Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What you need to sell a car in Nevada
- Getting a pre-sale inspection
- Documenting the sale
- Signing the title over
- Reporting the sale
- Finding affordable car insurance
Load full table of contents
If you’re selling a car in Nevada, you must complete a bill of sale, resolve your liens, transfer the Certificate of Title, cancel your former registration and surrender your plates.
If you’re planning on a private sale for your car in Nevada, you need to make sure you take care of your legal responsibilities properly. Each state has its own requirements and rules to ensure legal transfer of ownership, and failing to properly complete them could leave you in violation of the law.
Selling a car in Nevada requires some legwork, so the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has produced a general guideline for you to sell a car in Nevada.
What you need to sell a car in Nevada
To sell your car privately in Nevada, make sure you have all the necessary forms and information at the time of sale. The DMV requires some documentation to transfer ownership, including:
- Properly assigned Certificate of Title
- Lien Release, if applicable
- Odometer reading (vehicles from 2011 or later, except for model years over 20 years old)
- Date of sale
- Notarized Bill of Sale or Nevada Sales/Use Tax and Tire Fee Statement for Motor Vehicle and Trailer Sales
- Trustee Appointment and Powers Affidavit (VP 188) or court-certified trust documents if the vehicle is registered to a family trust
Nevada law requires you to remove your plates before the buyer gets the car. You must then either use them on another vehicle or return them to the DMV within 60 days for standard issued plates or 30 days for special plates.
You may also keep the plate for future use if you go to the DMV to remove the decal in front of a DMV representative.
Getting a pre-sale inspection
Vehicles registered in Nevada must meet the state’s inspection laws and emissions standards. The buyer will be responsible for the emissions inspection and obtaining the appropriate insurance and movement permit to legally drive the vehicle.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Documenting the sale
A bill of sale form (VP 104) must be completed when making a private sale and should be kept as a record of the sale. The information that needs to be included is as follows:
- Year and make of the vehicle
- Title number
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
- Date of sale
- Sale price
- Odometer statement
- Printed legal name, identification, and address of the seller and buyer
- Signature of seller and buyer
You should keep a copy of the bill of sale as proof that the ownership has been legally transferred so that the responsibility for removal doesn’t fall back on you if the vehicle is abandoned.
Signing the title over
The sellers and buyers must fill out the transfer section on the back of the title. The odometer reading and date of sale must also be included. If there is more than one owner, the required signature is as follows:
- And—all who are listed must sign
- Or—only one seller signature is required
- And/or—only one seller must sign
- “And” is the default if no connection is used
Be sure to write the information on the title clearly, as correction fluid or erase marks on the title may void the document.
Reporting the sale
Once the sale has been completed, you can notify the DMV using the MyDMV Registration Cancellation & Vehicle Resale Notification and receive your registration fee credit.
Finding affordable car insurance
Remember to update your insurance policy after your private sale and start looking for a new policy for your next vehicle! The car insurance broker app Jerry can help you find the best quotes for the coverage you want from over 50 top providers within a minute. The average Jerry user was able to save $879 a year on car insurance!
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually