
- Documenting the sale
- Signing the title over
- Reporting the sale
- Finding affordable car insurance
Load full table of contents
Selling a car in North Dakota is as simple as completing a title transfer, some additional forms (depending on the vehicle's age), and handing over the keys. While they are not required, completing additional steps—like inspections—can give both parties some extra peace of mind.
Each state has different rules for selling vehicles—some straightforward and some more complicated. But, if you know your stuff, you can ensure you're not responsible for a vehicle after it’s already left your care and set out on its next adventure.
Here, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about selling a car in North Dakota.
What you need to sell a car in North Dakota
North Dakota law isn't very demanding when it comes to privately selling a vehicle, but the first step—in any state—is to gather the necessary forms and information. To complete a change of ownership in North Dakota, you’ll need the following.
- Seller’s Assignment and Warranty of Title
- Signed and dated by the seller
- Date of Sale
- Selling price
- Current odometer reading
For vehicles less than nine years old, the seller must also complete an SFN 18609 damage statement—meant to explain any damages the car may have occurred under the current ownership.
Getting a pre-sale inspection
The rough rider state doesn't require you to undergo a smog or safety inspection before selling a vehicle—but if one interests you, inspections can be done at any DOT certified inspection station.
A smog test alone will only run you $5.00 to $30.00, while more extensive inspections can reach up to $150.00.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Documenting the sale
North Dakota is one of the few states not to require a bill of sale for private car sales—but having one will make your purchase more official, and the state does provide a form for those who want it.
The North Dakota bill of sale form SFN 2888 includes:
- The year of car
- The make/model
- The vehicle's VIN
- Notarized signature of the seller
Here is what the current SFN 2888 form looks like.
If you have a lien on the vehicle, the lienholder must relinquish their interest before the car is sold—and this must be proven. To do so, fill out an SFN 2876 form with a notarized signature by the lien holder.
Signing the title over
Once you have all the required information documented—selling price, odometer reading, date of sale—it’s time to sign on the dotted line. To sign over a title in North Dakota, make sure to have the signatures of both the buyer and seller notarized or have the sale witnessed by an NDDOT agent.
Signing a title means giving the address, legal names, and legible signature of both parties. If you have multiple buyers or sellers, make sure to write the information for each one in the requested boxes.
If your title is stolen or lost, you can get a North Dakota replacement by filling out an SFN 2872 form—this will cost $5.00.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Reporting the sale
In North Dakota, the easiest way to report the sale of a car is to have it registered in the new owner's name. Registration must take place a maximum of five days after acquiring the vehicle. But, during this time, the new owner must display dated ownership of the vehicle, such as the following:
- A dated bill of sale
- A dated certificate of title
Finding affordable car insurance
You may have completed the sale on your own, but even a rough and tumble North Dakotan like you needs protection. For the best car insurance, Jerry has your back.
Jerry is your ultra-talented car insurance broker for life. No need to sit across from him at a desk—Jerry is an app! It takes less than a minute to sign up, and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from 50+ top providers. Don’t lose coverage, find savings with Jerry.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually