Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What you need to sell a car in Massachusetts
- Getting a pre-sale inspection
- Documenting the sale
- Signing the title over
- Removing the plates
- Canceling your insurance
Load full table of contents
When selling a used car in Massachusetts, it’s important to gather the required paperwork, have the vehicle inspected, document the sale, transfer the title, remove the plates, and cancel your insurance.
The thought of privately selling a car can often feel like an impossible task. However, the process is very simple when you know what to expect. Every state sets its own rules and regulations for selling a vehicle, and it’s your responsibility to remain up-to-date on what those requirements may be.
Car insurance super app Jerry has made it easy for you by compiling a list of everything you need to know about selling a car in Massachusetts.
What you need to sell a car in Massachusetts
To sell a used car in Massachusetts, you should start by gathering the necessary paperwork. The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) requires the following documentation when changing ownership:
- Your signature
- Signature of any lienholder(s)
- Signature of the buyer
- Odometer disclosure
- Used car dealer license (required for anyone who sells more than three cars in a one-year period)
Getting a pre-sale inspection
In Massachusetts, there are lemon laws in place that require all private sellers to inform buyers of any known vehicle defects that could potentially impair safety. Buyers can return a used vehicle for a full refund if it fails a state inspection within seven days of purchase.
Additionally, if a buyer discovers a defect that compromises the vehicle’s safety and can prove that the seller knew about it, they are entitled to a refund up to 30 days after purchase.
Key Takeaway: Massachusetts Lemon Laws can be a real headache for both buyers and sellers, so it’s always a good idea to conduct a pre-sale inspection of any used vehicle.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Documenting the sale
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts does not require a bill of sale if a vehicle’s title is available. However, it’s always a good idea to have one on hand in case any problems arise during title transfer or registration. In this case, a bill of sale should include:
- Vehicle identification number (VIN)
- Make, model, and year
- Amount of sale
- Seller name, address, and signature
- Buyer name, address, and signature
- Odometer reading
You can download a generic bill of sale here.
Signing the title over
On the back of the Certificate of Title, the seller must sign and print their name, as well as the buyer’s name and address under the “Assignment of Ownership” section.
Both parties also need to include the following information on the back of the title:
- Legal name
- Date of sale
- Purchase price
- Odometer reading
In the state of Massachusetts, the buyer must fill out a Registration and Title Application. If the vehicle’s ownership is being transferred to an immediate family member, form MVU-26 (sales tax exemption) is also required.
If there is more than one owner and the names are joined by “and” on the title, both people must sign the title. If the names are joined by “or” or “and/or,” only one person has to sign.
Removing the plates
To avoid being held liable for the new buyer’s actions on the road, you must remove the vehicle’s license plates and cancel your registration (this can be done online or in person at a Massachusetts RMV office). While you are not required to return the plates to the RMV, you’ll need to either destroy or recycle them.
Canceling your insurance
Finally, you’ll need to cancel your car insurance.
If your old company won’t cut it, the Jerry app will gather affordable quotes, help you switch plans, and will even help you cancel your old policy!
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What steps can I take if a seller refuses to cancel a sale?
If a private seller knowingly sold you a defective vehicle and failed to disclose it, you’re entitled to a refund up to 30 days after the sale. If the seller refuses, you can take action through mediation or by suing in court.