Selling a Car in Maine

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
To sell a car in Maine, you’ll need to gather the required documentation, have the vehicle inspected, complete a bill of sale, transfer the title, remove the plates, and cancel your insurance. 
Privately selling a car can often feel like an impossible task. However, the process is actually simple when you know what you need. Every state has its own set of rules and regulations to ensure vehicle transfer is as smooth as possible, and it’s your responsibility to remain up-to-date on what those requirements may be. 
Luckily, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled a list of everything you need to know about selling a car in Maine. 

What you need to sell a car in Maine

The first step to privately selling a car in Maine is to gather all of the necessary documentation. The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires the following paperwork when changing ownership:
  • Certificate of title (if lost or damaged, you can request a duplicate by filing form MVT-8 for a fee of $33)
  • Your signature
  • Signature of any lienholder(s)
  • Signature of the buyer
  • Maine bill of sale
  • Odometer disclosure (for vehicles 10 years old or less)
  • Rebuilt from salvage disclosure (if needed)

Getting a pre-sale inspection

Maine law requires all vehicles to undergo a safety inspection once a year. Additionally, any vehicle registered in Cumberland County is required to undergo an emissions test. 
However, pre-sale vehicle inspections are not required by the state. Typically, the buyer will pay to have the vehicle inspected by a licensed professional before purchase. If any issues arise, sellers should keep a record of the report.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

Documenting the sale

After finding a buyer, you’ll need to complete a Maine bill of sale. This will include a basic vehicle description and information about the buyer and seller, including:
  • Vehicle identification number (VIN)
  • Make, model, and year
  • Amount of sale
  • Seller name, address, and signature
  • Buyer name, address, and signature
You can download the Maine bill of sale here

Signing the title over

To complete the sale of your vehicle in Maine, you need to sign the title. If you neglect to sign the title before selling, the state will declare the purchase invalid. Both the buyer and seller need to fill out specific sections on the back of the title and include the following information:
  • Legal name
  • Address
  • Signature 
  • Date of sale
  • Odometer reading
In the event there is more than one owner and the names are joined by “and,” both people must sign the title. If the names are joined by “or” or “and/or,” only one person has to sign.

Removing the plates

Before you transfer the vehicle over to its new owner, you must remove the license plates. If you fail to do so, you could be held liable for what happens to the vehicle after it’s left your possession. You can fill out form MVR-60 to submit a plate cancellation request. 
The fee to transfer the plates to another car you own is $8. 

Canceling your insurance 

The final step to selling a car in Maine is to cancel your car insurance. This will ensure that you are no longer paying to insure a vehicle you no longer own. 
If you’re looking for a new insurance company for your new car, Jerry can provide you with competitive quotes in under a minute. Swapping is just as effortless. Jerry takes care of all the paperwork and phone calls and will even help you cancel your old policy!
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

Your car’s worth can be found through resources like  Edmunds and Kelley Blue Book. On those sites, you enter the year, model, make, mileage, and condition of your car, and they’ll calculate the fair market value.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free