Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What you need to sell a car in Arizona
- Getting a pre-sale inspection
- Documenting the sale
- Signing the title over
- Reporting the sale
- Finding affordable car insurance
Load full table of contents
When selling a car in Arizona, you’ll need to complete and submit a sold notice to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division, sign and notarize the back of the title, and give the title to the buyer. You’ll also need to remove your plates from the vehicle.
Selling a car privately can feel like an onerous task—but it can be pretty straightforward if you understand the steps you need to take to sell your vehicle. Every state has its own requirements and rules to ensure legal transfer of ownership, and failing to follow them can leave you liable for the car even after it has left your possession.
To help you out, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about selling a car in Arizona.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
What you need to sell a car in Arizona
If you’re selling your car in Arizona, you’ll need to gather all the necessary forms and documentation. Arizona’s MVD requires certain documentation to complete the change of ownership, including:
- Car title, signed on the back and notarized
- Your signature
- Signature of the buyer
- Sold notice (completed online)
- Bill of sale
- Emissions inspection
- Odometer disclosure if vehicle is model year 2011 or later
Getting a pre-sale inspection
If you use the vehicle to commute to or from work in the Phoenix or Tucson areas, your vehicle may need to pass a smog test before being sold.
Vehicles that are model year 1967 or newer may need an emissions inspection. Most vehicles produced in the last six years are exempt from the emissions test.
Documenting the sale
Once a buyer has been found, you’ll need a bill of sale—Arizona Motor Vehicle Bill of Sale (ADOT Form 48-2004)—to document the transaction.
In Arizona, a bill of sale is a legal document that transfers ownership from the buyer to the seller after the sales price has been paid. The bill of sale must be signed by the seller with a notary public (or MVD agent) present. The bill of sale will also:
- Act as a receipt and a basic sales agreement between both parties
- Be used to register the vehicle
Signing the title over
To sign the title over, both buyer and seller must sign the back of the title and have it notarized.
Reporting the sale
When you transfer the ownership of a vehicle, you must notify Arizona’s Motor Vehicle Division with a completed sold notice. Doing so will protect you, the seller, from liability in case the vehicle is:
- Used in criminal activity
- Involved in a collision
- Issued a ticket
- Abandoned ($500 fee)
Finding affordable car insurance
Whether you’re buying or selling a vehicle, odds are you’ll need car insurance to protect your ride. With Jerry, buying a robust policy has never been easier and more affordable!
Jerry uses your previous insurance data to retrieve quotes from more than 50 top insurers. And once you pick a policy, Jerry handles all the paperwork and phone calls so that you don’t have to.
The average Jerry user saves $879 per year on their car insurance!
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever